Scammer Database

Scammer Melissa Rogers Sells a Harley

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on March 7, 2011

“Melissa” placed an ad in an online classified service. When I inquired of the bike via email, she replied:

From: Melissa Rogers <carfdew@gmail.com>

Email #1

Hi,
I am selling this bike because of my disability, being deaf and not able to drive it. It belonged to my husband, who passed away not long ago.The price is low because I need to sell it before March 13. The bike is in perfect condition, as I had a mechanic look over it before placing the ad. I do have the title , clear. The bike has 13000 miles on it. It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4250. The bike is in Sitka, AK, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
Regards !!

Email #2

You have to understand that the bike is located in Sitka, Alaska and due to my problem I can`t meet or talk to someone over the phone. The shipping is also free for you, you won`t have to pay anything for the delivery. You will receive the bike along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized  third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handled by eBay and you will benefit of 5 inspection time period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the bike on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rich Hartford said, on April 2, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Melissa Rogers is still at it. Today April 2nd, I spoted an add for a nice pickup truck on craigs list. The deal seamed to be too good. I googled her name and was sent to this site. Her response to my inquiry reads the exact same as your #1 e-mail above. Thank you for being here. Rich

  2. Chief said, on April 2, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    Rich, thanks for dropping a comment. Good luck finding a “real” vehicle.

    — Chief

  3. ana l said, on April 4, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    She told me the same exact thing about a charger just today! I goggled her name and found this! Thank god!

  4. misinlink said, on April 5, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Still at it …. 1982 Harley-Davidson ELECTRAGLIDE FLH Excellent – $2820 (myrtle )

  5. Mark said, on April 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    At it again in Billings, MT. Harley Electraglide.

  6. Derek said, on April 6, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    still at it with a Volvo in New York

  7. Robert said, on April 9, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    She’s still at today. In Portland, OR

  8. Joel said, on April 10, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I’m in NYC and I just got a Volvo offer from her at this email address: plyutred@gmail.com

  9. Oscar Lara said, on April 11, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I have also been saved from being scammed by this “Melissa Rogers”. I am so thankful for this website. Me and my wife almost purchased a 1997 Lincoln Town Car $2680 from SITKA, ALASKA!!!!

  10. Sonoflee said, on May 4, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    She’s also selling a Volvo in Lansing, MI as April Heller with the plyutred@gmail.com address – same Sitka, AK story.

  11. DP said, on May 5, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Selling a Volvo in San Diego. Her email showed up as “April Heller”.

  12. MS said, on May 10, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Selling a Volvo in Minneapolis. Same deal as others showing up as April Heller.

  13. mary redstone said, on May 11, 2011 at 9:33 am

    April Heller plyutred@gmail.com selling volvo all over the country. same scam. BTW, not that it matters, but nothing to indicate it is actually a “she” or really located in the US.

    Check out http://www.allofcraigs.com/ which searches all the craigslists around the country at once. Enter keywords like the name of the vehicle and the price – e.g., Volvo 240 $2430

  14. Chief said, on May 11, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks, Mary. Yes the WordPress commenting interface is very clunky with regard to its handing of email addresses.

    — Chief

  15. dave said, on May 11, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    it seams Mrs Heller is still going , she is selling an unbelievable suburban right now on craigslist from Lansing that is the exact same story as the Harley, glad i goggled her name and found this !!!!

  16. Steve said, on May 16, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    1991 Volvo For sale $2430 ( Miami ) Same emails as above

    April Heller poilderty@gmail.com
    vin # for car was YV1AA8847M1445241

    THANKS FOR THIS SITE!!!!

  17. zeek said, on May 28, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    this is what I got in response to this ad, which I just flagged:
    http://akroncanton.craigslist.org/cto/2395346564.html

    Hi,
    I am selling this suv because of my disability, being deaf and not able to drive it. It belonged to my husband, who passed away not long ago.The price is low because I need to sell it before June 5. The suv is in perfect condition, as I had a mechanic look over it before placing the ad. I do have the title , clear. The suv has 88,575 miles on it. It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $2640. The suv is in Sitka, AK, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards !!

  18. eric said, on June 6, 2011 at 10:14 am

    http://phoenix.craigslist.org/search/?areaID=18&subAreaID=&query=volvo+240&catAbb=sss

    “April Heller” is now in Phoenix

    i received this back for an ad for a volvo

    Hi,
    I am selling this car because of my disability, being deaf and not able to drive it. It belonged to my husband, who passed away not long ago.The price is low because I need to sell it before June 12. The car is in perfect condition, as I had a mechanic look over it before placing the ad. I do have the title , clear. The car has 40,179 miles on it. It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $2430. The car is in Sitka, AK, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards !!

  19. catarina said, on June 7, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    This same person is trying to sell a 1991 Volvo 240 in Chicago under the name April Heller. I received the same e-mail:

    “Hi,
    I am selling this car because of my disability, being deaf and not able to drive it. It belonged to my husband, who passed away not long ago.The price is low because I need to sell it before June 15. The car is in perfect condition, as I had a mechanic look over it before placing the ad. I do have the title , clear. The car has 40,179 miles on it. It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $2430. The car is in Sitka, AK, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards !!”

  20. speedo said, on June 10, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    This creature is currently running 3 or 4 ads on craigslist in nyc area for Volvos. Received same sob story email today. Has anyone actually sent her money and lost it? Anyone recovered their money? there must be someway to shut this scam down, stop her from stealing from people and otherwise wasting their time.

  21. Chief said, on June 11, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Speedo,
    If no one had lost money, I would not have spent the energy to warn others of the criminals. Look around the FAQ’s for answers to your other questions.

  22. Marlen said, on June 18, 2011 at 10:58 am

    The Volvo is still in Alaska! Poor deaf April Heller.

  23. Marlen said, on June 18, 2011 at 11:07 am

    She is trying to sell the Volvo in San Diego!
    Her name again is April Heller and her email address is plyutred@gmail.com.


Comments are closed.