Scammer Database

Online Scammers Selling Vehicles – 05Jan2012

Posted in database, ebay spoof, military imposter, scammer by Chief on January 5, 2012

Never, ever send money via Western Union or Moneygram to someone you do not know personally.

Scammer #1:

“Sgt David Stutheit”   dvstuh@gmail.com wrote:
Hi there,
The Acura it is in perfect condition, there’s not a scratch or any dents on it. Everything from engine to tires is mint condition. I have a clear title with no liens or loans. I’m selling it low as my medical team will deploy back to Afghanistan on January 20th for a 2 year contract and I won’t let it go to waste in my backyard, therefore I need a fast and reliable buyer. If you decide to buy it I will be paying for the shipping charges. The total price is $2,680.00 with no other hidden taxes. Please email me back if you are interested in buying it.
His 2nd email: Right now I’m in a military base of Nevada National Guard. Due to military security reasons I’m restricted from leaving the unit’s facility under any purpose and have strictly limited phone access. I hope you can understand that we will have to stick to email for now. The vehicle is here with me at the base but I’ve already made all the arrangements with DAS to pick it up from the base. DAS will also handle the title transfer for an extra $75.00. I think the car will be in 3-5 days to your address. As I said in my first email will take care of shipping charges. I will send all necessary paperwork (clear title, bill of sale, user’s manual, pink slip etc). Regarding the payment I want to use eBay protection program. You’ll get 5 days to inspect and test drive after delivery. During that 5 days testing period I will not be getting any money. Once you inspect and decide to keep the car, will confirm your decision with eBay and only then they will re-route me the money. In this way we are both protected.
I need to know if you are interested in buying it so I can ask eBay to send you the details on how this works. I have to fill out a form on eBay and I need the name that will go on the title and an address where you want the car delivered. Once I do it, eBay will email you all the details on this transaction and we can get the ball rolling.

Scammer #2:

“Denise Carter”    carter.denise201@gmail.com  wrote:
Hi,
I’ve received your email regarding the Toyota Avalon XLS with 102,000 miles on it. The car is still for sale and my asking price is $1,950. It is a 2001 model loaded with everything, VIN# 4T1BF28B31U158265. The car is very well maintained and it has just been completely serviced. The engine runs very good and the automatic transmission shifts perfectly.
I’m an oceanographer and I’m on sea at this moment, so I left the car in Laredo, TX,  at the shipping company, it’s already packed and waiting to be shipped anywhere.
Shipping/delivery is included in this price as I almost closed the deal with another customer but he was unable to take the loan from the bank. I’ve already prepared shipping for him as he was out of state.

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amanda said, on January 19, 2012 at 12:16 am

    I got the same email from “Sgt. Stutheit” about a Volvo Jetta. The vehicle was listed on Craigslist under the tickets category instead of the cars & trucks category. I checked to see if the post was still showing the next day and it wasn’t. It had been flagged for removal. Thanks for posting info on this loser. Otherwise I may have been tempted to buy.

  2. Bethany Ballas said, on January 21, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    Does anyone know if this guy has been caught? I just got scammed by him also, with a “Honda Accord 03”. We are file reports with the police and everything.

  3. Henry said, on January 22, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    I to saw a post from “Sgt. Stutheit” about a 2003 Dodge Ram for $2480 under the Tickets category, He emailed me back and said the same lines as above, i email him back then resaerched his email and this is what i found……thank you so much for the info, i so much wanted this truck but knew it was too good to be true, I use to sell cars and know this was either a steal or i was getting robbed!!!!

  4. Chief said, on January 23, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Henry, thanks for dropping by. Good luck finding a real vehicle!

    — Chief

  5. Chief said, on January 23, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Bethany,
    There are dozens — if not hundreds — of these guys … all use fake ID’s. We do catch a few with our reporting efforts.

    https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/scammer-receives-48-month-sentence-for-fraud/

    https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/2011/05/13/scammers-receive-sentences-to-federal-prison/

    A few more are noted here in the FAQ

  6. Bethany Ballas said, on January 23, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Booooo, I hope they find this guy! This was going to be my first car and i paid for it and everything. 😦

  7. Pedro Morales said, on January 25, 2012 at 10:07 am

    I almost got scammed by Sgt David Stutheit he was supposedly selling an 03 Dodge ram 1500 SLT don’t fall for it because he makes it seem like a real deal but its all fake you wont get a vehicle all you’ll have is a empty wallet his email was davtheit@gmail.com

  8. JD said, on January 31, 2012 at 12:07 am

    please everyone watch out. we figured it out in the second email by not allowing us to see the vechile or get a phone number i hope this bastard goes to jail. and we found out by putting him name in on google. SO BE VERRRRRYYYYY CAREFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. stephen pekarek said, on February 19, 2012 at 10:33 am

    David is using a different vehicle and amount and also he is stating he is in the Alabama National guard. Its a dodge truck this time asking price is $ 2180 and he lives in west virginia

  10. Robbie Werner said, on March 7, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    just was talking to the same guy about an 03′ Accord. He had the balls to say that he is a Sargent at a military base in Tennessee. He stopped corresponding with me after I asked him why a car in Tennessee was being advertised on the Reading, PA Craigslist. What an ass!

  11. joshua said, on March 9, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    I almost got taken by senior medics sgt. Brandon graham using email Brandon.graham79@gmail.com he was trying to sell a 2000 Chevy s10 4×4 for $2,250 saying he was currently in Wa on base and could set up a transaction via eBay but before I googled him and found this out he got my name and old address but nothing else, but ad was on ocala,fl Craigslist.

  12. christina said, on March 27, 2012 at 6:25 am

    PLEASE!!!! I also was fooled into srgt Dave stutheits pile of lies
    ,took every last penny out of me. Sad!
    I strongly hope that they catch that bastard!!!!!!!! he needs
    To get punished,so that he can learn to man the fuck
    Up and make money like a real man does,by working his ass
    Off!!! Not scamming and making people waist what they
    Have actually worked very hard for!!!!! and for some people,
    the money they lost or will lose might have been all they have!!!!!!!!!!

    > >>> Have heart people! Lets make it possible for
    This bastard too get locked up and stop taking our money
    That could and would`ve been good for our family
    And other needs. <<<<

  13. Jesus Guzman said, on April 2, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    Yo this [redacted] said the same thing to me what an ass!

  14. devin said, on April 5, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    i have the guy emailing me now is there anyway that could help get him caught?

  15. Chief said, on April 5, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    Devin,
    Individually — by himself — this guy is small potatoes to law enforcement. However, if you file a report at http://ic3.gov, law enforcement can aggregate this case with the dozens of others this guy is responsible for. Then, officials have a more significant case against the criminal.

  16. L. Ann said, on May 2, 2012 at 8:49 am

    I am currently in discussion via email regarding the S10 pickup with the same guy as Joshua (March 9th)…soooo glad I googled this guys name! Remember, if it seems too good to be true…wish I could do something. I actually gave my phone # hoping to speed up the deal…ugh!

  17. Casie said, on May 30, 2012 at 11:13 am

    I too just got an email from the guy…Glad I googled it…scumbug!!

  18. John said, on June 9, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    I just got an email from him selling a ’02 Nissan Altima. Glad I googled him!

  19. gc said, on June 9, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    same format, different email from : “rosacasey97@gmail.com”

    Hi,

    I’ve received your email regarding the 2006 Lexus GS430 with 69,460 miles on it , Transmission : Automatic , 4.3L 8 Cylinder , Fuel :Gasoline , Leather . The VIN # is JTHBN96S465015330 . The car is still for sale and my asking price is $3400 . It is a 2006 model loaded with everything. The car is very well maintained and it has just been completely serviced . The engine runs very good and the automatic transmission shifts perfectly.The car is in perfect condition with clear title,no accidents, no liens or loans.
    I’m an oceanographer and I’m on sea at this moment, so I left the car in Laguna Hills, CA, at the shipping company, it’s already packed and waiting to be shipped anywhere.

    Here are some pictures with the car:
    http://photobucket.com/2006_Lexus_GS430

    Let me know if you are still interested.

    Regards,
    Rosa Casey

  20. Kc said, on June 15, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    David is now selling a 2002 on Craigslist beware

  21. Chadwick said, on June 19, 2012 at 10:19 am

    I just got a call from my mom about this guy had a listing for an Altima on Craigslist – but the next day he emailed them info for a Maxima. Since that was suspicious and he can only be contacted via email because he’s stationed at a base, I googled his name and found this page.

  22. SBO said, on June 19, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    WOW!!! I just sent an email back to ~David Stutheit~about an 02 Nissan Maxima. So glad I had butterflies and decided to look this guy up.

  23. SBO said, on June 19, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    This is the email he sent me after I contacted him on craigslist

    Hi there,

    The Maxima it is in perfect condition, there’s not a scratch or any dents on it. Everything from engine to tires is mint condition. I have a clear title with no liens or loans. I’m selling it low as my medical team will deploy back to Afghanistan on July 2th for a 2 year contract and I won’t let it go to waste in my backyard, therefore I need a fast and reliable buyer. If you decide to buy it I will be paying for the shipping charges. The total price is $1,965.00 with no other hidden taxes. Please email me back if you are interested in buying it.

    2002 Nissan Maxima SE
    Mileage: 74,800
    Price: $1965
    Exterior Color White
    Interior Color Gray
    VIN# JN1DA31D32T405260
    Engine: 6 Cyl 3,5 L
    Transmission: Automatic

    -Pics available at:http://s1261.photobucket.com/albums/ii588/maxima0202nissan/

    Best Regards,
    Senior Medic Sgt. 1st Class David Stutheit

  24. Jessica said, on June 22, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    I JUST got an email from him today, so no, this scammer has NOT be caught. it is for a nissan maxima :/ *TIRED OF SCAMMERS*

  25. Chief said, on June 22, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Jessica,

    Please understand that this is not a single scammer — it is an entire industry. I estimate that there are thousands of individuals utilizing this format to defraud potential buyers. The text of the scammers’ script varies a bit, but I have observed this same activity for over 5 years.

    — Chief

  26. Jakob Walser said, on June 24, 2012 at 7:53 am

    So glad I google his name. He’s scamming about 2002 Maxima. This guy need a life.

  27. Curtis said, on June 24, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    I really do believe that Craiglist is supporting this shit. Think about it, if the scammer is still online and running this same garbage they maybe making a few nickles off of each hit that go into this site. Think about it, how many of us talked about this one guy name Dave? Think about the many of us that did not reply and simply deleted the replies. I truly think Craig list is supporting this mess. Didn’t they get sued about the prostitution and the murder that they supported with their lack of effort to reject these types of emails and post. Lets turn the table on Craiglist and start complaining to the FCC about them and their lack of support to try to limit problematic emails.

  28. cindy said, on June 25, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Same story

    I just saw this camper on craigslist, googled the name, and here I see all the other scams trying to be pulled. I flagged the listing right away.Please double check everyone you deal with.

    Hi,

    I’ve received your email regarding the 2008 Keystone Outback 31rqs Sydney Edition . VIN # 4YDT31R228S630016 . Length (feet): 31, Sleeping Capacity: 8, Vehicle Title: Clear ,Slide Outs: 1 , Leveling Jacks Included , Water Capacity (Gallons): 41-50 , Air Conditioners: 1 , Awnings: 2 . The camper is still for sale and my asking price is $7000 .
    The camper is very well maintained and it has just been completely serviced. The camper is in perfect condition with clear title,no accidents, no liens or loans.
    I’m an oceanographer and I’m on sea at this moment, so I left the camper in Muskegon MI , at the shipping company, it’s already packed and waiting to be shipped anywhere.

    Here are some pictures with the camper :
    http://photobucket.com/2008_Keystone_Outback

    Let me know if you are still interested.

    Regards,
    Rosa Casey

  29. Josh Marko said, on July 5, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    He had Just put a car on Craigslist Nissan ALtima and so far my first and second email has been the same as up top sooo he still hasnt been caught …

  30. Kevin Smith said, on August 19, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    The nissan maxima scammer for VIN JN1DA31D32T405260 is back! This time it is $1925 with 74,800 miles.

    Someone catch him!


Comments are closed.