Scammer Database

Scammer Rebecca Thompson and the 2004 Acura

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on November 27, 2010

I responded to an ad for an Acura that was priced at $2900. The criminal’s reply is below. See the follow up posting here.

From: Rebecca Thompson <toteu7@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, Nov 26, 2010 at x:42 PM
Subject: Re: Acura
To: Chief

Thank you for being interested in buying my 2004 Acura TL Sedan, automatic transmission, 63 200 miles, VIN : 19UUA66254A016531. It is in EXCELLENT condition; the body and paint are great, no scratches and no dents; the interior is clean; it has never been involved in an accident; the title is clear.

I have recently moved to Portugal. I was hoping to take my car here but when I found out how much shipping and registration would be I’ve changed my mind. As I’m unable to travel in the near future and I don’t have anyone in the US to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through eBay. I believe this protects both buyer and seller and it’s the right way to do this.

The final price is $2,960. If you decide to buy this car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.

Thank you,
Rebecca

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Roberto said, on January 29, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I am glad I found this, I was just dealing with this scammer here is the email she sent me when I inquired about the same car:

    On Sat, Jan 29, 2011 at 10:16 AM, Rebecca Thompson toteu7@gmail.com wrote:

    Thanks for looking at my 2004 Acura TL Sedan. The car is still for sale and the price is $2,960 not negotiable. You should know that it has never been wrecked or damaged, the car is in excellent condition with only 63 200 miles, Non-smoker. The interior is clean, like new. Runs great, very smooth, meticulously maintained. All the manuals, and the original documentation comes along with the car; it has a clear title.

    I have recently moved to Portugal. I was hoping to take my car here but when I found out how much shipping and registration would be I’ve changed my mind. As I’m unable to travel in the near future and I don’t have anyone in the US to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through Google Checkout Program. I believe this protects both buyer and seller and it’s the right way to do this. I will take in consideration only those buyers who are really interested in buying the car, to be sure that I don’t waste my time with endless discussions.

    If you decide to buy this car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.

    Thank you,
    Rebecca

    2004 Acura TL Sedan
    VIN : 19UUA66254A016531
    Transmission:Automatic
    Engine:3.2L V6 PFI SOHC 24V
    Exterior Color:Black
    Interior Color:Black

  2. Chief said, on January 29, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Roberto, if you are using an anonymous email address, I would ask you to continue correspondence with the scammer an scope out this Google Checkout angle. I have not seen an email spoofing Google checkout in a scam before. See me on Live Chat if you are available.

  3. Connie said, on January 30, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I saw the car advertised on craigslist as well. I inquired about the vehicle and received the exact same response. She was insisting i make payment via Google Checkout Program. Her email used was toteu7@gmail.com.

  4. Cindy said, on March 13, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I got the same email about a Lexus. Thanks for the information. Glad I checked on it.

    Thank you for being interested in buying my 2002 Lexus ES 300 Sedan, Automatic Transmission, 64 700 MILES, VIN JTHBF30G120060568. It is in EXCELLENT condition; no scratches and no dents; the interior is clean; it has never been involved in an accident; the title is clear.

    I have recently moved to Portugal. I was hoping to take my car here but when I found out how much shipping and registration would be I’ve changed my mind. As I’m unable to travel in the near future and I don’t have anyone in the US to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through eBay. I believe this protects both buyer and seller and it’s the right way to do this.

    The final price is $1,500. If you decide to buy this car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible.

    Thank you,
    Rebecca

  5. Bran said, on March 14, 2011 at 7:53 am

    Thats so crazy!! If it sounds too good to be true, usually it is…

    Hello,
    I`m SSgt. Susan Williams. You have to know that the 2003 Honda Accord EX 6 – Cyl Automatic I am selling is 100% working and great looking, no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage. The title is clear. It has 47,000 miles. The VIN# is 1hgcm66803a050494 This vehicle engine runs very, very smooth. No electrical problems on this beauty. This detailed vehicle makes the exterior looks like it just came off the assembly line.
    Options:
    Sunroof Leather Seats CD Player Anti-Lock Brakes Driver Airbag Passenger Airbag Side Airbags Air Conditioning
    Cruise Control Power Locks Power Windows Power Seats
    Here are the pics of the car:
    http://s1122.photobucket.com/albums/l531/20011accord/
    (if the above link does not work copy and paste it into a new web browser window)

    As I know that my current situation is pretty special I want the deal closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you to be 100% protected. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and inspect it (for 10 days) eBay will release the payment to me; in this way we are both protected. Anyway i am sure that if you won`t be satisfied with the car i will surely find another buyer in your area and there will be no need for you to ship the car back.
    I am located in London,United Kingdom and I was sent here to improve the military relationships between USA and UK. One months ago, my husband moved here with me and brought the car with him, but now we have to sell it back in the United States because we can’t register it here; it has US specs and everything, and registering it here in Europe will take for ever. My final price on it is US 1,500 $. If you will take it for this price, I am willing to handle the shipping. It will be shipped from here by plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me anything. You will get it to the nearest airport in your area and then it will be trucked forward to your place. You will receive the car in about 3 days. Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction payment and shipping details from them.
    Respectfully,
    SSgt. Susan Williams
    SSgt, USAF1 SOMOS/MXOOA Maintenance Analysis DSN 579-1794 Comm 884-1794

  6. Chief said, on March 15, 2011 at 9:47 am

    Cindy, we’re glad you checked on it, too. And thanks for posting the text of the criminals’ email.

  7. Rusty O'Pry said, on October 5, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    I was about to purchase a car from a Rebecca Thompson off Craigslist. She stated she’s the original owner but recently moved. Here is some of what she wrote. I have just given her my name and address and she said ebay is about to send me the information to begin the transaction. I am SOOO glad I found this post first. Below is part of what she put in the email. I will add more of our correspondence in a following post….

    I attached more pics to my email.I would like to handle the sale using eBay for our own protection as they act as a neutral third party. eBay will keep the money until you inspect/drive the vehicle.
    This is how the eBay works:
    1. I will contact eBay and give all the info about this deal.
    2. They will email us the forms by email – about the buyer’s protection policy, delivery, and payment.
    3. You will send the payment to eBay and they will notify me to ship the vehicle to your location.The shipping will take 5 days.
    4. After you will inspect/drive the vehicle and decide to keep it, eBay will forward me the funds and the deal is done.
    You have 5 days to test it from the day you receive it. If by any chance you won’t be satisfied with it you will be fully refunded and I will have the shipping company come to pick it up and I have to pay the shipping back. If you wish to purchase it please provide me your full name, address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    Good faith has always been my top priority and my most valued business approach.
    Looking forward to hear from you!

  8. Rusty O'Pry said, on October 5, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    More information from Rebecca Thompson using email address truckmotorsdeal@gmail.com

    I have forwarded transaction details to eBay financial department and they should contact us shortly with all further instructions. Ebay will contact us with transaction details, invoice, payment instructions ,buyer’s protection policy.
    Please let me know when you receive the notification from them so I can move forward at my side.
    Regards

  9. Rusty O'Pry said, on October 5, 2011 at 6:21 pm

    More information that may help….

    I am the original owner, eveything is original, it has never been wrecked, the car is in perfect shape, it doesnt need any work.
    I would like to handle the sale using eBay for our own protection as they act as a neutral third party. eBay will keep the money until you inspect/drive the vehicle.
    This is how the eBay works:
    1. I will contact eBay and give all the info about this deal.
    2. They will email us the forms by email – about the buyer’s protection policy, delivery, and payment.
    3. You will send the payment to eBay and they will notify me to ship the vehicle to your location.The shipping will take 5 days.
    4. After you will inspect/drive the vehicle and decide to keep it, eBay will forward me the funds and the deal is done.
    You have 5 days to test it from the day you receive it. If by any chance you won’t be satisfied with it you will be fully refunded and I will have the shipping company come to pick it up and I have to pay the shipping back. If you wish to purchase it please provide me your full name, address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    Good faith has always been my top priority and my most valued business approach.
    Looking forward to hear from you!

  10. Michael said, on October 7, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    1999 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Coupe
    truckmotorsdeal@gmail.com

    Hi,

    The vehicle is well maintained, no damages or scratches. You will inspect the vehicle before the payment will be made. You will also receive all necessary documents in order to finalize the purchase. I am selling the vehicle under market value because I need to pay the mortgage. I recently moved in Glasgow, MT with my new job and I have the vehicle here with me. The shipping and insurance are included in the price because I won a promotion at uShip (1 free shipping). Email me back if you’re interested and have further questions.
    Specs: 1999 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Coupe // miles: 87,326 // 1 Owner // Clear Title // Engine: 4.0L L6 FI // 4 wheel drive // transmission: Automatic // it has a soft top // Air Conditioning // Tires & Wheels: Hankook Tires, Front Size: 35/12.5/R15, Rear Size: 35/12.5/R15 , Wheels: 15″ Premium Wheels // Ext&Int Color: Black with Green Cloth Interior // NON-Smoker // Garage Kept.

    Thank you,
    Rebecca Thompson

  11. Bob said, on November 4, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Glad I found this site! This scam is still going on, I reported to Pittsburgh Craigslist today:

    I am selling a Nissan pathfinder 2001 for $3,980. The Nissan pathfinder it’s in very good conditions and runs very good. It has new tires, June 2012 plates and it’s clean from the outside and inside.
    I am willing to take offers or work something out. If interested please call me . ONLY SERIOUS BUYERS PLEASE!

    Seller reply:
    Nissan pathfinder 2001 for $3,980
    truckmotorsdeal@gmail.com

    Hi,

    The vehicle is well maintained, no damages or scratches. You will inspect the vehicle before the payment will be made. You will also receive all necessary documents in order to finalize the purchase. I am selling the vehicle under market value because I need to pay the mortgage. I recently moved in Glasgow, MT with my new job and I have the vehicle here with me. The shipping and insurance are included in the price because I won a promotion at uShip (1 free shipping). Email me back if you’re interested and have further questions.
    Specs: 2001 Nissan Pathfinder LE // Miles: 93,675 // 1 Owner // Clear Title // Engine: 3.5L V6 SFI DOHC // Transmission: Automatic // Ext&Int Color: White with Tan // Leather Seats // Power Glass Sunroof // Garage Kept // NON-Smoker.

    Thank you,

  12. Neill Revard said, on November 26, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    I responded to a craigslist ad in Prescott. This was her reply. Sounded fishy to me. So glad to have found this site…

    2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT Z71 4X4 – $3820‏

    Hi,

    The vehicle is well maintained, no damages or scratches. You will inspect the vehicle before the payment will be made. You will also receive all necessary documents in order to finalize the purchase. I am selling the vehicle under market value because I need to pay the mortgage. I recently moved in Glasgow, MT with my new job and I have the vehicle here with me. The shipping and insurance are included in the price because I won a promotion at uShip (1 free shipping). Email me back if you’re interested and have further questions.
    Specs: 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LT Z71 4X4 // Miles: 82,570 // 1 Owner // Clear Title // 5.3L (325) SFI V8 (Vortec) engine // It is LOADED with equipment including Dual Power / Heated Front Bucket Seats with Driver’s Side Memory, Power Windows, Power Door Locks, Tilt Steering Column, Cruise Control, Locking Rear Differential, Bedliner, Chrome Nerf Bars, Chrome Brush Guard, Sony AM/FM CD Player, and much, much more // The truck runs, shifts, and drives excellent // Garage Kept // NON-Smoker.

    Thank you,

  13. none said, on December 1, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Here is another one that “Rebecca Thompson” has posted on CRAIGSLIST:
    http://baltimore.craigslist.org/cto/2726352149.html

    She says that the deal will be thru eBay.


Comments are closed.