Scammer Database

Justin Schetter – Garden Variety Scammer

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on April 29, 2010

I post this email from the scammer to support abuse reports:

From: Justin Schetter <SchetterJustin@gmx.com>
Date: Tue, Apr 20, 2010 at 1:11 PM
Subject: Re: boat
To: victim

Hello I’m Justin, sorry for my delay in response. The 2006 pontoon boat is still for sale. It has 130 hours and 90 hp, four stroke, length: 23.0 feet, there are NO problems and come with a two years transferable warranty. Also I’m not interested in any kind of trade and the last price is 4,800 dollars with trailer included. The reasons of this sale are financial problems!

Regards.

For more pictures click here: http://picasaweb.google.com/116114588342378050268/Pontoon#

Tagged with:

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Angie said, on April 29, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    We received that same email when we inquired about a boat.

  2. chuck smith said, on May 14, 2010 at 8:44 am

    we need your phone number to contact you. thanks

  3. Chief said, on May 17, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Check your email.

  4. Kevin said, on May 26, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I received the same email on May 25, 2010 when inquiring about the same boat. It was listed in the Northern Michigan Craigslist site approx 2 weeks ago.

  5. Lanni H said, on May 30, 2010 at 6:12 am

    I inquired about a boat on 5/26/10 on CL and the same email address was used. First of all, I should have known it was a scam because it seemed too good to be true. Secondly, the tone of the second email reply was different from the first. See below.

    “The boat is already at a shipping company, my brother in law works for. He promises me he will deliver it at no cost in all the US cities while I’m out of town; also the boat was list it on eBay and we can have a deal using their VPP (vehicle purchase protection) program. If you are still interested in buying the boat you must to give me your full name, full delivery address and your phone number. If you want to move forward with this transaction I will need your details to inform the shipping company and eBay about you.
    Get back to me and let me know if you really wish to buy it so we can discuss more about this deal. Thanks.”

  6. almainer said, on June 1, 2010 at 7:41 am

    I got the same response from this butt-head about a pontoon boat that was suppose to be located in an area close to me in N.C. I emailed him several times at different email addresses but never received another email in return. When I googled his name, I found this. Thanks for posting these messages and I hope others will do the same.

  7. Stacy said, on June 2, 2010 at 11:52 am

    What an idiot! Glad I found this before I got too wrapped up in this. I just don’t get the point of the whole scam. If he never replies, what’s he getting out of this? Just wasting people’s time, I guess. Anyways, I got the same exact email as the 1st one listed after a response to a CL add for the boat in Moscow, Idaho!

  8. Chief said, on June 2, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Stacy,
    See the example email exchange between a scammer and me at this page: https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/2010/01/26/anatomy-of-an-ebay-spoof-site/ . I do not understand your question regarding the scammer never replying. You stated you received an email; is that not a reply?

    If the scammer has emailed you once, then ceased communication, he probably is busy scamming other victims. Don’t fool with this guy if your email is not completely anonymous. Bait him from a free email account such as gmail or fastmail.

    Chief

  9. Teresa said, on June 15, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Just got the exact same response. I am a little concerned because I emailed him from my home account not a free one. Should I be?

  10. Chief said, on June 15, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    Teresa,
    You need not be concerned with having submitted your home address. This class of scammer simply wants you to send him cold, hard cash. If you ignore him, he will go away. Alternatively, tell him your lousy, no good, bum of a husband spent the money you had saved on a trolling motor for his boat (or some such) and now you don’t have any money.

  11. sgc said, on July 7, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    We received this same response just today from “Justin” with two different e-mail addresses. We originally saw his ad in the Appleton, WI area craigslist ads. However, when I did a search for the title of his boat, I found the same ad at two different websites! UGGH! I also do not understand WHY he does this!!


Comments are closed.