Scammer Database

How to know it is a scam; tip #43

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on July 23, 2010

If the scammer ignores your question on a specific item on the item for sale, and then responds with more standard jibberish, it is a scam. Example:

I asked dustin pratt <dustinpratt@msn.com>,

Dustin I appreciate your writing back.

Please tell me the make and model of the generator. It sounds like a
good deal. What color is the awning?

and the scammer replied,

Here is how it works if you have never used eBay vehicle purchase protection program.
You send me your full name and your shipping address so I can initiate the transaction on eBay
.eBay contacts you with further details regarding the payment and shipping process.You submit the payment to eBay
, eBay confirms the payment and asks me to release the shipment.I ship the camper which should be at your door within the next 5 business days
.You have a 3 days inspection period before you confirm the deal and eBay forwards the payment to me or you cancel the deal and you get your money back and return the camper free of charge.
Basicaly ebay holds your money safe until you confirm that the camper is what you have expected and you want to buy it.
On the other hand I can ship the camper nowing ebay has your money and you wont dissapear with my camper. We are both covered.Sorry for the long emails I have tried to touch all bases.
Thank you,
Dustin

So be clear; the scammer is using a script. He may not even speak English.

end tip #43

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. alan said, on September 26, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    I’ve run into this thing right now. I don’t trust it. I want the thing shipped C.O.D. I will give up the three day trial. I want to see what I’m buying. Otherwise I will go pick up the item up myself. Let me know your opinion. Thank You

  2. Chief said, on September 27, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Alan, your gut feel is correct. The criminal will not ship COD because he has no vehicle to sale. Ebay VPP does not offer the services depicted by the criminal. Run from this deal. And good luck finding the vehicle you need. — Chief


Comments are closed.