Scammer Database

Scammer – Selling 2003 Honda Accord

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on January 26, 2011

I readily discerned that Andy’s ad was fraudulent and emailed him — asking for his phone number.  This was his reply:

From: Andrew Scala <andyscala73@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, Jan 26, 2011
Subject: Re: Car for sale
To: Chief

Hello,

If you’re interested in buying my car (2003 Honda Accord EX) reply to this message. If you the car then I’ll be happy to sell it to you. If not then disregard this message.

This Honda is in excellent condition, it has no engine problems, no cosmetic damage or hidden defects. All power equipment works perfectly.

The car has 70,000 miles, the Engine size is 2.4L. It has a clear title with my name written on it. My asking price is $2400. I have no need for this car and want to sell it fast. The car was left at a local shipping company in Dallas, TX and it will be shipped from there if necessary for inspection and test drive before you buy it.

Get back to me if you are interested in purchasing and we might have a deal.

Here is the link to some pictures of the car:

http://ascala.jalbum.net/2003-Honda-Accord/

Andrew Scala

Typical boilerplate script. Jalbum.net quickly closed his photo account after I issued to them an abuse report.

Here is the 2nd email from “Andy”:

Hey again,

Right now I’m on a military base, getting ready for Afghanistan. So I am not able to talk on the phone for now. The car is already at the shipping company warehouse in Dallas, TX ready to be shipped. The car is enlisted in the eBay VPP program so this deal must go through them. In accordance with eBay Vehicle Purchase Program terms you have 3 days from the time you receive the car to inspect it and decide whether you want to keep it or not. The car will be shipped free of charge along with all documents, clean FL title with my signature on it, owner’s manual and keys. It has never been involved in any accident, there’s no body damage or mechanical problems. Here is how it will work:

1. First of all, I will need your details: Full name, shipping address and phone #.

2. Once I receive the details from you, I will forward them to eBay VPP for processing.

3. After they process your information, they will send you an invoice with all the details on how to make a refundable payment. Basically, you will have to issue a Western Union payment to a verified eBay VPP Agent and the payment will be secured with them. Only you will have access to the payment.

4. eBay will contact me and I will ship the car. After you receive it you will have 3 days to test and verify the car. If you decide to buy it I will receive the payment from eBay. Otherwise the car will be shipped back free of charge on your side and you will be fully refunded.

If you wish to make the transaction, please send me the necessary information so we can proceed.

I’ll be waiting for your response.

Thanks

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Foment said, on April 4, 2011 at 4:08 pm

    The ad has made its way onto Craigslist now. I don’t know where else the ad has been placed but it’s in the Albany, NY craigslist listings, so I’m sure it’s spread about the northern states at the very least.

    The e-mail has changed a little bit, using a different photo account, and they’re claiming San Antonio now but overall, it’s the same listing.


Comments are closed.