Scammer Database

A Twist on the RV scam – use of droponlineoutpost.com

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on September 10, 2010

Alex with the 1999 Itasca is offering me yet another fake escrow service,  droponlineoutpost.com,  to conduct our secure transaction. His email:

From: <sertxn-pu7@yahoo.com>
Date: Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at
Subject: 1999 Itasca
To:  me

I am alex.As i have told you, if you are not located near Lincoln, NE the shipping will be supported by me. I will use Drop Online Outpost ( www.droponlineoutpost.com ). They are the best selling service on craigslist and ebay, you simply drop an item to one of their stores or have them pick it up from your home, you find a buyer and they’ll take it from there. Right now the motorhome is in their custody, inspected by them and ready to go. The best thing about this is they will cover the shipping and insurance fees, the shop charge me a commission of course as nothing is free in this world -). OK so here’s a short description of how they work: To start this transaction, first we have to agree to all the transaction terms and the price. Then you must register on their website, they will receive your name, shipping address and the rest of the information asked on the regurgitation form . Short time after that you will receive an invoice with the transaction details and payment instructions. You must pay by following their instructions and send the puppies to them ( The payment will be forwarded to me only after you receive the motorhome and confirm that you accept it ).
The shop receive and hold the payment and then will start the shipping process. Drop Online Outpost will do all the shipping preparations and make this experience completely uneducated for you (Estimated delivery time 3-5 days). The transport will be door to door and fully insured for all destinations.
As soon as you received the motorhome , you will have 10 days return policy.That means you will have 10 working days to test the condition of the motorhome, In case it won’t meet your conditions you have the right to return it back without paying any taxes and your money will be refunded to you.
After you agree with the motorhome ,you’ll need to give them the OK answer so they can release me the money to my Bank Account.
You can find more information about how they work on their website ( www.droponlineoutpost.com ).
The registration is free and you won’t be asked for details you might feel uncomfortable. Let me know if you agree and if you have any other symptoms.. Oh, if you decide to proceed with the registration and all please let me know so i note you like an buyer.  If you don’t like to use Drop Online Outpost you are welcome to come and pick it up anytime.  I can come with you at the drop online outpost store, from Lincoln, NE where the motorhome is and help you with the inspection.

I trust Alex about as far as I could throw a cookstove.  Droponlineoutpost.com resolves to http://droponlineoutpost.web.officelive.com/ws/default.aspx — a terribly-written website.  If Drop Online Outpost is legit,  they deserve to go out of business. Scammer has also begun to use www.drop-online-outpost.com which resolves to http://drop-online-outpost.web.officelive.com/ws/default.aspx

Tagged with:

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. brandon said, on September 14, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I also got an email, from another email (francis9w0-w10@yahoo.com) that was Identical. I did a WHOIS lookup on the website droponlineoutpost, and it was just registered less than a month ago. no way this is legit. The logos for ebay and craigslist don’t even go anywhere, totally fake.

  2. Kerry said, on September 14, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Same deal for an ad posted on multiple Craigslist sites this week for a ’99 Scamp 17 at a “too-good-to-be-true” price. When I inquired about it (listed in my city) was told it was “available for inspection” in Lincoln, Nebraska, and when I still seemed interested the “seller” sent me the EXACT text reproduced here with the long-winded justification for the fake escrow/shipper. I wrote back and told him it turns out my retired state cop cousin in Des Moines lives near enough to come and see it tomorrow and pay cash for it if they will just send us a name, phone number and location. Bet I either don’t hear back from them or they say “Oh, gee, we just sold it – sorry”….

    Good thing nearly all such scammers are too stupid to write different texts for their repeat attempts. I’ve found if I just “copy – paste” part of the text of such responses into Google it always links to identical prior scans.

    Caveat emptor.

  3. Chief said, on September 14, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    Kerry, thanks for dropping by. I don’t know if the criminals are too stupid. It appears that the income they enjoy off the standard scripts is satisfactory to them. I’ve been watching these scripts for three years now and only slight variation has been encountered.

    – Chief

  4. Dave said, on September 15, 2010 at 9:19 am

    I am currently in contact with the same scammer for the 99 Scamp. Glad I researched the background on DropOnLine Outpost and saw your posting. Should be a way to stop these scammers!!

    I would like to use my current contact with them to catch the individuals involved.

  5. Chief said, on September 15, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Dave, I do not want to discourage you, but catching these guys requires one to navigate quite a labyrinth. Typically, these guys are in Eastern Europe. Their domains of fake ebay sites are registered and hosted with fake names and addresses. Look through some of my postings to see the convoluted paths one must take to research these guys. If you’re tenacious enough, I say go for it! Otherwise, report it to http://ic3.gov and load the government’s case against these guys.

    I like to chase the guys, too, but have lately focused primarily upon warning the public.

    — Chief

  6. Tom said, on September 15, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    I got the EXACT same email from my “seller” for. 2010 Harley Night Rod Special listed at $8000. I was suspicious because the price was so low, but got really scared when the seller wouldn’t give out their phone number to coordinate shipping, etc.

    What really put me over the edge is when they refused to allow a local friend to stop by and inspect the bike.

    Maybe that’s a new biz opp: a service that will send someone out to inspect a car/bike/trailer or other item to validate it exists and the seller is real. Hmmm…

  7. Chief said, on September 15, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Good thought, Tom. However, 99% of these type offers are fraudulent … there is nothing to inspect. If the deal includes free shipping, it is 100% guaranteed to be a scam. Nobody pays freight on under-priced vehicles.

    — Chief

  8. Brenda said, on March 15, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    http://www.onlinetradepoint.com is virtually identical to droponlineoutpost. Scammers just came up with a new logo and changed the name! Stay away from both.


Comments are closed.