Scammer Database

Scammer Impersonating a Soon-to-be-deployed Military Guy

Posted in database, military imposter, scammer by Chief on February 13, 2012

Criminal attempting to defraud me with the “sale” of a BMW.  Never use Moneygram or Western Union to transfer money to someone you do not know personally.  If the receiving party is using a fake ID, the transaction is not traceable.

Note that criminals emulating Ebay will use fake email addresses such as

e-bay-motors@accountant.com .   Ebay representatives will use an email address ending in ebay.com.

 

 

from: ryann.stone@comcast.net

Hello,

Thanks for your interest in my 2004 BMW 330XI, I’m looking to sell it at the price of 3,000$. The car has not been involved in any accidents and all maintenance is up to date. Clean and clear title in hand and is ready to go.

The car is currently located at approximately two miles of Corpus Christi, TX. stored in military compound. It’s available for immediate pick-up but it could also be transported free of charge by a military carrier, the shipping process takes 3 business days from the shipping date to arrive. I’m looking for a quick sale, that’s why the price has been reduced to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer before my upcoming deployment take place.

For a complete description of the car and more photos, please click on the link below or copy and paste it into your browser window.

http://jpegbay.com/gallery/001429124-.html#1

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Della Ford said, on February 13, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Re: Awesome 2oo2 Chevrolet TrailBlazer 4×4 LTZ – $2390 (killeen-temple ) this is the ad on Craigslist that I asked about. Supposedly the “Sgt” is being sent to Afghanistan and needs to get out from under this Awesome vehicle.

  2. Jenny Kirby said, on February 20, 2012 at 4:09 am

    This is probably the same guy I got ripped off from. He said he was in the USMC and stationed in Wyoming where the chipper he had for sale was. I realize that I should have known better, but I sent money to an agent in Spain via Western Union for 2,450.00. Dean Mercer was the “sellers” name and he said he was going to be sent to Spain and that was why the money needed to be sent there. I received an email from Google checkout which I now figure he was using this email address as part of his operation. After the money was sent, I got an email from “google” saying they needed 3000 for insurance and the seller had already paid his part of 1500 and they needed me to send 1500 and I would receive that money back. Well, I now became very suspicious and emailed Dean Mercer asking about this. He replied back stating it was a new policy and he had paid his part and expected me to pay my part. Needless to say, I did not send any more money and asked for my money back. Haven’t heard a word back from either the seller or the google checkout. He has posted this chipper all over the United States, and I wanted to share this so others won’t be taken by scammers. It’s very sad to think that this is how people make a living, but one day they will get caught and pay for such crimes. His email address he uses is dean.mercer86@gmail.com. Please, please, please, never ever send money through Western Union for something like this. Don’t be like me and lose money without thinking things through. Now I know, when in doubt, don’t do it!!!!

  3. Chief said, on February 25, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Jenny, I’m sorry these criminals took your money. Remember, they are professionals … this is what they do all day long — every day. Preying on honest folks like yourself is what they do. Thanks for sharing your story; it will help someone else avoid being robbed of their cash.

    If you have not already done so, please report this to the Internet Crime Complaint Center at http://ic3.gov . That database is used to aggregate the individual cases against these criminals. Also, please contact Western Union via the phone number listed at https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/faqs/i-have-been-scammed-what-do-i-do/ . Western Union has improved over the years in their willingness to cooperate with law enforcement in apprehending these criminals.

  4. Jenny Kirby said, on February 29, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Thanks!! I did fill out a form on the Internet Crime Complaint Center and I contacted Western Union. I know that getting the money back is slim to none, but I will tell anyone that will listen so they can prevent being ripped off. And hopefully this guy will do a search for the name he uses and sees my name for exposing him for the crook that he is!!!

  5. Chief said, on February 29, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Jenny, contacting the local police is also a good idea. Don’t be surprised if they brush you off, but you may just find that one fellow who will take an interest in this class of crime. Again, I’m sorry you got taken. I appreciate the nature of your response.

    — Chief


Comments are closed.