Scammer Database

Scammer Hampton Diana tries to sell me a Harley

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on February 8, 2011

Email from the scammer:

From: Diana Hampton <hamptondiana23@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, Feb 8, 2011
Subject: Re: Harley Davidson
To: ~~~~~~~~

Hello,

This 2001 Harley-Davidson Dyna / FXR FXDWG 13,000 miles, runs and drives excellent. This bike has been extremely well maintained with a full service history. Free of any liens or loans. This bike is in excellent working conditions,I bought it when I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used no scratches, flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions.I have dropped my price to $2500 USD (purchase price) since this is an Urgent Sale! and I need to sell it before 10 February, when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home. If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; Full Name and Shipping Address to open a case with eBay they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 5 days inspection period before committing to buy the bike. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.I will take in consideration only those buyers who are really interested in buying the bike ,to be sure that I don’t waste my time with endless discussions. This way, I shall be assured of the serious intentions. So if you are interested please e-mail me back for more details about the transaction.

Hope to hear from you soon,
Corporal Hampton Diana

Ebay only offers such services to items appearing in an auction or a buy-it-now on their website at ebay.com.

Edit: 09Feb2011 : second email from Diana

From: Diana Hampton <hamptondiana23@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, Feb 9, 2011
Subject: Re: Harley Davidson
To: ~~~~~~~
Hello again,
The bike is located in Fort Lauderdale, FL Since the bike is in a military base, with no access you can not go there and take it, only the Logistic Department can deliver it, because the bike is in their custody,and is in perfect condition also has a clear title. It will come with a clear title, bill of sale signed by me as well and all the papers (including the original manuals and keys) that you will need to register it under your name.
Right now I`m in a military base, so I can’t meet in person with you and this is the reason why I opted to sell my bike over the internet.Let me expalin again how the process works:
You make the payment to eBay,
– they give me the confirmation that they received your payment and I start the shipping,
– you receive the bike and inspect it,
– you tell them AFTER that you want to keep the bike and ONLY then,they shall send the money to me.
eBay will hold the money until the bike is delivered to you. You will have 5 business days for inspection. If the bike is not like described you will have to ship it back at the end of the 5 business days,on my expense and have your money back from eBay.Now if you really want to buy my bike please send me your full name full shipping address and phone #  so I can open a case with eBay.After that you will receive a invoice from eBay with alll the neccessary steps to complete this transaction.I have a few guys interested so I will need a prompt answer from you!
.
.

Sorry, Diana, but there is no military base in Ft. Lauderdale.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wil Maring said, on February 10, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I was looking for a new used Toyota Sienna and ran across a “too good to be true” ad on Craigs list: http://stlouis.craigslist.org/ctd/2206255244.html I emailed about it and here is the response from someone named Keith Brown.

    Hi,

    Thanks for replying to my ad. I’m in a hurry to find a buyer because I have a family emergency and I need to sell it ASP.
    My name is Keith. I’m an Air Force Master Sgt. stationed at the Elmendorf AF Base, Anchorage, Alaska. The vehicle is here with me.

    I’m the original owner. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident…I do have the title, clear, under my name. Non-smoker. It is rust free, salt free and has a clean undercarriage.

    This 2005 Toyota Sienna XLE LTD NAV has 70,324 miles, Silver with Grey Leather Interior, Automatic 4SPD,3.3L 24-valve MPFI DOHC VVT-i V6 engine, loaded up with everything imaginable:All Wheel Drive, Navigation System, Rear View Camera, Rear Seat Entertainment DVD Video, Power Moonroof , 3rd Row Seats, Air Conditioning, Driver Air Bag, Passenger Air Bag, Alarm System, Alloy Wheels, AM/FM, Anti-Lock Brakes, Automatic Climate Control, Cassette, CD Player, Cruise Control, Rear Window Defroster, Heated Seats, Tow Package, Power Door Locks, Power Mirrors, Power Windows, Power Steering, Power Seats, Tinted Glass, Tilt/Telescope Steering Wheel, Traction Control and more…

    Here you can find more pictures of the car: http://s1227.photobucket.com/home/74849063/index
    (if the above link does not work copy and paste it into a new web browser window).

    It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $2,950. If you want to buy this car I will take care of shipping. Shipping will be door to door, to your home address and I will offer 5 days to inspect the vehicle from the moment you receive it (and the option to accept or reject it on my expense), before I’ll have your money. So if you need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

               Thank you
              
               Keith Brown

    I wrote back and told him it was too far away and I prefer to drive it and look at it in person… he wrote back right away….

    Hi again,

    As I’ve told you, at this moment I am in Alaska in a military base. I do a special training program each day and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or call whenever I want. The reason I’m selling this vehicle way below market value, is because I would like to help ease the burden of my sisters medical expenses, which she has acquired due to a serious illness.

    The shipping will take 3 to 5 days and it’s not a problem because I will have the van shipped by an Air Force cargo plane so there won’t be any additional shipping costs. Also I will arrange for a truck to transport the vehicle to your home address. You will receive it along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, 2 set of keys, full service records and more. Because it is a large transaction, we will complete the deal only using an authorized third part like eBay because I already prearranged the whole process with them. The vehicle is located in their warehouse in Anchorage (sealed and ready for delivery). The money must be sent first to an eBay agent and will be kept safe until the buyer receives and inspects the vehicle. I will offer a 5-day period to inspect the van from the moment you receive it (and the option to accept or reject the vehicle on my expense), before I’ll have your money. I think this is more than fair for both of us.

    If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info to eBay and they will notify you about our deal. They will let you know what you have to do for the payment. Like this you’ll be able to talk directly with them and ask all you want to know.

    Thanks

    so this sounds just like other scams detailed on your site. I just thought I’d let people know. This is the second one I’ve run across recently.

  2. Mark said, on February 20, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    She, he, or it is still running the same scam in Pennsylvania:

    Hello,

    This 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee LIMITED 4X4 with 76,400 miles, has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all.This vehicle has been extremely well maintained with a full service history .I am the second owner of this vehicle.I bought it when I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens.
    I have dropped my price to $2700 since I need to sell it before 28 February,when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
    If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; FULL NAME and SHIPPING ADDRESS & PHONE NUMBER to open a case with eBay’s Buyer Protection Program and they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 5 days inspection period before committing to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.

    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Corporal Hampton Diana


Comments are closed.