Scammer Database

Scammer listing – 24JAN2012

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on January 24, 2012

The email addresses below are being used to conduct scams in the form of fake escrow in support of the sale of non-existent vehicles.

thom.erin1@gmail.com

samanta.palmer31@gmail.com

DOFS19@gmail.com

maya.crav@gmail.com

Lamas7804@gmail.com

brenthussung@msn.com

Jessica.Calhoun@msn.com

Alyssa67@msn.com

DebraRobert80@gmail.com

clurdessmith@gmail.com

Brauer1970@live.com

melissa.142@hotmail or melissa.l42@hotmail

sale215@msn.com

bobby.duncan99@gmail.com

Charles Barnett  charles.barn@verizon.net  charles.bar@msn.com
23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ann Dipple said, on January 25, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    This is the email I received when I inquired about a vehicle for sale on Craigslist! The person is using the email josp34@gmail.com

    Hi there,

    The Ford it is in perfect condition, there’s not a scratch or any dents on it. Everything from engine to tires is mint condition. I have a clear title with no liens or loans. I’m selling it low as my medical team will deploy back to Afghanistan on February 10th for a 2 year contract and I won’t let it go to waste in my backyard, therefore I need a fast and reliable buyer. If you decide to buy it I will be paying for the shipping charges. The total price is $2,440.00 with no other hidden taxes. Please email me back if you are interested in buying it.

    A few words about the car:
    – 2003 Ford Explorer Limited
    Mileage: 82,525
    Price: $2440
    Body Style: Suv
    Exterior Color: White
    Interior Color: Tan
    VIN: 1fmzu75k63za40089
    Fuel: Gasoline
    Engine: 4.0L V6
    Transmission: AUTO
    Drivetrain: 4X4

    – Pics available at: http://s1099.photobucket.com/albums/g397/sdsdesexploresd/

    Best Regards,
    Senior Medic Sgt. 1st Class Joseph Harrell

  2. Raj Babu said, on January 26, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Thank you so much for this post. I almost fell for this scam. The email address who i contacted regarding a car was Jessica.Calhoun@msn.com. The reply below looks similar to many scams that i saw after googling this email address.
    For those who see that the car prices are very cheaper compared to the kbb value, thats a big sign of scammers.

    Hi,
    This 2006 Toyota Corolla S, 1.8L L4 FI DOHC 16V ,VIN:1NXBR32E76Z645153 , runs and drives excellent. It has been extremely well maintained with a full service history, Only 69,452 miles! Transmission is Automatic shifts smoothly.
    It has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens. I bought it when i was serving in Fort Hood base in Texas and now I am deployed in Spain . The car will be delivered from Texas , US.
    I have dropped my price to $2,800 (purchase price) since this is an Urgent Sale! and I need to sell it before February 10, when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
    If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your: Full Name and Shipping address, to open a case with eBay. They will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by eBay, which means that you will have a 10 days inspection period before committing to buy the car. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Maj. Jessica Calhoun

    PS : More photos here : http://www.myalbum.com/Album=L38KHQL7
    Carfax link : http://www.carfax.com/cfm/FSBO.cfm?report=56CCE811772F64AB5364BD32EB3DA016

  3. CDR said, on February 13, 2012 at 2:16 am

    Here is another one…
    Hi,
    This 2006 Honda CR-V EX, 2.4L L4 MPI DOHC , ALL WHEEL DRIVE ,VIN:SHSRD78876U435888 , runs and drives excellent. It has been extremely well maintained with a full service history, Only 30,893 miles! Transmission is Automatic shifts smoothly.

    It has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens. I bought it when i was serving in Camp Blanding ,Florida. The car will be delivered from Florida, US and the shipping is free for you !

    I have dropped my price to $2,800 (purchase price) since this is an Urgent Sale! and I need to sell it before February 25, when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
    If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your: Full Name and Shipping address, to open a case with eBay. They will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by eBay, which means that you will have a 10 days inspection period before committing to buy the car. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.

    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Maj. Jessica Calhoun

    PS : More photos here : http://www.myalbum.com/Album=WF4QGLFC

    Carfax link : http://www.carfax.com/cfm/FSBO.cfm?report=C165B00B390282AFF95EE8499F216F6D


    I then replied to have her call me to discuss the vehicle and a reply was given with minutes and here is that reply….

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for your prompt response.

    Please take a few moments and read my email carefully, I know it is long, but I will explain all the details about the car and the transaction. At the moment I’m stationed at Camp Blanding ,making final preparations before deploying to Afghanistan with the U.S. Convoy.

    The car is already at our Military Logistic Department in Camp Blanding ,Florida, crated and ready to go. The Logistic Department will deliver the car to your home. The shipping is free for you. Since the car is in a military base, with no access you can not go there and take it, only the Logistic Department can deliver it, because the car is in their custody. Shipping may take anywhere between 2 to 4 business days depending on the destination. All documents you need for ownership, manuals and bill of sale will be provided along with the car . For the payment I would like to use eBay as a third party. They will keep your money into a protection account until you get the car and will release it to me after inspection period is over and you agree to keep the car . So, this is not a blind transaction, you can see the car before committing to buy and to eliminate any concerns you will have 10 days to inspect the car . If you decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back will be my concern. I think this is more than fair for both of us.

    I’ll start the official procedure, and eBay will contact you about this. If you are interested in buying it just mail me back with:
    – Your Full Name – Required by eBay (You’ll receive important guidelines + instructions from them.)
    – Your Shipping Address and Phone Number – Required by the Logistic Department (They will call you with delivery/pickup instructions 1 day ahead so you can communicate what time schedule work best for your to receive the car)

    Again I want to point out that because I am going to Afghanistan this sale is my top priority and I am looking after a fast transaction, with no delays. That is why I decided to lower the price, to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer as soon as possible.

    Thanks, hope to do business with you soon!

  4. Chief said, on February 13, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    CDR,
    Thanks for posting the text of the scammers email. The search engines will pick it up and help the next potential victim.

    — Chief

  5. Kasha said, on February 20, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    Also, I got an email for a car sale from Jessica.calhoun90@gmail.com. Something about her message was off…maybe the fact that I am in the Army, and none of the additional info she supplied is true! Thanks for your help!

  6. Cindy Gould said, on February 20, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Please add this person to your email list of fraudulent sellers. I almost fell for it. I was so excited because I’ve been looking for a car for my college-bound daughter. I asked her to send me her phone number as well as her commanding officer. She stated she was being deployed to Afghanistan.

    sarah.simons@us-aif-mil.org

    Trying to sell a Honda Accord

    From: Sarah Simons
    To: ‘Cindy Gould’
    Sent: Mon, Feb 20, 2012 7:04 pm
    Subject: RE: 2008 Honda Accord – $4500

    Hi again,

    I attached the carfax report and a copy of the title to show no accidents,
    real mileage, not salvage, no liens, no loans.
    Right now I’m in a military base in Missoula, MT and we are getting ready
    for Afghanistan. I cannot leave the base and I’m not able to talk on the
    phone (at least for the moment).
    To make things easier I enlisted the car in the eBay Vehicle Purchase
    Program. Because the deal must be sealed through them, as you may already
    know, in accordance with their terms you’ll be given 5 days to inspect and
    test drive the car before making a final decision and title transfer takes
    place.
    The car (along with all documents, clean and clear title with my signature
    on it, owner’s manual and keys) will be shipped by DAS shipping company
    through a contract the army has with DAS. The shipping is free on your side.
    Here is how it will work:
    1. I will inform eBay that I have a buyer and ask them to start a new
    transaction with you.
    2. They will ask you for the shipping details. After they process your
    information, they will send you an invoice with all the details on how to
    make a refundable payment.
    3. After the refundable payment is made, eBay will contact me to authorize
    the shipping. The shipping will last maximum 4 days. This entire time your
    payment will stay with eBay, including those 5 days inspection period from
    the moment you get the car.
    If by any means you find that the car does not meet your expectations,
    you’ll get fully refunded and the car gets back to the shipping company,
    free of charge on your side.

    I’ll wait your response.
    Thanks.

    —–Original Message—–
    From: Cindy Gould [mailto:cgould50@aol.com]
    Sent: Monday, February 20, 2012 4:19 PM
    To: Sarah Simons
    Subject: Re: 2008 Honda Accord – $4500

    Thanks Sarah. Would it be possible to stop by and test drive the car today?
    I’m off work. Thanks, Cindy

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Feb 20, 2012, at 3:01 PM, Sarah Simons
    wrote:

    > Thank you for your interest in my Honda Accord. My asking price is firm
    $4,500
    > Bellow you can find the car’s details together with more pictures:
    >
    > http://photo0908.shutterfly.com/pictures/45
    >
    > 2008 Honda EX-L
    >
    > Clear title
    > 3.5L SOHC MPFI 24-valve i-VTEC V6 engine
    > 61,140 miles
    > automatic transmission
    > Fuel type: Gasoline
    > Four-wheel ABS
    > Alarm
    > Air conditioning
    > Premium Sound With Mp3 CD Changer and Aux Input
    > Cruise control
    > Electronic brake distribution
    > Immobilizer
    > Driver and passenger front airbag
    > Front and rear roof airbag
    > Front power windows rear power windows
    > Power steering
    > Power Door Locks
    > Power Mirror
    >
    > In order to move forward please email me back.
    > Thanks,

  7. Renne said, on February 26, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    I also emailed with Jessica, it really seemed too good to be true. I asked if I could drive to pick up the Honda CR-V and she replied

    FROM: Jessica Calhoun

    Hello,

    Please take a few moments and read my email carefully, I know it is long, but I will explain all the details about the car and the transaction. At the moment I’m stationed at Camp Blanding ,making final preparations before deploying to Afghanistan with the U.S. Convoy.

    The car is already at our Military Logistic Department in Camp Blanding ,Florida, crated and ready to go. The Logistic Department will deliver the car to your home. The shipping is free for you. Since the car is in a military base, with no access you can not go there and take it, only the Logistic Department can deliver it, because the car is in their custody. Shipping may take anywhere between 2 to 4 business days depending on the destination. All documents you need for ownership, manuals and bill of sale will be provided along with the car . For the payment I would like to use eBay as a third party. They will keep your money into a protection account until you get the car and will release it to me after inspection period is over and you agree to keep the car . So, this is not a blind transaction, you can see the car before committing to buy and to eliminate any concerns you will have 10 days to inspect the car . If you decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back will be my concern. I think this is more than fair for both of us.

    I’ll start the official procedure, and eBay will contact you about this. If you are interested in buying it just mail me back with:
    – Your Full Name – Required by eBay (You’ll receive important guidelines + instructions from them.)
    – Your Shipping Address and Phone Number – Required by the Logistic Department (They will call you with delivery/pickup instructions 1 day ahead so you can communicate what time schedule work best for your to receive the car)

    Again I want to point out that because I am going to Afghanistan this sale is my top priority and I am looking after a fast transaction, with no delays. That is why I decided to lower the price, to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer as soon as possible.

    Thanks, hope to do business with you soon!

    *********** I can’t believe the things people do for money. So cruel…. **************

  8. Chief said, on February 27, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Renne,

    The thieves do this because they feel they are entitled to our money. It’s an complex, international web of criminals. See this WIRED article for a glimpse of their world.

    — Chief

  9. John C said, on February 27, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    Here’s another email to add to the list:

    2000 Chevrolet S10 Pickup

    Brandon Graham

    Hi there,

    The Chevrolet it is in perfect condition, there’s not a scratch or any dents on it. Everything from engine to tires is mint condition. I have a clear title with no liens or loans. I’m selling it so low due the fact that my medical team will deploy back to Afghanistan on March 15th for a 2 year contract and I won’t let it go to waste in my backyard, therefore I need a fast and reliable buyer. If you are interested email me back.

    A few words about the truck:
    – 2000 Chevrolet S10 Pickup
    – Mileage: 83,000
    – Price: $2,250
    – Transmission: Automatic
    – Engine: 4.3L V6
    – VIN# 1GCCT19W8Y8106310
    – Pics available at: http://s1144.photobucket.com/albums/o487/MyChevroletS10Pickup2000

    Best Regards,
    Senior Medic Sgt. 1st Class Brandon Graham

  10. Chrissy said, on February 28, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    HERE IS ONE…

    On Mon, Feb 27, 2012 at 11:48 PM, Alexia .handley wrote:

    Hello,
    Thank you for your interest in buying my car. My 2002 Mitsubishi Galant LS is in great shape, no engine problems, damages or hidden defects. It was always garaged and never smoked in. I`m a single mother with 2 children and I have to work very hard to maintain my family. I`m selling it so cheap because I have money problems. The price is $2,000.00. I want to tell you that I do not sell my car in payments and I do not trade. Since I don’t have anyone to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through eBay. I believe this protects both buyer and seller and it’s the right way to do this. Giving the nature of this transaction please note that my sale terms are final and nonnegotiable. In order to move forward I will need your full name, address and phone number so i can register the deal at eBay Financial Department. After that eBay will send you the payment instruction. If you are still interested email me for picture and details.

    Details about the car:
    Year: 2002
    Mileage: 101K
    Transmission: Automatic
    Fuel type: Gasoline
    Engine: 2,4L 4 Cyl
    Exterior Color: White
    Interior Color: Tan
    Title: Clear
    The a/c is ice cold and the heat is hot!

    My best wishes and I’m waiting your response so we can move forward with this deal.

  11. Chrissy said, on February 28, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    AND ANOTHER ONE.. THIS REALLY HAD ME GOING..

    On Mon, Feb 27, 2012 at 10:31 PM, brenda walton wrote:

    Hello,

    Thank you for your interest in buying my car . 2001 Nissan Maxima GLE is in great shape, no engine problems, damages or hidden defects. It was always garaged and never smoked in. I`m a single mother with 2 children and I have to work very hard to maintain my family. I`m selling it so cheap because I have money problems. The price is $2,100.00. I want to tell you that I do not sell my car in payments and I do not trade. Since I don’t have anyone to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through eBay. Giving the nature of this transaction please note that my sale terms are final and nonnegotiable. In order to move forward I will need your full name, address and phone number so i can register the deal at eBay Financial Department. After that eBay will send you the payment instruction.

    Details about the car:

    Year: 2001
    Mileage: 78,489
    Transmission: Automatic
    Fuel type: Gasoline
    Engine: 3.0L V6
    Exterior Color: White
    Interior Color: Tan
    Title: Clear
    The a/c is ice cold and the heat is hot!

    My best wishes and I’m waiting your response so we can move forward with this deal

  12. Chief said, on February 28, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Chrissy, thanks for posting. Please drop the criminals’ email addresses into another comment and I’ll add them to your previous comments.

    Potential victims commonly search for email addresses … that’s how most find our warnings.

    — Chief

  13. CBA said, on March 8, 2012 at 6:33 am

    Alexia Handley almost got me on this one. Looking for a car for my son, knew it was too good to be true.

    Hello,
    Thank you for your interest in buying my car. My 2002 Mitsubishi Galant LS is in great shape, no engine problems, damages or hidden defects. It was always garaged and never smoked in. I`m a single mother with 2 children and I have to work very hard to maintain my family. I`m selling it so cheap because I have money problems. The price is $2,000.00. I want to tell you that I do not sell my car in payments and I do not trade. Since I don’t have anyone to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through eBay. I believe this protects both buyer and seller and it’s the right way to do this. Giving the nature of this transaction please note that my sale terms are final and nonnegotiable. In order to move forward I will need your full name, address and phone number so i can register the deal at eBay Financial Department. After that eBay will send you the payment instruction. If you are still interested email me for picture and details.

    Details about the car:
    Year: 2002
    Mileage: 101k
    Engine: 2.4l 4-Cyl.
    Transmission: Automatic
    Exterior color: White
    Interior color: Tan
    Title: Clear
    The a/c is ice cold and the heat is hot!

    My best wishes and I’m waiting your response so we can move forward with this deal.

    alexia.handley33@gmail.com

  14. Aly said, on April 18, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Thank you for your interest in my 2006 Honda Accord SE. My asking price
    is firm $3,600
    Bellow you can find the car’s details together with more pictures:

    http://pictures2442.shutterfly.com/pictures/15

    2006 Honda Accord SE

    Exterior color: Burgundy
    Interior color: Gray
    Title: Clear
    Mileage: 71,000
    Engine: 2.4L I4 MPI
    Transmission: Automatic
    Body type: Sedan
    Fuel type: Gasoline
    Power Windows
    Power Door Locks
    Cruise Control
    Alloy Wheels
    6 disc CD

    In order to move forward please email me back.
    Thanks,

  15. Aly said, on April 18, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    AND Then I replied and she said:

    Hi again,

    I attached the carfax report to show no accidents, real mileage, not salvage, no liens, no loans.
    Right now I’m in a military base in Missoula, MT and we are getting ready for Afghanistan. I cannot leave the base and I’m not able to talk on the phone (at least for the moment).
    To make things easier I enlisted the car in the eBay Vehicle Purchase Program. Because the deal must be sealed through them, as you may already know, in accordance with their terms you’ll be given 5 days to inspect and test drive the car before making a final decision and title transfer takes place.
    The car (along with all documents, clean and clear title with my signature on it, owner’s manual and keys) will be shipped by DAS shipping company through a contract the army has with DAS. The shipping is free on your side.
    Here is how it will work:
    1. I will inform eBay that I have a buyer and ask them to start a new transaction with you.
    2. They will ask you for the shipping details. After they process your information, they will send you an invoice with all the details on how to make a refundable payment.
    3. After the refundable payment is made, eBay will contact me to authorize the shipping. The shipping will last maximum 4 days. This entire time your payment will stay with eBay, including those 5 days inspection period from the moment you get the car.
    If by any means you find that the car does not meet your expectations, you’ll get fully refunded and the car gets back to the shipping company, free of charge on your side.

    I’ll wait your response.
    Thanks.

  16. Aly said, on April 18, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    AND THEN I SAID HOW DO I LOOK FOR IT ON GOOGLE AND SHE REPLIED:

    The car is enlisted with eBay Vehicle Purchase Program, but it’s not auctioned on eBay. It’s a buy it now transaction, so total and final price is $3,600. eBay will handle the transaction and this way we will both be protected. Like I said, if we start the transaction, you can have it shipped directly to your location. eBay will issue a payment invoice and will guide you through the rest of the process (this way you will see that I’m a verified seller with eBay and that they have checked all the details of this transaction). Basically, you will have to transfer the money to eBay, they will put your payment in a non interest bank account, and they will release your money to me only with your approval, after you have received, inspected and accepted the car. After eBay receives the payment from you, the shipping will start, and according to my contract, the car will get to you in maximum 4 day. Let me know if you would like to start the transaction and I will point you as the buyer to eBay.

  17. Aly said, on April 18, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    AND THEN I ASKED HOW DO I START THE TRANSACTION AND SHE REPLIED:

    I will ask eBay to start the transaction with you. They will get in touch with you by email in the next hour and guide you step by step. I will also be informed about the status of our transaction so, if there is something to be clarified, I can help.
    P.S. You should keep an eye on your Bulk/Junk/Spam box, depending on your mail provider, the email from eBay might get there.

    ALL THE MESSAGES CAME FROM THE EMAIL: lisa.jackson@usmc-mil.org

  18. Charlie said, on May 2, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Here is another one from 02-May-2012.

    Hi there,

    The Chevrolet it is in perfect condition, there’s not a scratch or any dents on it. Everything from engine to tires is mint condition. I have a clear title with no liens or loans. I’m selling it so low due the fact that my medical team will deploy back to Afghanistan on May 20th for a 2 year contract and I won’t let it go to waste in my backyard, therefore I need a fast and reliable buyer. If you are interested email me back.

    A few words about the truck:
    – 2000 Chevrolet S10 Pickup
    – Mileage: 83,000
    – Price: $2,200
    – Transmission: Automatic
    – Engine: 4.3L V6
    – Drive Type: 4 wheel drive
    – VIN# 1GCCT19W8Y8106310
    – Pics available at: http://s1246.photobucket.com/albums/gg613/MyChevroletS10PickupYear2000

    Best Regards,
    Senior Medic Sgt. 1st Class Brandon Graham

  19. michele A said, on June 12, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    I had the same thing happen to me, and i almost fell for it, thank god i found this web page first!
    The “seller” is mary garcia using the email mary.garcia@us-aif-mil.org
    selling a 06 honda accord for $3600… it seemed to good to be true, and it was. DONT FALL FOR THIS CON ARTIST!

  20. Mimi said, on June 20, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    I was fooled by the dude on Craig’s list with the 2003 Kawasaki Ninja. Umm, he sent me the same exact emails that I’m reading. Well, I called this here Fort Blanding, Florida place…NO SUCH PERSON or SHIPPING REQUIREMENTS!! I hope they all ROT IN HELL! Somebody please give them something to do besides this low-life crap that they are doing! His email is marvinewilson@gmail.com

  21. Mimi said, on June 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Below is his EXACT same email that almost cost me $1,000 and a divorce!

    Hello,

    Thank you so much for your prompt response.
    Please take a few moments and read my email carefully, I know it is long, but I will explain all the details about the bike and the transaction. At the moment I’m stationed at Camp Blanding ,making final preparations before deploying to Afghanistan with the U.S. Convoy.

    The bike is already at our Military Logistic Department in Camp Blanding ,Florida, crated and ready to go. The Logistic Department will deliver the bike to your home. The shipping is free for you. Since the bike is in a military base, with no access you can not go there and take it, only the Logistic Department can deliver it, because the bike is in their custody. Shipping may take anywhere between 2 to 4 business days depending on the destination. All documents you need for ownership, manuals and bill of sale will be provided along with the bike .
    For the payment I would like to use eBay as a third party. They will keep your money into a protection account until you get the bike and will release it to me after inspection period is over and you agree to keep the bike . So, this is not a blind transaction, you can see the bike before committing to buy and to eliminate any concerns you will have 10 days to inspect the bike . If you decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back will be my concern. I think this is more than fair for both of us.

    I’ll start the official procedure, and eBay will contact you about this. If you are interested in buying it just mail me back with:
    – Your Full Name – Required by eBay (You’ll receive important guidelines + instructions from them).
    – Your Shipping Address and Phone Number – Required by the Logistic Department (They will call you with delivery/pickup instructions 1 day ahead so you can communicate what time schedule work best for your to receive the bike)

    Again I want to point out that because I am going to Afghanistan this sale is my top priority and I am looking after a fast transaction, with no delays. That is why I decided to lower the price, to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer as soon as possible.

    Thanks, hope to do business with you soon!

  22. Brandy said, on June 29, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    My man looking for A car on craiglist and so we came across a listing gor a nearly new yukon danali2001, I got curious and look him up on line and briantucke0@gmail.com is a scamm alone numberuous other email addresses he have created, dont be a fool,he never wanted to call me, I am glad I followed my second thought, that was telling me dis sjit too good to be true, and I was right, watch for briantucker0@gmail.com

  23. Brandy said, on June 29, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    I knew it was too good to be true a 200 denali yukon fir 900 lol too funny briantucker0@gmail.com


Comments are closed.