Scammer Database

Anatomy of an Ebay spoof site

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on January 26, 2010

I encounter a few brave scammers who develop fake ebay websites to convince victims that they really are Ebay. Below is an example of the work of the criminals. Since the site below has been reported for abuse, they will disappear soon, so I made screenshots of the pages. I’ll start with the typical progression:

(1) The buyer responds to the advertisement
(2) The scammer will reply with a scripted answer along the lines of:

sorry for my delay in response. the vehicle is still for sale. it has no liens or other major problems. also i`m not interested in any kind of trade

(3) to which you reply:

Dude, you must have confused me with someone else. I have nothing to trade. I have cash. Where is the vehicle located?

(4) Scammer then follows his script and replies:

The vehicle is already at a shipping company my brother in law works for. He promissed me he will deliver it at no cost in all the US cities while I`m out of town. I also list it on eBay for a secure transaction using their VPP (vehicle purchase protection) program. If you are still interested in buying the vehicle I can give you the link to my auction. It`s a buy it now auction so you won`t have to bid. thank you for your time and God bless

(5) And the buyer writes back:

Well, duh! Yes, the link would be helpful.

(6) To which the scammer replies:

click on thel ink to be redirected to my ebay auction: http://path.to/antonaauction/ after you send the down payment of 2,100 dollars to the ebay representative you will receive the tractor (with attachements, all manuals, bill of sale) within 4 days right at your doorstep. you will have a 5 days trial for test driving then you must send the remainder. If you don`t like the tractor you will recieve your deposit back with no extra fees. Thanks and God bless

In the event you do not wish to click the link above and put fictitious data there just to see what happens, I made screenshots of the four fake ebay pages.  These links are safe and are just pictures. Page 1 is the congratulations page.  Note that the Marketplace safety tips vary from what you might see on a real Ebay page.  Clicking on the payment button leads the victim to page 2 — the spot where your information is placed. The scammer really doesn’t need that info; it’s part of his game to convince you of his authenticity. He’s going to have you pay via Western Union which does not require your personal info.

Now that you’ve shared your personal information with the scammer, he takes you to his checkout page 3. If you click the “Confirm Your Payment” button, you are led to page 4.

Unfortunately, victims send the money via Western Union and it is gone forever. You who have been scammed can attest to that. 😦

Comments Off on Anatomy of an Ebay spoof site