Scammer Database

Email from Scammer trainee – Sonya Ritta

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on April 11, 2011

Scammer Sonya Ritta responded within 3 minutes to my inquiry on her “car for sale” ad:

Thank you for your interest in purchasing my vehicle. The vehicle is in perfect condition – like new! If you decide to buy it, you’ll receive all the papers, owner manuals, keys, a buy-sell contract already signed by me and the clear title. For this transaction I want to use Google Checkout because I want to provide you a fast and very secure way. They will handle the transaction for me. You will make the payment to Google Checkout and they will hold the money until you receive and inspect the vehicle. ONLY AFTER you receive the vehicle and you inspect it (you have 5 days for inspection) Google Checkout will release the payment to me. The inspection time period will begin as soon as you receive the vehicle at your address. Meanwhile Google Checkout will hold the money into a trust account. So, this is not a blind transaction, you can see the vehicle before you decide to buy it. This way we are both protected : i will know that i have a serious buyer who has the money to pay me and you will be able to see and inspect the vehicle before buying it .
The vehicle is priced to sell quickly and the final price that I’m asking for it is $2,900 including shipping and handling costs. My husband died in Iraq 3 months ago and I along with my daughter decided to sell the house and move to my sister. I can’t afford to take days off my work for this sale so i’m trying to sell it online.
If you are really interested in purchasing the vehicle please reply to this email and i will provide further instructions regarding payment and delivery.
I will appreciate an answer as soon as possible.

Regards!

Sonya Ritta

P.S.: Below you will a full desription and the pictures i have taken for this sale. Please take a closer look before you decide.

Mileage:  38,284 miles
Vehicle title:  Clear
Condition:  Used

There were no pictures included, but she did add 174 lines (omitted to prevent nausea) of features of the vehicle – includes fascinating options such as Door Reinforcements and a clock.

“Sonya” is a scammer — a rookie by observation.  Google Checkout does not offer the service she proposes.  Never, ever send money via Western Union or MoneyGram to someone you do not know personally.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carol said, on April 11, 2011 at 10:32 am

    Thanks so much for posting this! I had been very excited to find this passat on craig’s list….received the mileage and thought this is great! I obviously didn’t feel very comfortable with her terms so googled her name and found your information. Thanks! I received the same exact email about an hour ago.

  2. Chief said, on April 11, 2011 at 10:39 am

    We’re glad you found the site and avoided being scammed. Thanks go to the hundreds of individuals who report scams here.

    — Chief


Comments are closed.