Scammer Database

Warnings from an intended victim of fraud

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on March 2, 2012

Warnings from reader.  He is right on target! Thanks, Alex!

Here is the e-mail I received from “Amy Miller” (amymiller492@gmail.com) in regards the Land Rover. Like I previously mentioned, 99.98% of the times in which a wire transfer is required and/or the vehicle is in another city or state it’s definitely a scam. The ‘modus-operandi’ here is as follows: the scammer obtains your basic information at first (as seen in the below email). Upon gathering this basic info, the scammer will send a ‘bill’ using a bogus eBay like site (professionally done, same graphics and similar web design) prompting you to make a payment either by wiring money by Western Union or a check. Upon receiving your hard earned money, instead of a Land Rover… landing time. Please note that PayPal is never an available option with a scammer. The sad part is that although it may sound like an “it’s too obvious that’s a scam” there are a lot of good faith people who are unaware of their tactics and are being victims of these crooks.

“My final price for suv is only $1,920.00. The shipping is free. You must pay only $1,920.00. The suv is already at the shipping company in Fort Collins, CO sealed and ready for the shipping. I have a contract with eBay so this deal must go through them. According with eBay you have 5 days from the time you receive the suv to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not.
Here is how it will work:
1. First of all I will need the following details from you:
– Full Name
– Full Shipping Address
– Phone #
2. After I will receive the details from you, I will forward them to eBay.
3. After they will process your info, they will send us both invoices. The invoice will send you the details on how to make a refundable payment.
4. eBay will contact me and I will ship the suv to you. After you receive the suv you will have 5 days to test, verify and do whatever you want with the suv. If you will buy it, then I will receive the payment details from eBay so that I can pick up the money.
5. If you will decide that you will not buy the suv, eBay will refund the money and I will have the shipping company come pick up my suv. If you wish to make the transaction, please send me the necessary info so that we can proceed. I look forward to hear from you.
Thank you”

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bill Hudson said, on March 11, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    Thank You very much for the above post.

    I recently inquired about a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee out of the Auto Trader in Calgary Alberta, “http://www.autotrader.ca/a/Jeep/Grand%20Cherokee/CALGARY/Alberta/19_5125434_/”
    and the following is the response I received from “Amy Miller” (amymiller492@gmail.com).

    Hi,
    Thank you for your interest in buying my suv. Let me tell you a few words about the suv. It’s a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, is in perfect condition, with no need for additional repairs, no scratches, dings, special marks whatsoever, never been involved in any accidents. The interior looks great (NO SMOKING). It has 131,000 km’s. It has a clear title ready to be signed and notarized on your name. The price ($2,780.00) is not negotiable. I sell the suv at this price because I cannot enjoy it due to my job (I work as a dealer on a cruise ship) and I’m a single woman and I have nobody close who can use it. All documents, including owner’s manual, clear title and a bill of sale on your name will be provided along with the suv. Also about payment and shipping I will use only eBay vehicle protection program so we can both be protected.
    Thanks

    Several things aroused my suspicion enough for me to Google “Amy Miller 492”, and end up here.

    – I would never purchase a vehicle sight unseen or without a test drive
    – I would never transfer / wire money to anyone I personally did not know via Western Union or other
    – That there were shipping costs on a vehicle that was listed locally ?
    – Price both non-negotiable and not rounded $2780.00 ?
    – Poor grammar

    I will report the scam/abuse add to the auto trader, and while I am sure the add will be removed, “Amy” will only need to change “her” email address to remain an internet ghost to keep doing this.

    Thanks again for posting and getting the word out about vehicle scams on the web.

    Concerned in Calgary

  2. Chief said, on March 11, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Bill, thank you for taking the time to comment. Yes, the criminals make mistakes caught by many of us, but their success rate for scamming is much higher than any of us like.

    — Chief


Comments are closed.