Scammer Database

Scam. Military Imposter. “Found $8.5MM in Iraq”

Posted in database, military imposter, scammer by Chief on March 16, 2011

These scammers have no boundaries as to what lies they will tell and whose identity they will use.  “Mercy Lambert” sent me an email that landed in my spam box.  No soldier in any army of any country would make such a proposal to a random person (me) to share war booty.

“Mercy” included some photos (below) of herself for my viewing pleasure.  Uh-huh.

The first is stolen from http://photoblog.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2010/12/09/5616457-all-female-us-marine-team-in-afghanistan

stolen photo

stolen photo

and the other was a picture of Sgt. Leigh Ann Hester from June 16, 2005. I found the properly attributed picture online:

first female soldier awarded the Silver Star since World War II

Here is the content of Mercy’s follow-up email to me:

From: 2nd mercy lambert <mercylambert@hotmail.com>
Date: Wed, Mar 16, 2011 at 10:12 AM
Subject: 2ND LT. MERCY LAMBERT
To: ~~~~~

Dear Friend,

Thanks for your response!!!.

To give you a clear idea of my proposal, I will have to give you some details of my person trusting that you will not make any wrong intentions use of it, I realize that for me to get a trusted and willing partner I will definitely need to be very clear  especially for your information as it is required.

As I stated in my first email to you, I am 2ND LT. MERCY LAMBERT, a soldier in the United States Army As a young girl  I have already picked up an interest in the nursing profession, and have joined the local red cross. I decided to enlist in the army and joined the medical corp from where I got full nursing training because of my interest in ER. I am a member of the U.S. ARMY USARPAC Medical Team. I have been in Iraq for a long time  now and I did witness the story that you read about in the bbc link that I sent to you in my previous email.

I was among the soldiers that found the hidden money, I was able to take away 8.5million United States dollars. I need your help to secure this fund cases the fund has left Iraq already.
The 8.5 million dollars, was what I was able to carry away with me on that faithful day,the army lunched an investigation into the disappearance of fund from the site, I and some of my squad where detained and questioned, but were later released i ran and deposited the case of money in a finance company in London without the company knowing it was money inside as i told them it was family item/ tresaures i inherited since am young and occupied i cant keep/handle it.

But if i cant come for it(The Cases) i will send one of my relation to come and stand as the next of kin to get it on my behalf that was the  agreement with me and the company because i figure out that the US ARMY may be watching me after i was released that is why i need you to stand as the next of kin to get the cases out on my behalf.

As you know they(US ARMY) are still watching me everywhere I go and what ever I do  every telephone call I make may be  listened to or traced ,so  I would  like us to use email to communicate for security reason which I believe will be better for both of us.

I do not know you in person, but am believing  and trusting you in this transaction and hope that you will not betray me,am not a thief by nature, I was serving my fathers land on a military duty,and this money was meant to be used by sadam and his lieutenants to buy weapon in the black market,so do not treat me like a thief,lets work together and I will give you 35% as your share.

The 8.5 million is deposited with a security company in london which also have their branch in West Africa  (Burkina faso) as family items of high value now i have decided to stay in AFRICA Burkina Faso where i will monitor and guide you all through.

I have with me the deposit certificate given to me by the Finance company so all is clear and free from any risk.

I will like to know the following information about you???.

1.Full name And contact Address……………..

2. Occupation………………………………………….

3.An identification photo or international passport………..

4.Your Country/Tel/Mobile Numbers………………………

As soon as you send this information, then I will send you claim deposite form to send to the finance company for the release of the cases to you.Looking forward to hear from you soonest.

Thanks,
Best Regards
2nd Lt. Mercy Lambert.

100% Lies.  “Do not treat me like a thief”, she says. That is exactly how I will treat you, ” Mercy.”

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jakob Walser said, on June 24, 2012 at 6:22 am

    David Stutheit

    To: ***************
    Date: June 23, 2012, 5:21 AM
    Hi there,

    The Maxima it is in perfect condition, there’s not a scratch or any dents on it. Everything from engine to tires is mint condition. I have a clear title with no liens or loans. I’m selling it low as my medical team will deploy back to Afghanistan on July 6th for a 2 year contract and I won’t let it go to waste in my backyard, therefore I need a fast and reliable buyer. If you decide to buy it I will be paying for the shipping charges. The total price is $1,965.00 with no other hidden taxes. Please email me back if you are interested in buying it.

    2002 Nissan Maxima SE
    Mileage: 74,800
    Price: $1965
    Exterior Color White
    Interior Color Gray
    VIN# JN1DA31D32T405260
    Engine: 6 Cyl 3,5 L
    Transmission: Automatic

          -Pics available at:http://s1261.photobucket.com/albums/ii588/maxima0202nissan/

    Best Regards,
    Senior Medic Sgt. 1st Class David Stutheit

  2. Pierre said, on July 7, 2012 at 8:35 am

    This is a typical 419 scam from Nigeria or a West African country.

  3. Chief said, on July 7, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Pierre, you may be right. It matters not where the criminal is — it is fraud.

    — Chief


Comments are closed.