Scammer Database

Scammer selling a stove on Craigslist – Viking Stove – $2600

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on March 29, 2010

I reported the abuse to Craigslist since the criminal posted the ad over 200 times. Here is the scammer’s reply to my initial inquiry:

Hi,
This is a perfect viking range no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects period, it’s in immaculate condition, never used, source: GAS and can be converted to propane, Dual Fuel.
Dual Fuel, Stainless Steel, 4 Sealed Burners and can be converted to 6 burners + griddle.
Oven Capacity:
Right: 4.1 Cubic Ft
Left: 2.5 Cubic ft
Overall dimensions: 47-7/8″W x 27-1/8″D x 33-1/2″.
The price i asked for is $2.600.00. The stove is already packed and ready for ship to your location.
Thanks, Chesty

Here is the scammer’s second email to me:

Hello, I really need to sell it asap because I got a 36″ ’cause i haven’t space for a 48 and I don`t need it anymore, it was my wife’s gift. The stove is already at the shipping company warehouse in Salem/Oregon sealed and ready to be shipped. I have a contract with eBay so this deal must go through them. According with eBay you have 7 days from the time you receive the stove to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not. The shipping will be on my expense directly at your home address.If you are a real buyer and if you want to move forward with this transaction please forward me your further details so i can open the case with them:

-your full name
-shipping address
-phone #
After the case is opened they will contact you with all information about the shipping and payment. Looking forward to hear from you,
Chesty

See later posts for parts II and III of this scam.

Note: This is an elusive scammer. If you have any info (emails, email addresses, phone numbers), please paste them in a comment below. He appears to switch appliances regularly, so if a search engine led you here because of a scammer’s email, we’d be glad to hear about it!

Tagged with:

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert said, on April 13, 2010 at 7:40 am

    Hello,
    Interesting to find this as I am having the exact same conversation with ‘Chesty’, who is going by ‘Daniel’ with me. Same deal… I was highly skeptical after receiving his/her reply with the whole eBay ‘secure’ payment approach and the fact that the range is in Salem/Oregon. I was only searching for ranges in South Florida! Then I find the exact same posting with “location: Delaware”. Anyway, clearly a scam. Will flag this on Craigslist. Keep up the great work!!!

    Cheers,
    Robert Buckman, Fort Lauderdale, FL

  2. Chief said, on April 13, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Robert, thanks for leaving a comment. Now that you see how they work, we challenge you to educate your colleagues, friends, and family on these criminals so that they will not be burned by a similar scheme. — Chief

  3. sam said, on January 3, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    I think I have this happening to me. no return after I get the below email. No number. Nothing yet..

    Sorry for the delay and thank you for your interest in my Viking Range, I bought it as NEW and my wife and I just moved in to a new home in Forth Kent, ME. In our new kitchen, we need a 36″ one, this one is too big 48″ so we decide to sell it. My price is $2,100, shipping fees included and I will handle the shipping process for you. The range will be delivered to your door. This item has been packed and palletized to prevent any damage upon shipping. The range is new, it was opened but not used, only as a test to check if everything is OK with him. Here you have a few details about my range:
    Model #: VDSC485-6Q – it can be converted to propane fuel too.
    Six Burners W/12″ Wide Gas Char-Grill
    Convection Type Ovens
    Stainless Steel Finish
    Dimensions
    Width: 48″ ;Height:39″ ;Depth: 24″ ;Weight: 586 lbs
    Cleaning Feature: self clean
    Oven Feature: Convection Oven
    If you want more pictures, click here to see them: http://usera.imagecave.com/normangespper/
    Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Thanks
    Norman Gespper

  4. LEANN RAMIREZ said, on March 24, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    GOT THE SAME RESPONSE ON CRAIGSLIST IN OHIO…AND FLAGGED…

  5. Elaine R said, on April 20, 2011 at 11:45 am

    This guy is working his way around the country! He is now listed as of March 2011 in Albany, New York. I contacted him about his 48inches Viking for $2200. He wanted me to do the ebay thing also, saying it protection for both of us. I insisted to drive to Maine to see the range or we couldn’t do any business, haven’t gotten any resoonse since. Please be careful with your hard earn money! Also, please continue to post remarks whether good or bad. Have a safe day!

  6. Chief said, on April 20, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Elaine,

    This criminal will work any part of the country and conjure up any lies necessary to extract money from your wallet. In this post of last summer, he advertised from Jersey to Denver. Please post any email addresses the criminal uses. That’s how many of the potential victims find our warnings.

    — Chief

  7. Stan said, on May 21, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I saw this too on the Los Angeles Craigslist. Same scam.

  8. James said, on May 22, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Just got this reply for a car add. Norman is at it again, now selling cars, see below. If its too good to be true…

    Hello,
    Thank you for your interest for my car and excuse me for this delay. I bought this car for my son but he passed away too soon to enjoy it. He died in Kandahar. The car will be my gift, my gift in the memory of my son … Money is not a problem, all I want is to find the right person who will love and take care of this car. You may wonder why I ask this small amount for this car. Well, the fact is that I decided to ask this amount only as a protest. This is exactly what we received as compensation after my son died serving his country. No more or less!!! This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches, flaws or any kind of damage in 100% working and looking conditions. The price is not negotiable, $6,400 firm. The car is in Fort Kent, ME, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    1969 Dodge Charger Real J-Code Hemi 4spd
    VIN: XS29J9B219630
    Milleage: 56,800a
    Transmission: Manual
    Vehicle title: Clear
    Color: Black/Black
    Fuel type: Gasoline
    Engine: 8 CYLINDERS 5.0 Liters – Real J-Code Hemi 4spd Charger
    God Bless you.
    Norman Gespper

  9. P Foster said, on May 31, 2012 at 7:25 am

    Apparently he is at it again in NJ- here was his reply to me…
    Hello, my name is Patrick and I’m emailing you regarding the Never Used Viking 48″ Gas Stove, I have for sale. Is a nice model with Griddle and Open Burners. The box was opened only for test and photo’s. No problems, no scratches or something like that. I will include in the price a propane kit easy to install. Here’s all the
    info:

    12″ Griddle
    Convection type Ovens
    Right oven – large convection oven – 4.0 cubic feet three heavy-duty racks/six positions; two lights Left oven – oven – 2.1 cubic feet All Gas Six Open Burners

    Dimensions:
    Width: 48″
    Depth: 27″
    Height: 39″
    Weight: 624lbs.
    Model #: VGRC4856GDSS

    My last price for this stove is $2.300.
    Email me back if you are still interested.
    Thank you, Patrick

  10. Dave said, on July 22, 2012 at 8:03 am

    Still there. Using Patrick Hinson patriqhi@gmail.com ; on the Viking range.

  11. Patty said, on July 24, 2012 at 8:37 am

    I can’t imagine that there isn’t a way to hunt this creep down and prosecute- he has provided countless email addresses… Patty

  12. jtriple9@gmail.com said, on August 29, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    His name is now William Isabella wisabella@gmail.com v

    He posted viking range $2200 on craigslist in Harrisburg, PA. The post was removed now…


Comments are closed.