Scammer Database

Scammer Alvin Adams tries to sell me a 1995 Jayco 230 Eagle SL

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on August 17, 2010

After I responded to a scammer’s ad for a camper trailer, I received this reply:

From: alvin l adams <alvinadamsl@msn.com>
Date: today
Subject: Camper for sale
To: me

Hi,
I am selling this 1995 Jayco 230 Eagle SL travel trailer because my platoon has been
sent back to united kingdom and don’t want it get old in my backyard.
The price is low because I need to sell it before 28 aug 2010. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects.
It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any
accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.
storage trunk on front, aluminum cage construction,
Norcold Fridge, awning, air, furnace, 2 doors, private
bedroom, sleeps 4
clean, excellent condition, light weight
Length/Width: 23′ x 8′ 2″
Axles: 2
Weight: 3790
It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $2700 (all taxes included).
The trailer is in Great Falls, MT – at my base and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.
Let me know if you are interested, email back.
More pictures here:
http://s908.photobucket.com/albums/ac288/1995Jayco230EagleSL2/
(if the link dont work try to copy paste it in your browser address bar)

No one ships trailers free. 100% scam!!

Tagged with:

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nathan said, on September 3, 2010 at 12:36 am

    He has moved his add to craigslist now so beware. Here is the email reply he sent to me on 9/02/10:

    Hi,

    I am selling this awesome trailer 1995 Jayco 230 Eagle SL – $2700 travel trailer because my platoon has been
    sent back to united kingdom and don’t want it get old in my backyard.
    The price is low because I need to sell it before 10 sept 2010. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects.
    It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any
    accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.
    storage trunk on front, aluminum cage construction,
    Norcold Fridge, awning, air, furnace, 2 doors, private
    bedroom, sleeps 4
    clean, excellent condition, light weight
    Length/Width: 23′ x 8′ 2″
    Axles: 2
    Weight: 3790

    It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $2700 (all taxes included).
    The trailer is in Great Falls, MT – at my base and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.
    Let me know if you are interested, email back.

    More pictures here:
    http://s1041.photobucket.com/albums/b411/gogosajayco/
    (if the link dont work try to copy paste it in your browser address bar)

  2. Chief said, on September 3, 2010 at 5:36 am

    Nathan, I appreciate your posting the text of the criminal’s email. The search engines will pick it up and help another future potential victim. — Chief

  3. Matt said, on September 9, 2010 at 7:24 am

    We also inquired about he camper and received the exact same email back except that it has to be sold now by Sept. 15. Glad we found this site to know it is a scam.

  4. Chief said, on September 9, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Matt, we’re glad we helped. Of course, your intuition told you that something was amiss, so give yourself some credit for that “gut” feel that made you do a search on the scam. Good luck finding an RV. — Chief

  5. Kathy said, on November 4, 2010 at 9:37 am

    He is Alvin Colvis now….

  6. Marilyn said, on December 1, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    He’s still at it. We got the same email after inquiry. This time he didn’t give a name. The email goes by Tocoma ABC now. My gut told me it was a deal too good to be true, my husband’s research proved it. Shame Shame Shame on him for using the military angle to get responses.

  7. Robert said, on February 23, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    I got the same offer for a 1995 Jayco SL230 on Craigslist / Richmond VA. The response to my e-mail was the same – he is a special military unit in Billings MT and cannot make or receive phone calls. They are being sent to the UK and he must sell by 03/03. He wants my address so I can be invoiced by E-bay Buyers Protection.
    I notified Craigslist of the scam.

    He has a new name : Gary Diego; e-mail tacoma1999abc@msn.com

  8. ben said, on March 11, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    similar ad now appearing on las vegas craigslist……..march 2011

  9. Lee said, on May 25, 2011 at 4:42 am

    He posted it on Craigslist (Charleston SC) on 5/24/2011. Someone posted a warning ad shortly afterwards and it has been removed. Glad I found this site, there have been a few other scams I have come across while looking at campers on CraigsList, if I still have the e-mail replies from these other scumbags, i will post them on here.

  10. mike said, on June 7, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    It’s on craigs listl ocala,fl now. I emailed before seeing this warning. No reply yet. Would love to catch this scum. Many thanks.

  11. brett said, on June 21, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    he is Robert now and is posting it in New Orleans.

    http://neworleans.craigslist.org/rvs/2454016756.html

  12. Jason said, on July 19, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    I have also been looking for a travel trailer for the last few weeks. This is what I can share.

    How to spot a scam? Its easy they are always way too good to be TRUE!!! And the phone # is disconnected, busy or goes to fax, Email address is listed separate in the ad otherwise you could just use the email button in the ad.Keep it safe and honest don’t be fooled if you can’t go somewhere and touch it, ITS A SCAM.

    I have been looking in the classifieds on KSL.com. One of the seller’s is currently going by jenn and the email is jennygbs10@gmail.com . I ran across this site while doing some searches about the trailer for sale. What a GREAT IDEA! Hopefully many people will not become victims because of sites like this.

  13. Chief said, on July 19, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Jason, thanks for your tips and kind words.

    — Chief


Comments are closed.