Scammer Database

Craigslist Scammer – 2003 Chevy truck

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on July 19, 2010

Second email from the scammer:

From: Anthony Reda anthony90201@hotmail.com
Date:
Subject: RE: Chevy truck
To:

Hello,

The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tyres in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 49,439 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1GCHK29G43E308322.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before July 30 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

The pics speak for themselves,you can see
here:http://s806.photobucket.com/albums/yy341/2003ChevroletSilverado2500LS/

Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

Thanks,

Anthony Reda

Tagged with:

51 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shell T said, on July 24, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Second email from the scammer:

    From: Anthony Reda anthony90201@hotmail.com
    Date:
    Subject: RE: Chevy truck
    To:

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tyres in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 49,439 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1GCHK29G43E308322.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before July 30 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see
    here:http://s806.photobucket.com/albums/yy341/2003ChevroletSilverado2500LS/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Anthony Reda

    Anthony is scammin again shame shame!!!!!

  2. Shell T said, on July 24, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 99,950 miles, year 2001 and VIN#1B7KF23641J250808.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before Aug 03 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s827.photobucket.com/albums/zz195/2001DodgRam2500Laramie222/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Anthony Reda

    2001 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel 4X4 how many trucks has he got lol

  3. Jeff said, on July 29, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Hello,

    The general condition of this Jeep is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The Jeep has 25,690 miles, year 2005 and VIN#1J4FA64S45P355803.The Jeep is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this Jeep before Aug 06 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s607.photobucket.com/albums/tt158/Wrangler2005/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Anthony Reda

    It looks like he is also trying to scam a 2005 Jeep (as advertised in Craigslist).

  4. Mike Houton said, on July 29, 2010 at 7:53 am

    I have been in contact with this so called Anthony Reda, supposed to be in the military going to afganastan. he is trying to sell a GMC YUKON DENALI on graigslist in Zanesville, oh. here is one of the emails he sent to me.

    On Wed, Jul 28, 2010 at 7:14 PM, Anthony Reda wrote:

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 75,798 miles, year 2003 and VIN#3GKFK16Z03G204169.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before Aug 06 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s818.photobucket.com/albums/zz101/GMCYukonXL_photos23/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Anthony Reda

    I am going to try to report him. Or her who ever it is. also be ware of a scammer named Jessica Forker. I found out she is a bad one too.
    Mike

  5. Chief said, on July 29, 2010 at 8:08 am

    Mike – thanks for commenting. The search engines pick up all the text and will help someone in the future from being defrauded.

    Anthony Reda and Jessica Forker are definitely the two hot names among scammers. Most of the search engine hits to this site yesterday were due to their activity.

    On another note, you can disrupt Anthony’s routine a bit by reporting the photobucket album. Send Anthony’s entire email (with headers) to abuse[at]photobucket.com and normally, they will kill it within 1/2 day.

    I report quite a few scammers to http://www.ic3.gov/ . I have never received any personalized response that indicates my reports are useless or that they are beneficial, but I will continue reporting until someone tells me to stop.

    — Chief

  6. coffeeatea said, on July 29, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Are you looking for coffee gifts? We can tell you more about the coffee gifts including coffee machines and coffee pods.

  7. Chief said, on July 29, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Coffee gifts? Sure, I always come to a scam-fighting site to discover new and different types of coffee to sip while I am viewing the spam that gets posted. What is a coffee pod? Is it anything like an IPOD? And why does your spam originate from a server in China?

    — Chief

  8. Sandy said, on August 4, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    Glad I found this web site. This email came about a half hour ago Aug. 4, 2010
    Ad seen on Craigslist for 2001 Dodge………..thank you. Hope this helps someone else.
    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The truck is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the truck along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the truck on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Anthony Reda

  9. Chief said, on August 4, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Sandy, we’re glad you found us, too! Credit your intuition that something was amiss … if one never places the info into a search engine, he never discovers the bad news!

    Thanks for posting and good luck finding a real vehicle.

    — Chief

  10. Dan said, on August 8, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    They are using the name Kevin Barton now…Same exact e-mail…

  11. Chief said, on August 8, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Thanks for posting the name, Dan. The criminals swap, sell, and steal scripts. It could be the same guy, or it could be another. Post or send me their Ebay email address and I’ll check ’em out. — Chief = q2fred[at]gmail.com

  12. B.J. said, on August 16, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    8/16/2010

    Got this today, looks like the names changed again.

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 99,950 miles, year 2001 and VIN#1B7KF23641J250808.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before Aug 30 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s827.photobucket.com/albums/zz195/2001DodgRam2500Laramie222/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Kevin Barton

  13. Sandy said, on August 26, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Once again this is a scam. Posted to be sold locally in St. Cloud MN. Sounds similar to
    the one I posted earlier

    Hello,

    This 2000 Dodge Ram 2500 4×4, with 120,350 miles, runs and drives excellent. The truck is already at our Military Logistic Department form Fort Belvoir, U.S. Army base near Bethesda, MD. This truck has been extremely well maintained with a full service history. It has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens.I bought it when i was serving in Fort Belvoir, U.S. Army base near Bethesda, MD and now I am in United Kingdom.I have dropped my price to $3,095.00 USD (purchase price) since this is an Urgent Sale! and I need to sell it before 10 September, when I will be deployed in Iraq with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home. If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; Full Name and Shipping Address & PHONE NUMBER to open a case with eBay they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 15 days inspection period before committing to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.To be sure that I don’t waste my time with endless discussions. This way, I shall be assured of the serious intentions. So if you are interested please e-mail me back for more details about the transaction. Here you can find more pictures with the truck: http://2000dodgeram2500laramie.myphotoalbum.com/slideshow.php?set_albumName=album01

    2000 Dodge 2500 4×4 Cummins
    Mileage: 120,350 miles
    Title: Clear
    Condition: Used
    Body type: Pickup truck
    Engine: 6 Cylinder 5.9 Liter Turbo Diesel
    Exterior color: White
    Transmission: Manual
    Fuel type: Diesel
    Interior color: Tan
    Drivetrain: 4 Wheel Drive

    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Corporal Carla M Elizabeth

  14. Chief said, on August 27, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Thanks, Sandy. I sent an abuse report to myphotoalbum. Feel free to do the same. You can reference your original email or this your comment above.
    — Chief

  15. Lauren said, on September 1, 2010 at 12:51 am

    Hi,
    I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Sept 07. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car has 68,720 miles, year 2003 and VIN :  2GCEK19N431398424.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4600. The car is in Great Falls,MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards!!!

  16. Lauren said, on September 1, 2010 at 12:53 am

    He assumes the name Andy Robynson.

    Subject: Re: 2003 Chevrolet Silverado SS $4600

    As I’ve told you at this moment I am in Great Falls, Montana in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This means that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want. The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive it along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more …Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only by using an authorized  third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program. You will send the money to eBay and as soon as the payment is confirmed they will notify me to proceed with the shipping. I will ship it, you will receive it and you will have 10 days for inspection. So, this is not a blind transaction,you can see it before decided to buy it.If you are satisfied with it and decide to keep it you inform eBay about this and they will release the money to me. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.
    Hope to hear from you soon
    Thanks

  17. Dusti said, on September 5, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    This 2000 dodge pick up came up on craigslist for Bismark, ND. Same exact name and email. I was set purchase through ebay. Thank you for your post.

  18. Chief said, on September 16, 2010 at 6:22 am

    Renatto, feel free to post the text of the emails here.

  19. Joe said, on October 6, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    lol..
    I am conversing with this person now.
    He tells me he is on a base in AK and want to do the transaction through Ebay.

    I think this is kinda fun. I wonder if I can get anything out of it.

  20. Joe said, on October 6, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    This is were I am so far.
    I am hopping that I can swindle something from this crook for my efforts.

    =-=-=-=My email so far=-=-=-=-=-=

    Re: 2005 ACURA MDX TOURING RES DVD NAV $4700

    From:
    Jim Bo

    Add to Contacts
    To: andy robynson
    Ok. What base are you at. I can put the total in a certified check from the bank and leave it at the PO on the.
    You can just drop the keys with your platoon clerk. They are very flexible and understanding for service men. Since I am in AK there is no need to spend half of your asking price in transportation.

    How would you use “Ebay” for this sale?

    From: andy robynson
    To: xxxxxxxx@yahoo.com
    Sent: Wed, October 6, 2010 9:17:44 AM
    Subject: RE: 2005 ACURA MDX TOURING RES DVD NAV $4700

    As I’ve told you at this moment I am in Alaska, in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This means that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want. The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive it along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more …Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only by using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program. You will send the money to eBay and as soon as the payment is confirmed they will notify me to proceed with the shipping. I will ship it, you will receive it and you will have 10 days for inspection. So, this is not a blind transaction,you can see it before decided to buy it.If you are satisfied with it and decide to keep it you inform eBay about this and they will release the money to me. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.
    Hope to hear from you soon
    Thanks

    Date: Tue, 5 Oct 2010 17:18:17 -0700
    From: xxxxxxx@yahoo.com
    Subject: Re: 2005 ACURA MDX TOURING RES DVD NAV $4700
    To: andyrobysoon@msn.com

    That’s great, I live in Alaska.
    Where is it I can come over and pay in cash.

    From: andy robynson
    To: xxxxxxxxxx@yahoo.com
    Sent: Tue, October 5, 2010 7:34:00 AM
    Subject: RE: 2005 ACURA MDX TOURING RES DVD NAV $4700

    Hi,
    I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before October 11. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car has 62,830 miles, year 2005 and VIN : 2HNYD18795H509502. It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4700. The car is in Alaska, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards!!!

  21. Tonto said, on October 14, 2010 at 6:45 am

    Found The Dodge on the Springfield, IL Craigslist. I’ve been playing with them too.

    Here’s the Listing.

    2001 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel Cummins 4×4 Remote entry keys (2) and one s
    Date: 2010-10-10, 7:53AM

    Questions ? Contact : chapman1924@msn.com
    Please include the name of item in your message!

    Every feature works perfectly and the cummins diesel purrs like brand new.Never off roaded and 4×4 rarely engaged.

    2001 Dodge Ram 2500 Cummins diesel 4×4 Laramie
    Some of the features:
    Laramie, Quad cab, Long bed
    Cummins diesel
    Under 100k miles
    4×4
    No New England winters
    Mint condition
    Clear title
    One owner until I bought it 2 weeks ago
    Remote entry keys (2) and one spare
    Original manuals
    New tires
    Everything works
    Needs nothing
    Only flaw? Small creases in passenger door as seen (barely) in pictures
    Steering wheel controls for cruise AND stereo
    Electric and heated mirrors
    Power drivers seat including lumbar control – very comfortable
    Trip computer
    Tow hitch and brake control
    Undercoated
    Running boards
    Sliding rear window
    Title in hand
    23.7 MPG on 100 mile trip

    Here’s the return email.

    Hello,
    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 99,950 miles, year 2001 and VIN#1B7KF23641J250808.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before October 20 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1194.photobucket.com/albums/aa375/new2001DodgRam2500Laramie222/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Travis Chapman

  22. Dave said, on October 25, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Craigs list scammer strikes again. Name the same as above (Travis Chapman). Here’s the email.

    From: Travis Chapman [chapman1924@hotmail.com]
    To: xxxxxxxxxx@chartermi.net
    Subject: ’03 F250

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 75,000 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1FTNW21P93EC31143.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before October 30 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1114.photobucket.com/albums/k524/new2003FordF-2504X4Lifted/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Travis Chapman

  23. Dave said, on October 25, 2010 at 11:53 am

    …and here was my response and his reply. it doesn’t even make sense.

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The truck is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the truck along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the truck on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!

    Travis Chapman

    ________________________________________
    From: xxxxxxxxxx@chartermi.net
    To: chapman1924@hotmail.com
    Subject: RE: ’03 F-250
    Date: Mon, 25 Oct 2010 12:30:55 -0400
    Thanks for your reply, Travis. I just put a deposit down on a truck in my hometown and will pick it up today. I wish I would’ve heard from you yesterday. It’s a good looking truck, though, and I’m sure you won’t have any problems selling. Thank you, again, for your reply.

    Dave

    From: Travis Chapman [mailto:chapman1924@hotmail.com]
    Sent: Monday, October 25, 2010 8:38 AM
    To: xxxxxxxxx@chartermi.net
    Subject: RE: ’03 F-250

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 75,000 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1FTNW21P93EC31143.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before October 30 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1114.photobucket.com/albums/k524/new2003FordF-2504X4Lifted/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Travis Chapman

  24. Michael said, on October 27, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    And another one…..

    this time a Jeep…… we need to trap this guy through his ip address……

    From: Travis Chapman [mailto:chapman1924@hotmail.com]
    Sent: Wednesday, October 27, 2010 7:06 PM
    To:xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Subject: RE: Jeep Wrangler

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The car is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the car along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the car on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!

    Travis Chapman

  25. Michael said, on October 27, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Here is the craigslist ad with posting ID:
    PostingID: 2024392026

    2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon UNLIMITED/Leather Wrapped Steering Wheel – $5000 (orlando)
    Date: 2010-10-25, 10:52AM EDT
    Reply to: see below

    Questions ? Contact : chapman1924@msn.com

    Please include the name of item in your message!

    For sale excellent condition Jeep Rubicon,unlimited has only 25k actual miles.Has been driven by adult, non smoker. Rubicon edition comes with factory 7 speaker with subwoofer and tweeter, premium cloth high- back bucket seats, moab wheels , leather wrapped steering wheel, ac, chrome grille, cruise etc.The unlimited edition is extended length for a better ride. rubicon edition comes with 4:1 rock-track part-time 4wd system, 4:11 gears, heavy duty dana 44 front and rear axles, skid plates, front and rear stabilizer bars, high pressure gas shocks and more. this jeep when placed in 4 low has locking front and rear differential one push locks rear axle two pushes locks front for true 4wd. this jeep come with air conditioner works excellent and heat works perfect when you need it.The miles are 99% highway miles.It has not been been offroaded or abused in any way.It is as it came from factory.It HAS NOT been pulled behind a r.v. or used to pull anything and is in great shape inside and out.

    * Location: orlando
    * it’s NOT ok to contact this poster with services or other commercial interests

    image 2024392026-0

    PostingID: 2024392026

  26. Chief said, on October 28, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Michael, if he is using hotmail, his email headers will reveal the source IP. I’ll wager a Big Mac that he used an AOL connection — real or tunneled. AOL has never, never, never responded to an abuse report of mine. What might be of benefit?

    1. file an attempted fraud complaint at http://ic3.gov.
    2. bait the scammer to waste his time and learn if he has a fake escrow web site, phone number, etc.
    3. disable his web domain & phone number through abuse reports to providers.

    Your mileage may vary. The above is what has worked for me.

    — Chief

  27. Michael said, on November 1, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I did report him every where.
    AND had some “fun” with him.
    Finally he responded that the car is “sold”.

  28. Michael said, on November 1, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Two new ones, this doesn’t stop!!!

    2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, Automatic, 49,250 miles – $2,800

    Hi,
    First of all I want to thank you for your interest for my car. I sell it at this price ($ 2,800) because i just finished the divorce with my husband. The divorce has finished 6 months ago and the car is mine now. After the divorce I was forced to buy a new house. Following the financial crisis I can’t afford to pay the bank and I decided to sell the car. This car is in excellent working condition, no scratches, flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used, in 100% working and looking condition and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services (I will receive the payment only after you receive and inspect the car and only if you agree to buy it).
    We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account. The final price that I want for this car is $2,800. I will pay for shipping and handling.
    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer (if you are interested to buy) very soon.
    Thank you,
    Susan Thompson

  29. Michael said, on November 1, 2010 at 11:11 am

    And here is the other one

    2004 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon, Automatic Transmission, 43,900 Miles – US$2,700

    Hi,

    First of all I want to thank you for your interest for my car. I sell it at this price ($ 2,700) because i just finished the divorce with my husband. The divorce has finished 6 months ago and the car is mine now. After the divorce I was forced to buy a new house. Following the financial crisis I can’t afford to pay the bank and I decided to sell the car. This car is in excellent working condition, no scratches, flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used, in 100% working and looking condition and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services (I will receive the payment only after you receive and inspect the car and only if you agree to buy it).
    We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account. The final price that I want for this car is $2,700. I will pay for shipping and handling.
    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer (if you are interested to buy) very soon.
    Thank you,
    Karen Wilson

  30. Michael said, on November 1, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I am so glad you started this thread here.

    Unbelievable.

    And if you look at the flaws in their English, you can tell, they are from the East, I mean Eastern Europe, that’s where the people are the worst when it comes to theft and fraud.

    E.g. Romania……

  31. Michael said, on November 1, 2010 at 11:15 am

    I can not see the headers, using 2010 Outlook. I remember, in older email programs, I was able to see the whole ip history??
    I can forward the original emails to you, if you want, or please tell me how to see the headers, I don’t know with Outlook 2010 (View Source gives me only html source code of the email text)

  32. chris said, on November 4, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Thanks for your site on scammers, I’m in East Texas and wrote about a nice 2003 chevy truck. It turned out to be in Springfield, Ill. You have many similar scams on your site. I smelled a rat and googled it and found you. Thanks for your efforts to fight fraud.
    Chris

  33. Jerimiah said, on December 7, 2010 at 9:01 am

    This is the response I got from this person.

    Hi,
    At this moment I am in a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. This mean that I do a special training program and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want.The truck is already at the shipping company in Great Falls,MT sealed and ready for the shipping.The shipping can’t be a problem because I can do it at no cost for you. You will receive the truck along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more .Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal only using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program.The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of 5 days inspection period (test drive) and the option to accept or reject the truck on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address. I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal.

    Regards!!
    Eric McClister

    From: j_________@hotmail.com
    To: mcclister76949@hotmail.com
    Subject: RE: 01 Cummins
    Date: Tue, 7 Dec 2010 xx:50:47 +0000

    Eric,

    I didn’t realize you were in the military. I an a Technical Sergeant(E-6) in the USAF. What unit are you in? This truck was listed in California, I would want my dad who lives in central Cali to look at it before buying it sight unseen. I am currently in Portugal, so I can’t look at it for myself.

    From: mcclister76949@hotmail.com
    To: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    Subject: RE: 01 Cummins
    Date: Tue, 7 Dec 2010 xx:10:45 -0800

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 99,950 miles, year 2001 and VIN#1B7KF23641J250808.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before December 17 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1104.photobucket.com/albums/h331/new2001DodgRam/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Eric McClister

  34. Arindam said, on December 10, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Here is another email added to this scam list, “LTC Carol Miller” is now the man!

    { EDITOR’S NOTE: LTC Carol Miller is retired, aware of this scam, and has no vehicle for sale }

    ====================================================

    Hi,
    I am selling this car because my battalion has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before December 20. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident…I do have the title, clear, under my name. The Altima has 38,000 current miles VIN# 1N4AL11D06C240357.
    It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4,620. The car is in Lakewood WA, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.Below are the car details, also link with more photos and copy of Carfax report.If the link doesn’t work,copy and paste it into a new browser page.
    Regards!!!
    2006 NISSAN ALTIMA 2.5S
    Vehicle title: Clear
    Body type: SEDAN 4DR
    Engine: 2.5L L4 SFI DOHC 16V
    Exterior color: Gold
    Transmission: Automatic FWD
    Fuel type: Gasoline
    Interior color: Tan
    You can find more pics at:
    http://picasaweb.google.com/faghsfagshg/ALTIMA#

    LTC Carol Miller

  35. Chris said, on December 19, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    RE: 2001 Dodge truckSunday, December 19, 2010 3:43 AM
    From: “Eric McClister”

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 99,950 miles, year 2001 and VIN#1B7KF23641J250808.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before December 23 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1104.photobucket.com/albums/h331/new2001DodgRam/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,

    Eric McClister


    THANK YOU FOR POSTING ALL OF THESE. YOU JUST SAVED ME FROM BEING SCAMMED.

  36. Chief said, on December 20, 2010 at 8:54 am

    And likewise, Chris, thank you for posting. The *real* thanks go to all those readers who have posted these hundreds of emails.

    Good luck finding a vehicle!

    — Chief

  37. JOE said, on January 14, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    They had a Ad in the Detroit craigslist, when I asked about it, I recieved this, I knew was fake

    Hello,
    This 2003 Toyota Tacoma PreRunner Limited Double Cab with 119,975 miles, has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all.This truck has been extremely well maintained with a full service history .I am the second owner of this truck.I bought it when I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens.
    I have dropped my price to $2700 since I need to sell it before 20 January,when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
    If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; FULL NAME and SHIPPING ADDRESS & PHONE NUMBER to open a case with eBay’s Buyer Protection Program and they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 7 days inspection period before committing to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.

    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Corporal Janice Stone

  38. Jen said, on January 23, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Here is another one, with the name Corporal Janice Stone… Be careful!

    Hello,

    This 2003 Nissan Murano SL with 104,501 miles, has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all.This vehicle has been extremely well maintained with a full service history .I am the second owner of this vehicle.I bought it when I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens.
    I have dropped my price to $2900 since I need to sell it before 02 February,when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
    If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; FULL NAME and SHIPPING ADDRESS & PHONE NUMBER to open a case with eBay’s Buyer Protection Program and they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 5 days inspection period before committing to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.

    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Corporal Janice Stone

  39. keith hicks said, on February 10, 2011 at 2:07 am

    She’s at it again in jackson tn. 1994 harley davidson softail $2730.00

  40. Derrick said, on February 24, 2011 at 2:54 am

    This ad is fake also, After researching this person on the internet I went back and tried to copy the ad and a full list of numbers came up under the ad. I thought this was strange and the ad and strange number are below. If you copy the ad to paste it the numbers will show up. Hope this helps catch the punks!

    2001 Ford Mustang 2DR CPE GT D – $2700 (south florida )

    ——————————————————————————–
    Date: 2011-02-20, 11:59AM EST
    Reply to: sale-fpsvq-2224614286@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]

    ——————————————————————————–

    Standard Equipment: Remote Power Door Locks, Power Windows, Cruise Control, 4-Wheel ABS Brakes, Front Ventilated Disc Brakes, 1st And 2nd Row Curtain Head Airbags, Passenger Airbag, Side Airbag, Audio System Security, Cassette Player With Auto-Reverse, In-Dash Single CD Player, AM/FM Stereo.

    Jimmy Riley 1930 Spring House Turn Maynard MS 23562 (628) 839-5125 (317) 265-6024 (899) 899-0605
    Milan Myers 6889 Indian Ridge Way Chisholm CT 13513 (633) 101-1126 (361) 003-6479 (864) 742-6292

  41. Chief said, on February 24, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Derrick, yes the seller is a scammer. The extra data is an attempt at hash-busting, or overcoming Craigslists filters. The names and addresses are meaningless. I only included the two I researched. Cities do not exist / zipcode doesn’t match / phone numbers out of region, etc.

    The punks are professional thieves. See this article if you’re interested in the methods used by these scammers.

  42. Joseph said, on March 14, 2011 at 12:28 am

    I knew something looked fishy. If it’t too good to be true, then it is. Someone needs to do something about this. Thanks for the posts it was I thought and all of you confirmed it.

    Hello,

    This 2002 Toyota Tacoma Limited TRD with 72,220 miles, has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all.This truck has been extremely well maintained with a full service history .I am the second owner of this truck.I bought it when I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens.
    I have dropped my price to $2500 since I need to sell it before 20 March,when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
    If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; FULL NAME and SHIPPING ADDRESS & PHONE NUMBER to open a case with eBay’s Buyer Protection Program and they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 7 days inspection period before committing to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.

    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Corporal Janice Stone

  43. patrick said, on March 20, 2011 at 1:20 am

    Hello,

    This 2002 Toyota Tacoma Limited TRD with 72,220 miles, has no leaks or drips and does not smoke at all.This truck has been extremely well maintained with a full service history .I am the second owner of this truck.I bought it when I was serving in Fort Lauderdale and is slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions with a clear title free of encumbrances and liens.
    I have dropped my price to $2500 since I need to sell it before 27 March,when I will be deployed in Afghanistan with my platoon replacing the troops scheduled to come home.
    If you’re interested to conclude this purchase in a timely manner email me your; FULL NAME and SHIPPING ADDRESS & PHONE NUMBER to open a case with eBay’s Buyer Protection Program and they will contact you to explain the entire procedure. The financial part will be managed by them, which means that you will have a 7 days inspection period before committing to buy the vehicle. In this way both, buyer and seller are 100% covered during the steps of this transaction.

    Hope to hear from you soon,
    Corporal Janice Stone

  44. Boyce said, on May 3, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    I’m glad i researched the VIN number and got your site. Yes I’ve been in contact with the same guy. This time he/she is using the name Matthew Meyers. Below is the email I received today. One email address he is using is matthew90211@hotmail.com .

    Hello,

    The general condition of this truck is excellent,very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome, with no cosmetic complaints really worth comment.Counted a few stone chips.The alloys are all presentable and originals the fronts having a few marks, all tires in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, roof, boot and plastics.Both remote keys are present and they are working, no electrical issues.I do have the title , clear, under my name.The truck has 99,950 miles, year 2001 and VIN#1B7KF23641J250808.The truck is in Great Falls,MT and in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.

    Price was reduced to $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this truck before May 15 when I will leave with my platoon back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard.

    The pics speak for themselves,you can see here: http://s1095.photobucket.com/albums/i470/new2001DodgeRam/

    Hope to hear from you as soon as possible

    Thanks,
    Matthew Myers

  45. Natalee said, on June 16, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Well he’s at it again, this time with the name Matthew myers… I found his ad on June 15, 2011

    Hi,

    The truck is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap. It has an automatic transmission and comes with a clean title.There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $5000 (shipping and title transfer fees included).It’s a non smoker truck with zero mechanical/electrical problems no damages or accidents.The interior is in great condition with no rips or tears.Never been involved in any type of accident.I have all manuals, books, both keys, and key fobs.The truck has 49,439 miles, year 2003 and VIN#1GCHK29G43E308322.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($5000) because I need to sell it fast before June 25.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.

    Here you can see more pictures : http://s954.photobucket.com/albums/ae28/new2003ChevroletSilverado/

    Thank you,
    Matthew

  46. Chief said, on June 16, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Natalee, forward the criminal’s email (with headers) to abuse [at] photobucket.com and they’ll kill it. Sure, he’ll start another one, but let’s keep him busy with administrative tasks rather than communicating with potential victims.

    — Chief

  47. Ron said, on July 4, 2011 at 1:30 am

    Hello Everyone,

    I received the following response (oooooh, blip on the radar) after replying to an ad on Craigslist today. It was for a 1973 GMC Yukon. I replied back but haven’t gotten a second response from Matthew Myers (wonder if he has a brother named Michael). I do believe he wants to do me in. Anyway here is what Michael… errrr I mean Matthew said:

    Hi,

    The truck is in good running condition,works great on gas and the maintenance is extremely cheap. It has an automatic transmission and comes with a clean title.There is no lien on it,no monthly payments just the final price $5000 (shipping and title transfer fees included).It’s a non smoker truck with zero mechanical/electrical problems no damages or accidents.The interior is in great condition with no rips or tears.Never been involved in any type of accident.I have all manuals, books, both keys, and key fobs.The truck has 75,798 miles, year 2003 and VIN#3GKFK16Z03G204169.I’m selling it because I’m in the army and my unit will be sent to Libya .I don’t want it get old in my garage and I need the money, so there’s no use on keeping it. The price is so low ($5000) because I need to sell it fast before July 15.If you decide to buy it and need further information please get back to me.

    Here you can see more pictures : http://s1223.photobucket.com/albums/dd514/newGMCYukonXL/

    Thank you,
    Matthew Myers

    D A N G E R ! ! !

  48. Debbie Roland said, on December 6, 2011 at 10:56 am

    How are these folks getting Ebay to open accounts for them to receive payments if the vehicle is not listed on Ebay for sale? I think that I have just repsonded to an ad for a vehicle that is a scam. It’s on Craigs List, Albany GA. But, they vehicle is in Indiana.

  49. Chief said, on December 7, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Debbie,

    These criminals do not use Ebay accounts. They simply masquerade as ebay with some using very believable graphics and emails. Ebay does not offer escrow services for sales on Craigslist.

    — Chief

  50. Carolyn said, on April 21, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    NEW ONE – Jeep CJ 4×4 88,000 miles, $2,800 by Lt. Eric Thompson on Craigslist, now being deployed to Iraq and doesn’t want it ‘get old’ in the garage. Email claims is at shipping yard ready to be shipped, ostensibly so you can’t swing by and look at it I imagine.

    I want to kick his ass just for impersonating a soldier.

  51. Sara said, on June 6, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    My husband saw this one on Craig’s list. Is this a new name to add to the list? –

    Hello there and thank you for your interest to buy my SUV: 2005 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4×4 automatic transmission.

    The general condition of this car is excellent, very well maintained, no damages and no mechanical problems, the engine runs and sounds awesome. The alloys are all presentable and the tires are in good condition with plenty life remaining. Clean carpets, seats, boot and plastics. Only used full synthetic oil during changes., no electrical issues. The TITLE is CLEAR, no lien or loan. The vehicle has 26,300 miles.

    The Jeep is in Atlantic city, NJ and in case it gets sold I will take care of delivery using a delivery service made only for US Army members.
    Price is $5,000 (URGENT SALE) as I need to sell this car before I will leave with my platoon in another mission outside US, now I am in the military base from Hungary where I do some special trainings. I will be deployed to a US Forces Japan base for an entire year.

    To see some pictures with my jeep please click on this link: http://photobucket.com/05JeepWranglerRubicon4x4

    If you like my Jeep and want to buy it please reply me asap. Make sure you have the cash available.

    MORE DETAILS: 2005 JEEP WRANGLER RUBICON AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION , 4-Wheel Drive, CD Player, Convertible,Passenger Airbag,Air Conditioning, Cruise Control,One owner, no accidents, stored for winters, non-smoker, Pioneer 7 speaker/ sub option. Has 35″ tires on 15″ rims. Mostly weekend driving to cruise nights. Suspension lift and tons of extras ….

    From: Nicole Spear <nicole47spear@gmail.com>
    Date: June 6, 2012 4:02:47 PM EDT


Comments are closed.