Scammer Database

Craigslist Scammer: 2003 Ford F-250

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on July 19, 2010

I am working two deals with “Anthony”. Here is an email on the Ford F-250:

From: Anthony Reda anthony90201@hotmail.com
Date:
Subject: RE: 2003 Ford F-250
To:

Hello,

The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no domestic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all preamble and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tyres in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are disgusting and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 75,000 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1FTNW21P93EC31143.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before July 30 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

The pics speak for themselves,you can see here:
http://s811.photobucket.com/albums/zz34/2003FordF-2504X4Lifted/

Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

Thanks,

Anthony Reda

Tagged with:

40 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rellikmacs said, on July 19, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    I am also in the process of burning this scammer! I posted his info to “Fight the Scams” and when looking for more info found this site. With more and more people reporting and posting these scammers hopefully there will be less and less of them!

    Keep up the good work Chief!

    Rellikmacs = Scamkiller

  2. Chief said, on July 19, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Glad to meetya, Relli! I claim no monopoly on baiting these guys, nor the techniques. I learned from the pro’s on the forums and launched this blog simply as a warning mechanism. Site-killing is a sport I run hot and cold on … currently rather warm.

    Welcome, and I’ll spot you a link. 😉

  3. cornfield coyote said, on July 23, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    Spotted this “to good to be true” posting for a 2001 Toyota Tacoma for $5000 on Craigslist. I googled the email address listed on C.L. and whammo, this page came up with the same reason (heading to Afghanistan and need to sell urgently)…see below:

    RE: toyota tacoma‏
    From: Anthony Reda (anthony90201@msn.com)
    Sent: Fri 7/23/10 5:02 PM
    To:
    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 71,000 miles, year 2001 and VIN#5TEWN72N81Z844365.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before Aug 03 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s870.photobucket.com/albums/ab270/2001ToyotaTacomaTRD/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Anthony Reda

    this guy (or people) think they are good, and they almost are good at this, but hopefully people can spread the word about this new tactic of scam…

    thanks for the site…!!

  4. Chief said, on July 23, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    CC, glad you found the site. Unfortunately, this scheme is not new, nor is it subsiding. I hear from victims on a daily basis.

    You are correct that spreading the word is a key deterrent … these guys prey on the honest in our society.

    — Chief

  5. AAIOU1 said, on July 27, 2010 at 7:53 am

    SENT THIS SCAMMER AN EMAIL….GUESS WHAT I GOT BACK..SAME EMAIL EVERYBODY GETS BACK….HE OR THEY WOULD EVEN TAKE CARE OF THE SHIPPING…SO I WILL PLAY ALONG AND SEND HIM AN EMAIL TO SHIP THE TRUCK HERE IN CHEYENNE AND THEN I WILL PAY HIM….I HAVE HAD MY SHARE OF SCAMMERS EVERY TIME I POST SOMETHING ON CRAIGSLIST…

    AAIOU1

  6. Chief said, on July 27, 2010 at 8:29 am

    I agree with your assessment that Craigslist is loaded with scammers.

    One of the most satisfying portions of this volunteer work is killing the domains of the scammers’ fake Ebay web domains. I’d love to show you how if you are interested. Send a copy of the “Ebay” email to me at q2fred at gmail dot com — with headers if you can.

    Thanks for posting.

    – Chief

  7. CajunMonkey said, on July 29, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    Thank you all for posting this… I contacted this cat and his responses were the same as yours.

  8. Chief said, on July 29, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Mr. T, thanks for you comment. We’re glad you had the moxie to research this guy and find our page. Be sure to tell your friends and family how these scams work. We want no one else to be burned by these criminals. — Chief , former resident of Sulphur 😉

  9. carter said, on August 12, 2010 at 9:37 am

    wow i almost bought this

  10. Chief said, on August 12, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Carter, we’re glad you found us. Be sure to tell all your friends and family about these scammers. We want no one else to be burned by them.

    — Chief

  11. Zack said, on August 24, 2010 at 12:55 am

    I saw the Chevy 2500 on sale on CL and i knew that it was to good to be true. If it wasent for the this web site I might have gone on with it. But i have a question. What would have happen if I did complete the deal? IF he would have gotten the money how would he have gotten away with not shipping the truck? And if thet is illegal why is there not cops that check this stuff out?

  12. Chief said, on August 24, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Zack,

    I am glad you found our website and kept your hard-earned cash. Click around the website and you’ll see hundreds of examples; the details vary, but the end would be the same. Buyer loses his cash. Seller never had a vehicle for sale anyway.

    Here is an example scheme: https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/anatomy-of-an-ebay-spoof-site/ that should answer your question of:
    What would have happen if I did complete the deal?

    IF he would have gotten the money how would he have gotten away with not shipping the truck?
    1 – he has no truck
    2 – Ebay does not perform the service he proposes. Everything is fake. Emails, websites, graphics are all forgeries. See http://pages.ebay.com/ebaymotors/buy/security/index.html


    And if thet is illegal why is there not cops that check this stuff out?

    Cops don’t spend much energy on the “trivial” amounts of money in question here. To complicate the issue, the criminal is probably in Eastern Europe — most likely Romania. Every once in a while, the authorities make some arrests, https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/bad-news-for-scammers-good-news-for-buyers/ but it does not happen frequently enough.

  13. Holly said, on August 26, 2010 at 12:37 am

    WOW! I am soooooooo glad I found this. I was on the verge of buying a truck from him also! crazy! I knew the price for that truck was too good to be true. Thanks guys for saving me a lot of money!

  14. Chief said, on August 26, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Holly, give yourself credit for having the intuition to check this guy our prior to sending him money. Good luck finding a real vehicle. — Chief

  15. Holly said, on August 26, 2010 at 8:47 am

    yeah I got the same second email from him that everyone else did:

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The truck is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the truck along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the truck on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!

    ….I have a brother in the military. lol He cant fool me on that kind of stuff!!!

  16. Clint said, on September 28, 2010 at 7:25 am

    Ok so got the same deal going on right now….Gal freshly divorced wanting to sell ex’s truck for a “to good to be true” price. Uses the same line, ship to you at no cost 5 day trial bla bla bla. How do you stop these people?? Plus i looked on line to try and track this email and nothing came up. Hell this person even gave me a vin number and it checked out!!

  17. Chief said, on September 28, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Clint, the vehicle checks out because it is a real vehicle. The criminal, however, does not own the vehicle. He likely stole the info from another classified ad.

    How do we stop them? I encourage you to bring this up with your boss; this scum is using this mode of operation to conduct hundreds of crimes each day. Ask him to pass it up the chain. Of course, I ask you to report the attempted fraud to http://ic3.gov, but the feedback from that site is nil.

    — Chief

  18. Southern Belle said, on October 14, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    I got the same darn scammer! Here is my email from him.

    “Travis Chapman” <chapman1924@hotmail.com

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 71,000 miles, year 2001 and VIN#5TEWN72N81Z844365.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before October 20 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don't want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1086.photobucket.com/albums/j452/new2001ToyotaTacomaTRD/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Travis Chapman

  19. Chief said, on October 14, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Belle, yep! If it seems too good to be true …….

    — Chief

  20. Frank said, on November 16, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    These guys are freaking pukes, trying to play a sympathy card and posing as a defender of our nation. There is a special place in hell for these A Holes!

  21. Bostic said, on February 21, 2011 at 5:16 am

    I came really close to buying the 2003 Ford F250 VIN#1FTNW21P93EC31143, http://s1104.photobucket.com/albums/h333/2003FordF250Lift/ .and i found this site thank you..I asked him for a phone no# and shipping yard name. He wrote “I have a friend there who keep the truck for me until I sell it… http://www.DASautoshippers.com. This is the email is using,Matthew Myers How or what do I say or not on this next email?

  22. Bostic said, on February 21, 2011 at 5:19 am

    This was the 1st email I got when asking about the truck:

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 75,000 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1FTNW21P93EC31143.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $2,950 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before February 28 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1104.photobucket.com/albums/h333/2003FordF250Lift/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Matthew Myers

  23. Chief said, on February 21, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Bostic,

    If this criminal has any of your real information, just tell him you changed your mind and he will go away. If you are asking how to “play” with this scammer to waste his time and to see how the fraudulent process works, drop me an email at horzluber[at]gmail.com and I’ll discuss with you how to do so safely.

    Chief

  24. tom oneill said, on March 7, 2011 at 10:21 am

    I found a similar craig list sale for a Honda Goldwing. Same story except he is using a different name, Matthew Myers, same city and same reasons for selling

    Up for sale is a perfect 2002 pearl orange Honda Goldwing with 21,780 miles on it,new tires, runs and drives excellent. This bike has been extremely well maintained with a full service history and has never been laid down.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The bike is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $2950 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this bike before March 15 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc465/Goldwing2002org/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The bike is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the bike along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the bike on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Matthew Myers

  25. fred reed said, on March 15, 2011 at 7:53 am

    Looks like Matthew Myers is still up to his trickery. I received same responses as tom oneill did about the 2002 Honda Goldwing. I’m sure glad I checked here first. His ad seems so convincing that I almost fell for it. BUYER BEWARE! Thanks y’all for saving me. His ad appeared on South Florida Craigslist.
    Fred

  26. Gavin said, on March 22, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Just got the same email from Matthew Meyers. Dude is still going. Thank you so much for putting this up and for saving me a ton of cash I dont really have.

  27. Joe S said, on April 29, 2011 at 11:12 am

    Matthew Myers still going as of 4/29/11.

    I am trying to arrange to pick it up in Great Falls on Monday. (-;

  28. Chad said, on May 1, 2011 at 4:31 pm

    Similar post from Matthew Myers:

    Matthew Myers to me

    Hello,

    The general condition of this car is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car has 38,154 miles, year 2006 and VIN#JTDKB20UX63165014.The car is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $4500 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this car before May 10 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s957.photobucket.com/albums/ae53/2006ToyotaPrius_pix/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Matthew Myers

  29. Ted said, on May 2, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Thanks for your website, and heads up. I am currently emailing back and forth with this person about a tractor, (well until now, that I found this website) I am debating on what to do next.
    Just wanted to say thanks for what you are doing and I also posted a copy of my emails so other people who get the same email might be able to do a search and find it here.

    Take care!

    Hi,

    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The tractor is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the tractor along with all the documents including , bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Buyer Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the tractor on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!
    Matthew Myers

    Date: Mon, 2 May 2011 07:11:01 -0700
    From: —————-@yahoo.com
    Subject: Re: 2007 Kubota L3400HST
    To: matthew90211@msn.com

    Matt,

    Thanks for contacting me back, I found your listing on Craig’s list for Zanesville Ohio. You said the tractor is in Montana. I know you said you would take shipping, but that is a little far from me. I am in Cambridge, Ohio. I don’t know if you meant shipping for that far. I was wanting to buy it up until I saw the location.

    Thanks

    {—}

    From: Matthew Myers
    To: t—————@yahoo.com
    Sent: Monday, May 2, 2011 9:49 AM
    Subject: RE: 2007 Kubota L3400HST

    Hello,

    Thank you for your interest in my 2007 Kubota L3400HST.I know that there are numerous offers on the web and I’m glad that you choose to contact me regarding your willingness to purchase.The tractor is in perfect condition, very well maintained,no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome.The tractor has 180 HRS,year 2007,HP 34,4WD. The tractor is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $4,300 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this tractor before May 10 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s999.photobucket.com/albums/af111/2007KubotaL3400HST/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Matthew

  30. Amanda said, on May 5, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    He is still trying to SCAM people! BEWARE!!

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 49,439 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1GCHK29G43E308322.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before May 15 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s954.photobucket.com/albums/ae28/new2003ChevroletSilverado/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Matthew Myers

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The truck is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the truck along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Buyer Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the truck on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Matthew Myers

    If you are interested in finding more details about the whole process please send me your full name and shipping address so I can open a case with ebay.As soon as I have your details I will ask ebay to contact you and let you know what you have to do regarding this deal.

    Regards!!!
    Matthew Myers

  31. C. Allison said, on May 10, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Here’s one of his listings on craigslist. Here are the two that I got. He didn’t answer specific questions and I thought that was strange. I also did a cheap car information using the VIN number and it said the mileage was off of what he told me. It also said the car was in New Jersey, not Montana.

    Email: Matthew90211@hotmail.com
    Name: Matthew Myers

    Hello,

    The general condition of this car is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car has only 3,717 miles, year 2008 and VIN#WMEEK31X78K150928.The car is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $2500 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this car before May 20 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1184.photobucket.com/albums/z337/2008SMART42/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Matthew Myers
    _________

    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The car is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the car along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Buyer Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the car on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Matthew Myers

  32. kje stinde said, on May 19, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Hi,

    The truck is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap. It has an automatic transmission and comes with a clean title.There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $5000 (shipping and title transfer fees included).It’s a non smoker truck with zero mechanical/electrical problems no damages or accidents.The interior is in great condition with no rips or tears.Never been involved in any type of accident.I have all manuals, books, both keys, and key fobs.The truck has 85,000 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1FTNW21P93EC31143.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($5000) because I need to sell it fast before May 30.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.
    Thank you,
    Matthew Myers

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Libya.This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The truck is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The Shipping and all taxes have been payed (the loan of my previous buyer didn’t get approved) so there won’t be any additional shipping costs.You will receive the truck along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Buyer Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the truck on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Matthew Myers

    I have informed ebay about our transaction and you should receive all the details regarding payment and shipping within 2 hours. Please reply as soon as you receive the email from ebay.

    Best regards,

    Matthew Myers

  33. Adele said, on May 23, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    He currently has a Kawasaki Mule for sale Craig’s List/Boulder, CO
    Transcript from emails:

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Libya.. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The atv is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The Shipping and all taxes have been payed (the loan of my previous buyer didn’t get approved) so there won’t be any additional shipping costs.You will receive the atv along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Buyer Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the atv on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Matthew Myers

    ——————————————————————————–
    From: la____@_______.com
    To: matthew90211@hotmail.com
    Subject: RE: Mule on Craig’s List
    Date: Mon, 23 May 2011 10:41:56 -0600

    Hi Matthew,
    We would be very interested in looking at it. Is there a time this week, other than Wednesday, that would work for us to come up and see it?
    Thanks for your time,
    Adele

    ——————————————————————————–
    From: Matthew Myers [mailto:matthew90211@hotmail.com]
    Sent: Monday, May 23, 2011 10:01 AM
    To: la_____@______.com
    Subject: RE: Mule on Craig’s List

    Hi,
    The atv is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap.There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $3500 (shipping and papers transfer fees included).I have all manuals, books, keys.The atv has 31 hours, year 2005 and VIN# JK1AFCE175B541493.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($3500) because I need to sell it fast before May 30.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.

    Here you can see more pictures : http://s928.photobucket.com/albums/ad130/Kawasaki30104x4/

    Thank you,
    Matthew Myers

  34. Michelle Putz said, on May 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Wow…what I find most impressive is that he keeps using the same name and, even better, the same VIN #! You’d think he/she/they’d be smarter than that. Yeahh – he’s trying to sell a 2006 Toyota Prius in Juneau, Alaska…little does he know that I have friends in Juneau, Alaska who would gladly go and test drive a vehicle for me and get it on the ferry for me. What you want to bet I don’t hear from him again!

    Here’s his latest email:

    Hi,

    The car is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap. It has an automatic transmission and comes with a clean title. There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $4500 (shipping and title transfer fees included).It’s a non smoker car with zero mechanical/electrical problems no damages or accidents.The interior is in great condition with no rips or tears.Never been involved in any type of accident.I have all manuals, books, both keys, and key fobs.The car has 38,154 miles, year 2006 and VIN#JTDKB20UX63165014.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($4500) because I need to sell it fast before May 30.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.

    Here you can see more pictures : http://s957.photobucket.com/albums/ae53/2006ToyotaPrius_pix/

    Thank you,
    Matthew Myers

  35. Chief said, on May 24, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Michelle,

    The criminal is still milking the cow as long as he can. If I were a telemarketer and my existing script were still raking in loads of cash, why go to the trouble to replace it? Said scammer is relying on finding those potential buyers who have not heard of this type fraud. Our job is to educate the public.

    Thanks for your contribution.

    — Chief

  36. Chief said, on May 24, 2011 at 8:42 am

    and please send that entire email (with headers) to abuse[at]photobucket.com. Photobucket does not tolerate criminal use of its resources. They’ll kill that album.

    — Chief

  37. Alisa said, on June 5, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    …here’s mine:

    Hi,

    The car is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap. It has an automatic transmission and comes with a clean title. There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $2500 (shipping and title transfer fees included).It’s a non smoker car with zero mechanical/electrical problems no damages or accidents.The interior is in great condition with no rips or tears.Never been involved in any type of accident.I have all manuals, books, both keys, and key fobs.The car has 3,717 miles, year 2008 and VIN#WMEEK31X78K150928.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($2500) because I need to sell it fast before June 15.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.

    Here you can see more pictures : http://s1184.photobucket.com/albums/z337/2008SMART42/

    Thank you,
    Matthew Myers

  38. bryce said, on June 7, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    He’s even got a boat in Waco for sell. I had to see what this is all about because I am selling a very similar mastercraft for about 12,000 more than he was. This is my email I received.

    Hi,

    The boat is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap.Boat is loaded with extras too numerous to list, photos should speak for themselves.There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $5000 (shipping and title transfer fees included).I have all manuals, books, keys.The boat has 339 hours, year 1996 and HIN# MBCUSHF8B696.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($5000) because I need to sell it fast before June 15.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.

    Here you can see more pictures : http://s1186.photobucket.com/albums/z371/MastercraftPRO1996/

    Thank you,
    Matthew Myers

  39. Horacio said, on July 7, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    I found this site like many others did, through a google search with the vin#.
    This is for a 2006 Prius at a DEAL price.
    Here are his emails:

    Hi,

    The car is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap. It has an automatic transmission and comes with a clean title. There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $4500 (shipping and title transfer fees included).It’s a non smoker car with zero mechanical/electrical problems no damages or accidents.The interior is in great condition with no rips or tears.Never been involved in any type of accident.I have all manuals, books, both keys, and key fobs.The car has 38,154 miles, year 2006 and VIN#JTDKB20UX63165014.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($4500) because I need to sell it fast before July 15.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.

    Here you can see more pictures : http://s1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc468/2006ToyotaPrius_pixs/

    Thank you,
    Matthew Myers

    Second email

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Libya. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The car is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The Shipping and all taxes have been payed (the loan of my previous buyer didn’t get approved) so there won’t be any additional shipping costs.You will receive the car along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Buyer Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the car on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Matthew Myers

  40. Horacio said, on July 8, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Today, a day after I posted the prior email, I received a very well made “Fake” Ebay introduction, the one I’m including.
    It has graphics by seems that these can’t get transferred here. Also I’m removing my personal information.

    eBay sent this message to Hxxxxxx Cxxxxxx
    This message originated from eBay was sent to the buyer and the copy to the seller to ensure a better communication between our valued members.
    It’s all yours, now you just need to pay.
    eBay Buyer Protection Case# 703508375887

    Hi Hxxxxxxx Cxxxxxxxx,
    We hope you enjoy your latest purchase. Please follow our instructions to complete the transaction safety.

    eBay member Matthew Myers, as the Seller, initiated a new transaction through eBay Purchase Protection Program and registered you, Hxxxxxxx Cxxxxxxx, as the Buyer.

    Item Description: 2006 Toyota Prius
    Sale price: $4,500.00
    Quantity: 1
    Status: Payment Pending
    Transaction Date: July 08 2011
    Insurance: Offered
    Case ID#: 703508375887
    Shipping and handling: Seller pays shipping fees

    Payment Instructions:
    Our system has paired your transaction with an available international eBay agent,who will act as a third party in this deal.This is done automatically by our system, the computer choosing at random from the list of available agents worldwide, in order to ensure the impartiality of this deal,without inappropriately advantaging neither the seller, nor the buyer.
    Next step to be taken:
    Payment must be submitted via Western Union Service to the indicated agent in Italy .In order to speed up shipping process,please use the “Money in Minutes” service.The eBay Agent will secure the payment until the Buyer receives, inspects and accepts the vehicle.Or, if it is the case, the Agent will refund the payment to the Buyer.
    Pay for the transfer with cash at a local Western Union agent. Western Union Agent locations are independent businesses that provide money transfer service to their customers on behalf of Western Union.In the United States, Western Union Agents are primarily retail locations – grocery stores, check-cashers, mail box centers, drug stores, travel agencies and depots and other retail locations.
    Independent Western Union Agents may impose different limitations on the maximum amount that can be submitted per day. For this reason, in case of a larger amount to be sent, we recommend that you go to more than one agent and submit the total sum in separate transfers.
    WesternUnion Money Transfer is the only service that has ultimate authentication of the identity of the receiver of funds.
    Several IDs and utility bills are required before the funds are paid. Therefore, no one else but our representative can pick up the money.
    Your payments cannot be lost in the mail, like money orders or checks.
    You should send the payment as soon as possible,your purchase protection being valid for only 30 days.
    The sending of payment by any other arrangements cancels this transaction and your right to get reimbursed.

    eBay Agent Informations Buyer Informations Seller Informations

    *The Western Union Transfer will be sent using this name and address.
    Alessandro Robastro
    Via Labicana 144
    00184 Rome
    Italy

    Hxxxxxxx Cxxxxxxx
    35 Sxxxx Street
    West Bxxxxx NY xxxxx
    United States

    Matthew Myers
    1807 Third Street NW
    Great Falls MT 59404
    United States

    How to make payment?

    Click below to find the nearest Western Union office: Find Agent Location

    Make the payment with cash at any Western Union office using the above eBay Agent’s details as receiver.

    Send us the following information from the Western Union receipt:
    MTCN Number
    Sender’s Name and Address
    Receiver’s Name and Address
    Amount Transferred
    We strongly recommend that you also fax the Western Union payment receipt to our Central Fax Number: (206)338-3049

    When payment is received, it will be verified and secured into a non-interest bearing trust account. Payment verification process usually takes less than three hours. After payment is secured, the Seller is authorized to ship vehicle. The seller has three business days to send the buyer and eBay the tracking number of the shipment. If no tracking number is provided, a full refund is immediately sent to the buyer.

    Once we receive the payment confirmation, the Seller will start the shipping process. We will hold the payment until you will receive and inspect the item. As soon as we will receive your confirmation we will release the payment to your Seller.

    Marketplace Safety Tip

    How does eBay Buyer Protection work?

    1. Contact the seller.
    If your item hasn’t arrived or isn’t as described, contact the seller first.Give them a chance to make things right for you.

    2.Still not resolved? Get assistance from customer service.
    Our customer support specialists are here to help. Just contact us if your item hasn’t arrived or isn’t as described to open a case. We’re available from 5:00 AM-10:00 PM Pacific Standard Time (PST), every day.

    3. We’ll work with the seller to help resolve the issue.
    We’ll contact the seller and ask them to resolve the issue. After 24 hours,we’ll ask you how it’s going with the seller.If you tell us that the problem cannot be resolved between you and the seller, and your case qualifies for and is covered by eBay Buyer Protection, eBay will refund your full purchase price plus original shipping.

    Purchase protection and refund:

    eBay hosts the dispute resolution process when buyers claim to a seller that their item was not received or the item they received is different from what was described in the listing. The on-eBay resolution process is the primary avenue for settling disputed eBay transactions and is designed to:
    Help buyers and sellers resolve disputes in fewer steps, and provide buyers with a more familiar ecommerce resolution experience.

    Offer an option to contact eBay if buyers and sellers can’t reach resolution themselves. We’ll take a more active role in ensuring transaction problems are resolved.

    *The eBay Buyer Protection Program is a subsidiary of eBay Inc. dedicated to insuring safe and honest transaction between online buyers and sellers, especially for deals involving large amounts of money. Each of our seller clients is required to open a Purchase Protection Account which is managed by eBay Buyer Protection Program.The amount of the account provides protection up to $50,000 against certain losses associated with some types of fraud.When a seller initiates a transaction with his/her corresponding buyer, eBay Buyer Protection Program checks the seller’s Purchase Protection Account and, if it’s value is equal or greater than the transaction price, automatically locks it for a period of 30 days from the day the transaction was started.

    eBay Buyer Protection Policy
    All purchases by eligible buyers that meet these conditions and do not fall within an exclusion or coverage limitation are covered by the eBay Buyer Protection Policy.This Policy is subject to all of the terms and conditions of eBay.com.

    To take advantage of the eBay Buyer Protection Policy, buyers should first contact the seller and attempt to resolve the issue. If the buyer doesn’t hear from the seller or can’t resolve the issue with the seller, they can file a case under the eBay Buyer Protection Policy.Buyers and sellers permit us to make a final decision, in our sole discretion, on any case that a buyer files with eBay under the eBay Buyer Protection Policy.

    Buyers can file a case under the eBay Buyer Protection Policy and ask a refund when all of the following are true :

    1) If the item doesn’t arrive after the payment was received;
    2) If the merchandise you receive has different specifications than the ones you agreed on;
    3) If your merchandise arrives in a much longer period than the one you agreed on (more than 15 days from the payment clearance day);
    For situations 2) and 3) you have to send back the merchandise to the seller prior to ask for your refund.

    Notice that each of the transaction has a method of payment which is selected by the eBay Buyer Protection Program, taking into account the seller’s location and background check. The selected method of payment is always the one which offers the most reliable protection against fraud. Please, be advised that if you did not pay the seller by payment method required by us, your refund request will be declined.

    Please respond by replying to this email.Your email will go directly to our Customer Support Department.

    Thank you again for your purchase !

    eBay Buyer Protection Department
    eBay Inc.

    Copyright © 1995-2011 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this Web site constitutes acceptance of the eBay User Agreement and Privacy Policy.


Comments are closed.