Scammer Database

Scammer – posing as U.S. military guy – Lt. Daniel Robinson

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on January 11, 2010

Reply from a scammer after my inquiry on his car for sale on Craigslist.org:

Hello,

You have to know that the 2006 INFINITI G35 AWD I am selling is 100% working and great looking, no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage. The title is clear. It has 29,984 miles. The VIN# is JNKCV51F46M603578 .This vehicle engine runs very, very smooth. No electrical problems on this beauty. This detailed vehicle makes the exterior look like it just came off the assembly line. As I know that my current situation is pretty special I want the deal closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you to be 100% protected. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and inspect it (for 10 days) eBay will release the payment to me; in this way we are both protected. Anyway i am sure that if you won`t be satisfied with the car i will surely find another buyer in your area and there will be no need for you to ship the car back.

I am located in Madrid,Spain and I was sent here to improve the military relationships between our country and Spain. One month ago, my wife moved here with me and brought the car with her, but now we have to sell it back in the United States because In order to be able to register this car here, I would have to pay very high import/custom taxes. My final price on it is $ 2900. If you will take it for this price, I am willing to handle the shipping. It will be shipped from here by plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me anything. You will get it to the nearest airport in your area and then it will be trucked forward to your place. You will receive the car in about 4 days. Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction payment and shipping details from them. Here are the pics of the car:

Thank you and have a nice day,

Lt. Daniel Robinson

Tagged with:

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike Day said, on January 17, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    I got the same reply today when I inquired about the car. Thanks for helping flush this out.

  2. Chief said, on January 17, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    Thanks for dropping by. Good luck finding a real auto! — Chief

  3. antoinette said, on January 19, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    what makes you think he’s a scammer, because i received the same exact email reply also when i inquired about the car. although it does sound too good to be true for that type of car to be sold for only $2900, what evidence did you find that made you believe this was a scam?

  4. Chief said, on January 19, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    Antoinette,

    Type any significant portion of the text from any of the emails you have from the scammers into a search engine. Hundreds of hits will lead you to sites where conventional wisdom says they are scammers. Sorry I can’t divulge details; I do not want to educate the scammers in this public forum. All potential offers are screened extensively before being posted here. Yes, I have had to tell real sellers that they write ads like a scammer would! Heck, I have even bought items from one of them — locally, of course 🙂

    — Chief

  5. Yessi Puentes said, on January 22, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Hi well I just received the message this morning for a honda accord 2006!

  6. Gil said, on January 23, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    Same exact message was sent to me. This MUST be a scam because there is no deviation from the text or the story. Thanks! I could have lost $3K

  7. Chief said, on January 23, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    We’re glad you found us, Gil. Remember, Craigslist was designed to facilitate trade between individuals local to each other. Good luck finding a real vehicle! — Chief

  8. Mary said, on January 26, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Hello,
    I seen the ad and I too replied . I recieved an email from him and he seems like a real deal but I am cautious and look what I came across this site so the last email I got was him devolging more info and telling me title is clean no damage great cheap car buyer protection on ebay the whole nine so I replied back to him send me purchase order and give me info as to where to find the listing on ebay we will see where this goes thank you for all your postings it’s people like us who prevent people from being scammed.

  9. Chief said, on January 26, 2010 at 11:36 am

    Mary, yes, all it takes is a little effort by all of us and we can make a difference. We’re glad you found our site, but you must chalk it up to intuition. If you had not checked it out, you would not have arrived here.

    Regarding continuing the discussion with the scammer, we will not discourage you, but ask you to do so safely. If you wish to spend a lot of time dealing with these slimeballs (we do), we strongly suggest making sure you are 100% anonymous and your character is not traceable to your personal identity. If not, drop the correspondence with the crooks and pick it up with another email address. Drop us a line at q2fred@gmail.com if you have any concerns regarding that issue. — Chief

  10. Sherry said, on February 26, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Got almost same response on a 2006 Honda on Craigs List Tulsa Oklahoma

    Hello,

    You have to know that the 2006 Honda Accord EX I am selling is 100% working and great looking, no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage. The title is clear. It has 68,730 miles.The VIN# 1HGCM56726A159576.

    As I know that my current situation is pretty special I want the deal closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you to be 100% protected. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and inspect it (for 5 days) eBay will release the payment to me; in this way we are both protected. I am located in Madrid,Spain and I was sent here to improve the military relationships between our country and Spain. One month ago, my wife moved here with me and brought the car with her, but now we have to sell it back in the United States because In order to be able to register this car here, I would have to pay very high import/custom taxes. My final price on it is $ 2900. If you will take it for this price, I am willing to handle the shipping. It will be shipped from here by plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me anything. You will get it to the nearest airport in your area and then it will be trucked forward to your place. You will receive the car in about 4 days. Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction payment and shipping details from them.

    Thank you and have a nice day,
    Lt. John Colton

  11. Chief said, on February 26, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Sherry, thanks for posting your email of another scammer in a “pretty special situation.”

    I flagged six more identical ads on Craigslist — Chief

  12. kawanna key said, on March 7, 2010 at 8:31 am

    I am one that got scammed. He was a Lt Marcus Walker stationed over in Spain. He was selling a 2006 Acura for $2950. He sent me about 30 pics of the car. Stated that to get the car registered it would cost a lot, the engine is too big so gas would cost a lot. I sent the money. I was a bit skeptical. I used the ebay protection website to check. I got an email back stating that Marcus Walker was a certified seller through ebay. Even after that, he is still persistent. He now wants a security deposit of $1550. That’s when I became leary. It’s too late now. I wish I would have came across this site before.

  13. Chief said, on March 7, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Kawanna, I am sorry this criminal took your money. These guys are professionals and play off the honesty of good folks like yourself. Everything the scammer wrote was a lie. This is this life he leads. You have nothing to be ashamed of because of your good heart and your belief in his story. He will continue to hound you for more money.

    Good observation regarding IP addresses. However, these guys are very savvy. Typically, the fake eBay sites are based upon a free webhosting service in the Czech Republic. The administrators there are quick to take the sites down after they have been notified, but that is after most of the damage has been done.

    I encourage you to report the loss at the sites mentioned here: https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/faqs/i-have-been-scammed-what-do-i-do/
    We are working behind the scenes with law enforcement to generate some new techniques for apprehending these scammers, but there is still much work to do.
    — Chief

  14. Cassondra said, on March 9, 2010 at 8:18 am

    I sent an email to a guy on craigslist about a 2006 honda accord and he sent me the same email back except change the car type and he was going by the name of LT Garry Cooper

  15. Jessica said, on March 10, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    wow i just got the same reply too.
    thank goodness i was abit cautious about it.
    Thanks for the information.
    Hello,

    You have to know that the 2006 Honda Accord EX I am selling is 100% working and great looking, no flaws or dents, no scratches or any kind of damage. The title is clear. It has 68,730 miles.The VIN# 1HGCM56726A159576.

    As I know that my current situation is pretty special I want the deal closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you to be 100% protected. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and inspect it (for 5 days) eBay will release the payment to me; in this way we are both protected. I am located in Madrid,Spain and I was sent here to improve the military relationships between our country and Spain. One month ago, my wife moved here with me and brought the car with her, but now we have to sell it back in the United States because In order to be able to register this car here, I would have to pay very high import/custom taxes. My final price on it is $ 2900. If you will take it for this price, I am willing to handle the shipping. It will be shipped from here by plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me anything. You will get it to the nearest airport in your area and then it will be trucked forward to your place. You will receive the car in about 4 days. Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction payment and shipping details from them.

    Thank you and have a nice day,
    Lt. Marc Evan
    wow smh

  16. Chief said, on March 10, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    Jessica, the 2006 Accord seems to be the vehicle of the week among scammers! We’re glad you found us! — Chief

  17. sara said, on March 13, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    The 2006 Accord sure is the vehicle of the week. Same thing for me. The honorable Lt. Marc Evan. Thanks, Chief.

  18. Chief said, on March 13, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Thanks for stopping in, Sara. — Chief

  19. TR said, on March 20, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    Well…I am other individual that found this scam and so glad I found this website. I was not sure about this deal and thought I would type in the vin # to see what came up and this did. I knew it was too good to be true but thought I would look more in depth and I am SOOO glad I did.
    Thanks for the Site!!!

  20. Chief said, on March 21, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    TR, we’re glad you found us. Let all your friends and family know about how these criminals work! — Chief

  21. SK said, on April 25, 2010 at 12:03 am

    EBay Buyer protection is not valid on this transaction, because the car and the seller are not located in the US or Canada. Read the buyer protection plan carefully. It says …

    4. You, the seller, the vehicle, and the financial institutions on which payment was drawn, and to which payment was made, must have been located in one of the fifty United States or Canada on the listing’s end date.

  22. Chief said, on April 25, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Yes, SK, and for another dozen reasons, this is not a valid escrow transaction. Thanks for highlighting that one … we had not previously considered it. — Chief

  23. Jordan said, on June 1, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I received a very similar email after inquiring about a vehicle on Craigslist. Except they must have learned because this time the guy said he was getting stationed in Canada. I was pretty sure that the guy was trying to scam me. I am in the Air Force and a lot of the things he said did not make sense. I am so glad I did not send him any info.

  24. Jason said, on January 6, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Hello there,

    My 1996 Chevrolet Impala is in great shape. It was always garaged and never smoked in. It has no scratches, dents or something like that. No mechanical or electrical problems. Clean title in hand. It does not need anything additional to function, has only 68,200 miles. Also the car will comes with the 22inch rims and also factory rims. I work in the army and i got divorced so i don’t need the car anymore because it was my wife’s car.I want the deal closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you to be 100% protected.You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and inspect it (for 5 days) eBay will release the payment to me, this way we are both protected. The last price is 1400$. If you will take it for this price, I am willing to handle the shipping.
    Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction payment and shipping details from them.

    I am located in Barcelona, Spain and I was sent here to improve the military relationships between our country and Spain.
    The car is still for sale and is currently located at the shipping company warehouse from Chicago, IL.

    Thank you and have a nice day,
    Lt. George Evans.

    PS: If there are any questions left please don’t hesitate to ask.
    More Pictures: http://picasaweb.google.com/parkchriss43/MyImpala?authkey=Gv1sRgCNKepaGQptGb5wE# (if the link doesn’t work copy and paste it into a new web browser window).

    I Found this too good to be true so I researched it and it was.o


Comments are closed.