Scammer Database

Craigslist Scammer – 2002 Camper Trailer

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on April 22, 2010

Thanks to our new friends at Fiberglass RV’s for Sale, another scam has been spotted. The ad has been placed in over 40 regions of the U.S.  Click the sample below to make it larger for reading:

Text of a typical ad such as the one found at http://detroit.craigslist.org/wyn/for/1704294753.html :

2002 Scamp Camper Trailer RV Casita Fiberglass

REPLY TO : robert.drap@gmail.com

2002 Scamp 13′ Camper. This is a 13′ Scamp with the factory “package” options. I am the original owner and bought this new from the factory. It has a 3-way fridge, stove, furnace, 110 outlets, 12volt outlet, 12 gallon fresh water tank, screen door, 20lb. propane tank, 12v battery, sink, and a Fantastic Fan. I added removable/adjustable shelves in the clothes closet to make it into a pantry for food. Everything works perfectly. This sleeps 4 with a dinette that converts to a double bed and the couch that converts to bunk beds. This Scamp is in excellent condition. It has been stored indoors year round since new. In the winter it is put on jack stands with the wheels off the ground and stored in a heated garage. It has not been smoked in and I have not cooked in it. It does not leak. There are some rock chips on the lower front from being towed but nothing major. In the inside of the silverware drawer there is some paint worn away from the silverware tray sliding around. There are some marks in the fridge from cans rubbing on the sides. I have all the original paperwork that goes with it. It weighs approximately 1100 lbs. with a hitch weight of around 100lbs. The tires are in good shape and the camper is ready to travel. It has a 6-way rv plug for wiring. It does not have trailer brakes.

REPLY TO : robert.drap@gmail.com

Tagged with:

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chief said, on April 25, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    We received this comment earlier today:

    Hi,me personally i dont think this guy is a scammer or something similliar,maybe he`s just trying to sell his shit quick,and i think some of you guys are jealous or something because you take action to fast,dont judge people from the first side.
    My opinon and thats all
    Frank@aol.com

    Frank, me personally, I think you are a bit misinformed. All deals found here are scams — not because we “think” so, but because we have researched them and found them to be fraudulent. Thanks for allowing me the opportunity to reiterate that in an emphatic way.

    Have a nice day,
    Chief

  2. Jenny Miller said, on April 29, 2010 at 8:23 am

    My mother was targeted by this scammer!

  3. Chief said, on April 29, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Jenny, we hope you kept your Mom from making a mistake! ?

  4. Camper Shopper said, on July 31, 2010 at 6:52 am

    Here’s the same ad in Phoenix Craigslist with a different email address and a few extra sentences at the bottom: http://phoenix.craigslist.org/wvl/rvs/1866883370.html

  5. kevin said, on August 5, 2010 at 5:34 am

    Is this the same guy? http://mcallen.en.craigslist.org/for/1864106356.html
    his email davidkrieger2001@gmail.com

  6. Chief said, on August 5, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Kevin,

    I would say yes, it is a scam. See http://bit.ly/cB9kZp Is the rig in Salt Lake City, Phoenix, or San Fran? 😉 Shoot him an email and share the reply with us.

    This is pretty dismal performance by the Craigslist spam filters. I found over 80 identical listings in various locations of the U.S.

    See an additional posting by subject experts at http://www.fiberglass-rv-4sale.com/for-sale/scam-alert-2002-scamp-camper-trailer-rv-casita-fiberglass-2300.

    — Chief

  7. Dawn Lindsey said, on August 6, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    I responded to this ad a couple of days ago. It seemed too good to be true so I checked into it and discovered it was probably a scam. I can forward you his reply if you give me the address.

  8. Chief said, on August 6, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Dawn, it would be better if you anonymize the email (take out your email addy and name) and just paste it here. If we need to report abuse, I can show you how. — Chief

  9. Chief said, on August 7, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    or not. I can be found at q2fred[at]gmail[dot]com . — Chief

  10. Faye said, on September 5, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    Does anyone know if this is a scam? The same info is posted on many craigslists all over the country.
    http://newjersey.craigslist.org/for/1936040769.html

  11. Chief said, on September 5, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    The posting you submitted has been flagged for removal. That’s your first sign. Craigslist is a local sales medium. If it’s posted all over the country, that’s your second sign. — Chief

  12. Jerry said, on March 31, 2011 at 10:59 am

    This just got resurrected

  13. Chief said, on March 31, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Jerry,

    Unfortunately, that means that the scam script is still working. The best we can do is to educate the public and make our warnings easily found by the savvy internet user.

    😦

    If you want to play a more active role in “discouraging” scammers, just ask.

    Chief -> horzluber[at]gmail.com

  14. Bill said, on April 11, 2011 at 10:17 am

    He now has a photobucket site up and sent it to me with instructions on how we would be doing the sale through ebay. I have reported the photobucket site.

    http://s1176.photobucket.com/albums/x336/ronaldstankojr/

  15. Rob Heib said, on April 16, 2011 at 11:33 am

    contacted this guy when the ad appeared in Seattle CL. He states the trailer is located on an army base in AZ and can be shipped up to Seattle in 2 days. Of course he’s about to deploy again so he needs the money fast. No way to inspect the trailer or verify it’s existence. Does anyone still fall for this stuff?

  16. Chief said, on April 16, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Rob, unfortunately, yes. Otherwise, this site would disappear.

  17. Dena said, on June 1, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I am very skeptical when it comes to purchasing things online or from individuals that tend to leave just enough into out to lure people in – and I think I have ran across the scam mentioned above…very similiar at any rate.

    I sent request for more info regarding ad on craigslist and this is the email I received:

    Hello I’m David and first of all i want to thank you for your recent interest in my nomad travel trailer. I am the first owner, comes with all the bells and whistles, you will receive it with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it so if you buy it you don’t have to worry about the paperwork. My final price is $2,600. The trailer is in showroom condition, no liens, no pets, no smoke; it was never involved in an accident, 8 sleeping capacity, leveling jacks included and clear title, length feet: 31 dry. I must to use eBay Protection Program for this sale, because I want to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer before my upcoming deployment take place. That way you will receive assistance for the purchase, paperwork, title transfer.
    If you are still interested please email me back so I can explain you how the transaction will work.

    Here are 96 pictures: http://imageshack.us/g/854/32738635.jpg/
    Thanks

    I replied that I did not intend on purchasing anything site unseen nor via online correspondence. Then I checked for any scam info and came across this site – would like to say thank you very much for both confirming what I suspected, but for also putting this out there to begin with…..otherwise I may have disregarded my first inclination.

    Thanks.

  18. jerry said, on June 4, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    Here is the e-mail Igot tonight just wanted to say thanks and I am not going to be scammed by him.

    date: Sat, Jun 4, 2011 at 5:22 PM
    subject: Re: 2OO6 Travel Trailer NOMAD Camper RV

    Hello I’m David and first of all i want to thank you for your recent interest in my nomad travel trailer. I am the first owner, comes with all the bells and whistles, you will receive it with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it so if you buy it you don’t have to worry about the paperwork. My final price is $2,600. The trailer is in showroom condition, no liens, no pets, no smoke; it was never involved in an accident, 8 sleeping capacity, leveling jacks included and clear title, length feet: 31 dry. I must to use eBay Protection Program for this sale, because I want to avoid wasting time with negotiations and find a buyer before my upcoming deployment take place. That way you will receive assistance for the purchase, paperwork, title transfer.

    If you are still interested please email me back so I can explain you how the transaction will work.

    Here are 96 pictures: http://imageshack.us/g/854/32738635.jpg/

    Thanks

  19. Dawn said, on June 13, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    I too got the exact same email back when inquiring about the trailer on craigslist. Thank you for helping to identify this as a scam!

  20. Brad said, on July 6, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Hi guys,
    I have looked at the same scam. I sent an email asking about it and got the same email reply. I kept replying (even after I found out the truth) to seem like a potential victim. I have asked him to call me in hopes of getting his phone number in my phone. Does anyone have any recommendations on who I should forward it to if he does call? I hate people like this, because they prey on people who just don’t know how rotten some people cn be. I would like to do whatever I can to hold these scumbags accountable. Please help if you can.
    Thanks, BB

  21. Chief said, on July 6, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    Brad, if the scammer has your real id, just drop him. However, if you are using an anonymous id, feel free to follow up with the scammer to get the scoop on his fake escrow company.

  22. Vern grey said, on May 28, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    Umm yeah he’s a dweeb of a scammer davidkrieger2001@gmail.com just got an email from him asking me to verify my cl account, undoubtedly so he could steal my account. He’s gonna rub the person the wrong way one day lol. He needs a bitch slap.

  23. nyc said, on June 5, 2012 at 9:24 am

    I recieved a response from the seller as follows:
    “My name is Annette, and I’m emailing you about the 2004 scamp 16′ travel trailer I have for sale. The trailer is in perfect condition, with no need for additional repairs. Flawless exterior/interior condition. It has never been involved in an accident. It has a clear title with no loans or liens on it. The price was reduced at 3,000 as I need to sell the trailer before the 18 of June when I will be leaving with my platoon back to Afganistan, so I dont want it getting old in my backyard. Click on this link and you can see some pics of the scamp. 155.photobucket.com/albums/p6705/2004”
    The price is too good to be true. I did not respond back.


Comments are closed.