Scammer Database

Scam! Fake Ebay Transaction for 2004 Coachmen LIBERTY EDITION MIRA

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on September 17, 2010

This is an email I received after a series of emails with James Connolly <james.connoly30@gmail.com> in conjunction with my proposed purchase of a motor home.

From: eBay Motors Cars&Trucks <ebay@online-transaction.org>
Date: Fri, Sep 17, 2010

Dear Victim,

Please read the attached invoice. As agreed in the transaction terms, the payment has to be handled with Western Union WireTransfer (option Money in Minutes).
Here are the simple steps you need to follow in order to complete the payment: 1. Locate a Western Union Office.
2. The transfer is paid with cash, so have cash available and a form of ID. 3. The transfer is meant to be collected by the Agent as an individual, therefore no Company Code is needed, just the Escrow Agent specific details.
Here are his details again:

Name : Peter D Brown
Address: 1829 W Evergreen Ave, Chicago, IL 60622-1924
United States

*After the payment has been handled, fax us the payment receipt to the following fax number: +1 (786) 533-3927 or
*Send us the details via email exactly as stated in the Western Union payment receipt ( MTCN – 10 digits control number, Senders details, Receivers details, Total Amount Sent).

Bellow you can find locations of Western Union Offices, near your home address provided:

1) Store near the victim

2) Store near the victim

Thank you,
eBay Motors Financial Department
Vehicle Purchase Protection Program

An invoice was attached in PDF form, the first page of which is below. Click the image to enlarge.

Tagged with:

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bob speas said, on September 19, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Thank you for your report. I was ready to wire money tomorrow when I noticed I was to wire it to the same “Mr. Brown.” My scenario was the same: a series of emails after I asked for info on Craig’s List. then the idential invoice arrived. After looking at the pictures it really sounded too good to be true and as usual it is.

  2. Chief said, on September 19, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    We’re glad you found us, Bob. Now, I ask you to educate your friends and family on the tactics of these criminals.

    — Chief

  3. Len said, on September 23, 2010 at 9:21 am

    I did a scam search by typing in the E-mail address and another using the sales subject line. I found the scam hit.

    FW: 2004 John Deere 4300 Hydro 4×4 Loader Backhoe

    —–Original Message—–
    From: judy antona [mailto:antonaj@gmx.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, September 21, 2010 7:16 PM
    To:
    Subject: RE: 2004 John Deere 4300 Hydro 4×4 Loader Backhoe

    Before I left the city I had prearranged the deal with eBay Motors so my presence in town isn’t necessary. The tractor is in their possession in New York, NY ready for delivery. You will have 5 days to test drive and inspect the tractor. So if you want to make this deal I need the following information:

    Your full name and address
    Shipping address (street, city, zip code) Phone #

    Then I will forward them to eBay Motors and I will start the process. eBay will contact you with all the details you need to complete this deal and also to see that I am covered by them and that I am a legit seller.

    Here is how this deal will work:
    1. I will forward the details of our transaction to the eBay Buyer Protection.
    2. They will process the paperwork and will email you the Payment Invoice and the transaction details.
    3. You will have to submit a deposit payment of $2,700 so you can prove that you are a serious buyer, as instructed to one of the eBay agents.
    4. The payment will be verified and if everything is OK, eBay will deliver the vehicle to your address on my own cost. The vehicle will be shipped insured to your location with Dependable Auto Shippers.
    5. After you receive it, you will have 5 days to inspect and test drive the vehicle (you will receive the tractor and title within 2 days right at your address).
    6. If you accept the tractor by confirming to eBay, they will release me the money (if not you will receive the full refund of the amount sent before shipping). They will then FedEx overnight the signed title to you and all the tractor documents that you need to register it under your name. If you decide to NOT accept the tractor for any reason, they will refund your full payment price within 48 hours.

    ================================================================================================================================================

    —–Original Message—–
    From: judy antona [mailto:antonaj@gmx.com]
    Sent: Wednesday, September 22, 2010 11:30 AM
    To:
    Subject: Re: FW: 2004 John Deere 4300 Hydro 4×4 Loader Backhoe

    I forgot to tell you that the tractor comes with loader, backhoe, bush hog, box blade, trailer and a clear transferable title. You will only pay the deposit payment price $2,700, nothing more. I received your information and I will now send them to eBay. They should contact you soon. I will take care of shipping and I will start the shipping as soon as you make the payment. If the tractor doesn’t meet your expectation after the 5 days trial, you can refuse it and I will ship it back on my own cost. The tractor is insured during transportation. You will receive once with the tractor all the papers you need to register it under your name.

    Please check your email inbox or junk/spam folder; they will email you the invoice asap.

  4. Chief said, on September 23, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Len, thanks for posting. Once you receive a fake invoice, feel free to report the entire sequence to http://ic3.gov. We can win this battle against criminals.

    Seriously, did she send this to your work email address?

    🙂 — Chief

  5. Sheryl Davis said, on September 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I just e-mailed James Connelly telling him it sounded too good to be true and asked why the price was so low. My next step was to find fmv on a comparable and I found you as well. Thanks – they never would have gotten cash from me, but you certainly saved me some time and high hopes

  6. Chief said, on September 24, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Thanks for posting, Sheryl. Theses guys earn a living off bargains seekers. It bears repeating, “If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is!” Be sure to tell all your friends and family how these guys work the scam. Browse the site and see all the cars, trucks, tractors, and yes, even stoves the criminals use to extract money from our wallets. — Chief

  7. Another said, on September 26, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    He’s got it posted on craigslist all over. Crazy.

  8. Chief said, on September 27, 2010 at 7:07 am

    Yep, Craigslist has no control of its postings and exhibits very poor response to reports of abuse of it service. — Chief

  9. Yvonne Kirk said, on February 17, 2011 at 9:10 am

    I contacted by email and a Debi Krance emailed me back this:

    Hello Mr. & Mrs.
    I just contacted eBay with your details and soon they will send you the invoice for payment and some instructions.All you have to do is to follow your invoice.When you receive the invoice please send me an email.

    You will receive with the rv all the papers and documents that you need so you will not have any problem when you receive the rv to register in your name.I will ship my rv from Las Vegas.Shipping will take between 1 and 4 days.The 10 days inspection period starts from the day when you receive the rv.

    Like i told the total price for my rv is USD $11,555 including shipping and handling so all you have to do is to confirm to eBay just the price USD $11,555 using bank wire transfer.When eBay announces me the funds are in the system i will start the ship to your address.
    You have ten days to test my rv and after the inspection period if you don’t want to keep my rv then you will be refunded by eBay and i will pay the shipping back to my address(i’m sure that you will be satisfied and will not be the case for refund).

    I received two emails from what claimed to be from eBay. I though this was a little unusual and located you scam alert. Then I called eBay, because the logo looked exactly like those used by ebay, and was told it was indeed a scam! Thanks for your scam alert.

  10. John said, on March 12, 2011 at 7:25 am

    debi.krance sent me a bogus reply on this bogus RV listing from this website:

    http://usedmotorhome.com/Public_Details.asp?type=Class+C&id=14557

    Tip off: WAY under book value.
    Then the reply to my inquiry read like one of those bogus lottery emails.

    The same person probably has scam listings under other email addresses as well.

  11. Chief said, on March 15, 2011 at 9:33 am

    John, thanks for dropping by and leaving the data on the scammer.

  12. Garth Cooke said, on March 18, 2011 at 11:31 am

    I am glad I found your web site I also was contacted by debi krance after inquiring about a 2005 sea ray boat she had for sale way below book value. I was sent a invoice claimimng to be from ebay requesting payment thru western union, as i researched I read over and over that ebay does not recomend western union transactions. I also recieved a email about the boat almost worded exactly like the one for the rv. thanks again for the heads up.


Comments are closed.