Scammer Database

Scammer Anna Better attempts to sell me a 2005 Honda Accord LX Coupe

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on February 24, 2011

———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Anna Better <betteranna22@aol.com>
Date: Thu, Feb 24, 2011 at 8:33 PM
Subject: Re: Accord
To:

Anna advertised her vehicle for sale on an online classified service. Her reply to my inquiry uses the common military angle:

Hello,

This 2005 Honda Accord LX Coupe with 69,169 miles, has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all.This car has been extremely well maintained with a full service history .I am the second owner of this car.I bought it when I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens.
I have dropped my price to $2600 since I need to sell it before March 04,when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; FULL NAME and SHIPPING ADDRESS & PHONE NUMBER to open a case with eBay’s Buyer Protection Program and they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 5 days inspection period before committing to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.

Hope to hear from you soon,
Corporal Better Anna

Anna Better or Betta Anna is a scammer. She has no vehicle for sale. Ebay does not offer Buyer Protection for this type transaction. Any emails sent by “Ebay” on her behalf are fraudulent. Anna sent me another email:

From: Anna Better <betteranna22@aol.com>
Date: Sat, Feb 26, 2011
Subject: Re: Accord
To: ~~~

Hi again,
Please take a few moments and read my email carefully, I know it is long, but I will explain all the details about the car and the transaction. At the moment I’m making final preparations before deploying to Afghanistan with the U.S. Convoy .The car is already at our Military Logistic Department form Fort Lauderdale, U.S. Army base in FL, crated and ready to go. The Logistic Department will deliver the car to your home. The shipping is free for you. Since the car is in a military base, with no access you can not go there and take it, only the Logistic Department can deliver it, because the car is in their custody.Shipping may take anywhere between 2 to 3 business days depending on the destination. All documents you need for ownership, manuals and bill of sale will be provided along with the car.For the payment I would like to use eBay as a third party. They will keep your money into a protection account until you get the car and will release it to me after inspection period is over and you agree to keep the car. So, this is not a blind transaction, you can see the car before committing to buy and to eliminate any concerns you will have 5 days to inspect the car . If you decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back will be my concern. I think this is more than fair for both of us.

I’ll start the official procedure, and eBay will contact you about this. If you are interested in buying it just mail me back with:
– Your Full Name – Required by eBay (You’ll receive important guidelines + instructions from them.)
– Your FUll Shipping Address and Phone Number – Required by the Logistic Department (They will call you with delivery/pickup instructions 1 day ahead so you can communicate what time schedule work best for your to receive the car)

Again I want to point out that because I am going to Afghanistan this sale is my top priority and I am looking after a fast transaction, with no delays. That is why I decided to lower the price, to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer as soon as possible.
Thanks, hope to do business with you soon!
Corporal Better Anna

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Juan said, on June 28, 2011 at 12:23 am

    I received almost the same exact emails but for a Mazda RX-8 from a person called John S Hilton. Here’s the email address -> jshilton22@gmail.com. I was looking on craiglist for a Mazda RX8 and i found an ad with a Mazda at 2,900$. I got interested so I email them. I received an email, it sound real to me. I sent John another email ” Is the car located in Denver Colorado and where can i pick it up or how does the shipping work. So an hour later i received the 2nd email. The email sounded so real to me especially the words “the car is at the military base” and the 5 day money holding account. I show my dad and he said yea that he would give me the money. Later, the same day i decided to re-read the email and the phrase “Military Logistic Department form Fort Lauderdale, U.S. Army base in FL” got me thinking ‘how does the military base look like since my future Mazda is coming from there’, so i googled those same exact words ” Military Log……”. And it brought me here, reading this email. How funny I almost believed it. O well i guess now i have to buy a 2006 Mazda for 14k. Here are the emails i gotten so far….

    Hello,
    This 2006 Mazda RX-8 with 31,203 miles, has no leaks or drips and doesnot smoke at all.This car has been extremely well maintained with afull service history .I am the second owner of this car.I bought itwhen I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used in 100%working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrancesand liens.
    I have dropped my price to $2,900.00 since I need to sell it before 10July,when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacingthe troops scheduled to come home.
    Ifyou’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email meyour; FULL NAME and SHIPPING ADDRESS & PHONE NUMBER to open a casewith eBay’s Buyer Protection Program and they will contact you toexplain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed bythem, which means that you will have a 5 days inspection period beforecommitting to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are100% covered during the steps of this transaction.
    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Corporal James Palos

    Hi again,

    Please take a few moments and read my email carefully, I know it is long, but I will explain all the details about the car and the transaction. At the moment I’m making final preparations before deploying to Afghanistan with the U.S. Convoy .The car is already at our Military Logistic Department form Fort Lauderdale, U.S. Army base in FL, crated and ready to go. The Logistic Department will deliver the car to your home. The shipping is free for you. Since the car is in a military base, with no access you can not go there and take it, only the Logistic Department can deliver it, because the car is in their custody.Shipping may take anywhere between 2 to 3 business days depending on the destination. All documents you need for ownership, manuals and bill of sale will be provided along with the car.For the payment I would like to use eBay as a third party. They will keep your money into a protection account until you get the car and will release it to me after inspection period is over and you agree to keep the car. So, this is not a blind transaction, you can see the car before committing to buy and to eliminate any concerns you will have 5 days to inspect the car . If you decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back will be my concern. I think this is more than fair for both of us.

    I’ll start the official procedure, and eBay will contact you about this. If you are interested in buying it just mail me back with:

    – Your Full Name – Required by eBay (You’ll receive important guidelines + instructions from them.)

    – Your FUll Shipping Address and Phone Number – Required by the Logistic Department (They will call you with delivery/pickup instructions 1 day ahead so you can communicate what time schedule work best for your to receive the car)

    Again I want to point out that because I am going to Afghanistan this sale is my top priority and I am looking after a fast transaction, with no delays. That is why I decided to lower the price, to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer as soon as possible.

    Thanks, hope to do business with you soon

  2. Chief said, on June 28, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Thanks for posting, Juan. And good luck finding a real vehicle.

    Now, your role is to inform all your friends and family how these criminals work. Education is the best way to stop this fraud.

    — Chief

  3. Tom Martin said, on December 1, 2011 at 8:12 am

    There’s one running now on a few ford F250’s super cab. This one said he’s reducing the price to half market value because he has a medical emergency. from timbow70@aol.com


Comments are closed.