Scammer Database

Tara Walker wants to scam you – 2007 Toyota Camry

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on December 14, 2009

I responded to a Craigslist advertisement for a 2007 Toyota Camry and received this reply:

From: Tara Walker  tarawalker32@msn.com

Subject: RE: 2007 Toyota Camry

Date: Mon, 14 Dec 2009

Hi

I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan

and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Dec 20.It has no damage

no scratches or dents no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title clear under my name.The car have 32000 miles year 2007 and VIN JTNBE46KX73074072.

It is still available for sale if interested price as stated in the ad $4300. The car is in Great Falls MT in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested email back.

Regards!!!

Tagged with:

77 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thoughtwiser said, on February 9, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Her new name is Nancy Ranen (nancyranen@msn.com) and she is still trying to scam people.

  2. notbuying said, on March 7, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Now Sharon Sullivan. Same wording in ads and email correspondence.

  3. Meli said, on March 10, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Thank you for writing this!!!… I just received an email from her because I was interested in the car that she/he advertised and thanks to you, I will NOT be scammed. The name I got was Sharon Sullivan (sharon38sullivan@msn.com). Thanks again.

  4. Chief said, on March 10, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    Meli, thanks for leaving a comment! We’re glad you had the intuition to check her out and find our page. Be sure to tell all your friends and family how these scammers work. Let’s educate ourselves so these criminals have to find real jobs. — Chief

  5. Tammy said, on April 12, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Sharon is hard at work. She is now emailing from sharonsulli27@msn.com. So glad I found your website with Scammer alerts! Thanks for the heads up!!!

  6. Chief said, on April 13, 2010 at 6:51 am

    Tammy, thanks for dropping by! Your intuition paid off. Be sure to share your experience with friends and family. It is our goal to educate everyone on the antics of these criminals.
    — Chief

  7. oh no its not me said, on April 15, 2010 at 9:41 am

    now she’s Sharon Sullivan “sharonn909@msn.com”
    same email. i knew it was to good to be true.

  8. Chief said, on April 15, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Thanks for commenting!

  9. Kalie said, on April 17, 2010 at 11:20 am

    Scam…Scam.. i just got her email today (4/17/2010)
    Sharon Sullivan

    Hi,
    I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afhanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Apr 22. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car have 23,000 miles, year 2008 and VIN 1HGCP36708A031982.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4400. The car is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Thanks.

  10. Chief said, on April 17, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Thanks for stopping in, Kalie. We appreciate your posting the text of the criminal’s email. Be sure to educate your friends and family on how these scammers work. We want no more victims! — Chief

  11. Ditto said, on April 22, 2010 at 9:01 am

    This is what she threw at me!!!

    Hi,
    I am selling this van because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Apr 26. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The van have 78,000 miles, year 2006 and VIN 2HJYK165X6H531969.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4500. The van is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards!!!

  12. Chief said, on April 22, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Ditto, thank for posting the text of the criminal’s email. — Chief

  13. Can said, on April 22, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    We have been in contact through her new email “sharonsulli00@msn.com”… She fed me the “platoon been sent back to Afghanistan” and all the other crap…. She asked for my full address and name and I gave it to her, the fool that I am…. but now I know not to go any further with it… She’s trying to pull an “ebay” bit over on ppl now, stating that large transactions can be done through them so its secure. BE ON THE LOOK OUT!!!

  14. Can said, on April 22, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Ditto, did she ask for ur full name and addy?

  15. Chief said, on April 22, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Can, don’t worry about having sent your address. This class of criminal wants your money, not your ID. You can either cease corresponding with the scammer, or just tell him you bought your neighbor’s Oldsmobile (or something) and will not be buying his.

  16. Chief said, on April 22, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Can, Ditto may not receive notification of your question. All these craigslist scammers will ask for your full name and address. — Chief

  17. Omer Fadol said, on April 22, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    More of his dirty tricks:

    Sharon Sullivan
    to me

    show details 4:15 AM (15 hours ago)

    Here’s how our deal works :
    In order to complete this deal the payment must be sent to ebay. As soon as they receive the payment will notify me to start with delivery.After that you will receive all information about delivery so you can be able to track your shipment online.ebay will hold your payment until you receive and inspect the car (you have 5 days for inspection) If you will find the smallest problem with the car you will ship it back on my expense and ebay will send you your full amount back.

    Regards!!!

  18. Omer Fadol said, on April 22, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Another email from a scammer:

    Dear Abdoul Daoud,

    We have been contacted by the seller regarding your transaction.

    We assure you this deal is covered under protection of eBay and you are 100% protected.You need to follow the steps provided by us and go to an Money Gram office with cash and wire the money to our eBay agent.After the payment is sent please fax the receipt from Money Gram to our fax number :(206) 339-1437.Once we have your payment confirmation we will inform the seller to start shipping process.

    To locate the nearest Wal-Mart MoneyGram Office please use the link below:
    http://www.moneygram.com/eFindUs/findUs.do?countryCode=US&languageCode=en

    HERE IS THE EBAY AGENT INFORMATION THAT YOU NEED TO WIRED THE PAYMENT:

    First Name: Kevin
    Last Name: Taylor
    Address : 915 Florence Street
    City/State: East Liverpool OH
    Zip Code: 43920
    Country: United States

    Thank you for your patience and cooperation in this matter. If you have any difficulties completing these steps, please reply to this email and we’ll be happy to assist you.

  19. Omer Fadol said, on April 22, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Email from a scammer:

    Sharon Sullivan
    to me

    show details Apr 19 (4 days ago)

    As I’ve told you , I am in Great Falls, MT on a military base getting ready for Afghanistan. I do a special training program each day and I am not allowed to get out of the unit or give calls whenever I want. The shipping wont be a problem and I will do it at no cost to you because will be made by the army. You will receive the car along with all the documents including title, bill of sale, full service records and more …Because it is a large transaction we will complete the deal using an authorized third party like eBay, using their Business Purchase Protection Program .The payment will be handling by eBay and you will benefit of the 5 day inspection time period and the option to accept or reject the car on my expense. If you are still interested just send me your full name and shipping address.
    I will forward your info and they will notify you about our deal
    Hope to hear from you soon

    Followed by:

    Sharon Sullivan
    to me

    show details Apr 20 (2 days ago)

    Thanks for your e-mail. I will have eBay send you an email with the payment instructions.Please let me know when you receive it so we can make the final arrangements.
    Regards !

  20. Omer Fadol said, on April 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Email from a scammer:

    Hi,
    I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Apr 23.It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car have 37,000 miles, year 2007 and VIN JTNBE46KX73074072.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4400. The car is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Thanks.

  21. Omer Fadol said, on April 22, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Email from a scammer:

    Katharine Newton
    to me

    show details Apr 20 (3 days ago)

    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,690.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property and as a woman i don’t need it. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,690.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

  22. Fadol said, on April 23, 2010 at 6:02 am

    Email from the Fake escrow company:

    from eBay
    to
    date Thu, Apr 22, 2010 at 4:18 AM
    subject Regarding your eBay transaction #4507874137

    hide details Apr 22 (1 day ago)

    Dear

    We have been contacted by the seller regarding your transaction.

    We assure you this deal is covered under protection of eBay and you are 100% protected.You need to follow the steps provided by us and go to an Money Gram office with cash and wire the money to our eBay agent.After the payment is sent please fax the receipt from Money Gram to our fax number :(206) 339-1437.Once we have your payment confirmation we will inform the seller to start shipping process.

    To locate the nearest Wal-Mart MoneyGram Office please use the link below:
    http://www.moneygram.com/eFindUs/findUs.do?countryCode=US&languageCode=en

    HERE IS THE EBAY AGENT INFORMATION THAT YOU NEED TO WIRED THE PAYMENT:

    First Name: Kevin
    Last Name: Taylor
    Address : 915 Florence Street
    City/State: East Liverpool OH
    Zip Code: 43920
    Country: United States

    Thank you for your patience and cooperation in this matter. If you have any difficulties completing these steps, please reply to this email and we’ll be happy to assist you.

    Respectfully,
    Customer Support (Trust and Safety Department)
    eBay Inc

  23. Lurlene said, on April 23, 2010 at 10:07 am

    Here’s another one for the record!

    From: Sharon Sullivan [mailto:sharsullivanrd@msn.com]
    Sent: Thursday, April 22, 2010 10:29 AM
    Subject: RE: AWD Honda Ridgeline RTL – $4500 (Atlanta)

    Hi,
    I am selling this van because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Apr 27. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The van have 78,000 miles, year 2006 and VIN 2HJYK165X6H531969.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4500. The van is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards!!!

  24. Chief said, on April 23, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Lurlene, thanks for your contribution. — Chief

  25. Shank said, on April 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    The new email address => bhides@gmail.com

    Hi,
    I am selling this truck because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before May 03. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The van have 78,000 miles, year 2006 and VIN 2HJYK165X6H531969.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4500. The van is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Regards!!!


    It was on craigslist …..

  26. Chief said, on April 26, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Shank, thanks for posting. The email address in the sign-in form is intended for your email address. These email addresses are held in confidence and not posted anywhere.
    I hope I interpreted your comment correctly.
    — Chief

  27. oFadul said, on April 28, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Hello,

    I have received your email regarding the 2002 Toyota Avalon with only 166,424 miles.The car is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it,no damage, clear title.The price for the car is $2,700 with shipping included.The car was my husband`s as he loved it very much, but he did not enjoy it as he died in a IRAQ 3 month ago. It brings very bad memories to me, I want to get rid of it.The buyer will receive the car with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it to his name.Shipping will be done whit DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days. I have a friend there who will manage me a low price shipping and I assumed that it is my duty to pay for shipping it.It will be delivered directly to your address.Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal so if you are really interested in buying it,please reply with the following information’s:
    -Your full name;
    -Your shipping address.(street,city,state,zip code)
    The transaction will close only through eBay so we both will be protected.
    I want eBay because as they are the biggest company on the internet I think that we can close this deal fast and safe for both of us. Also I am not very familiar with the internet transactions and eBay is the only one I know.
    I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!
    Let me know.
    Regards,
    Rebeca Madson

  28. oFadul said, on April 28, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Hello Ahmed,

    The car is located in Jersey City,NJ at the shipping company (i just moved here with my new job),like i told we will use eBay Vehicle Purchase Protection,so we can both be protected and insured.The price for the car is $2,700 with shipping included. I have received your data. I will initiate the transaction through eBay and they will contact you with all necessary information about this transaction (terms, buyer protection, payment instructions, invoice, etc.) As soon i will have the confirmation from ebay you will receive further details regarding the shipping process (courier information,expected delivery date) Please look in INBOX,BULK,JUNK and SPAM folder and after tell me if you get all info from eBay.Asap..
    Regards,
    Rebecca Madson

    P.S I attached you some pictures with the car,

    http://s767.photobucket.com/albums/xx311/rebeccamadson34/

    Vehicle Description:

    This 2002 Toyota Avalon 4dr XLS Sedan features a 3.0L V6 PFI DOHC 24V 6cyl Gasoline engine. It is equipped with a 4 speed automatic transmission. The vehicle is Diamond White with a Ivory interior.Air Conditioning, Cruise Control, Power Steering, Power Windows, Power Door Locks, Power Mirrors, Power Drivers Seat, Power Passenger Seat, Heated Seat, Clock, Tachometer, Digital Info Center, Tilt Steering Wheel, Sunroof, Moonroof, Driver Airbag, Passenger Airbag, Keyless Entry, Security System, ABS Brakes, Rear Defogger, Fog Lights, Intermittent Wipers, AM-FM, Cassette, CD Player, CD Changer, Alloy Wheels, Rear Bench Seat,Front Bucket Seats,Bucket Seats,Remote Trunk Release,Heated Outside Mirror(s),Electrochromatic Rear View Mirror,Illuminated Entry System.

    Mileage: 166,424 Body Style: Sedan Exterior Color: Diamond White Interior Color: Ivory Engine: 3.0L V6 Transmission: AUTO 4SPD Drivetrain: FWD Doors: 4

  29. oFadul said, on April 28, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Dear Ahmed Ridwan,

    How to make the payment?

    1. Locate the nearest Money Gram Office.
    2. Make the payment with cash using the eBay Purchase Protection agent details:

    First name: Steve
    Last name: Thompson
    Street: 2300 Windy Ridge Pkwy SE
    City: Atlanta
    State:GA

    Zip:30067

    Country: United States

    3. E-mail us the following details from the payment receipt:

    – REF# – 8 digits number from the payment receipt
    – Sender’s Name and Address
    – Receiver’s Name
    – Amount

    Fax the MoneyGram receipt to the following fax number: +1-(610)-561-5874

    Once we receive the payment confirmation, we will instruct the seller to start the shipping process.

    Sincerely,
    eBay Financing Center Customer Support!

  30. oFadul said, on April 28, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    Hello,

    Ahmed,did you receive the invoice from the company? you can see in the invoice how to make the payment with the agent who is handling our transaction.Please get back to me asap and inform me when you will be able to make the payment so I can start the delivery to your home address.
    Regards,
    Rebecca

  31. oFadul said, on April 28, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    another email he using:

    rebeccamadson34@gmail.com

  32. Megan said, on April 29, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I’m sorry to disappoint you but the car is already at the shipping company in Orlando, Florida sealed and ready for the shipping.
    I have a contract with eBay so this deal must go through them.
    I’m very busy with my job and I’m getting off the town so I can’t meet in person with you so this is the reason why I chose to sell my car over the internet.
    According with the eBay you have 5 days from the time you receive the car to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not.
    If you want to buy it please email me your full name and address for shipping so I can initiate the transaction through eBay.
    After that they will contact you for all necessary information about this transaction (terms,buyer protection,payment instructions,invoice,etc.)

    Thank you

    Katharine Newton


    She’s used various email addresses I’ve noticed:
    katharin20newtn@msn.com
    katharin27nwtn@msn.com
    wkatharinenwtns@ocentrare.com

    Ocentrare is not even a domain that works
    Google search “ocentrare” and the first 10 pages of the search results are different listings “Katharine Newton” has on craigslist under different ocentrare acounts.

  33. fadol said, on April 29, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Email from fake Ebay fellow:

    Your Agent from Financial Department!

    Dear Ahmed Ridwan,

    How to make the payment?

    1. Locate the nearest Money Gram Office.
    2. Make the payment with cash using the eBay Purchase Protection agent details:

    First name: Steve
    Last name: Thompson
    Street: 2300 Windy Ridge Pkwy SE
    City: Atlanta
    State:GA

    Zip:30067

    Country: United States

    3. E-mail us the following details from the payment receipt:

    – REF# – 8 digits number from the payment receipt
    – Sender’s Name and Address
    – Receiver’s Name
    – Amount

    Fax the MoneyGram receipt to the following fax number: +1-(610)-561-5874

    Once we receive the payment confirmation, we will instruct the seller to start the shipping process.

    Sincerely,
    eBay Financing Center Customer Support!

  34. Chief said, on April 29, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Megan, thanks for post the text of the email. It’ll help someone else avoid being burned.

    If I am baiting (toying with) a scammer, I rarely report his email address for abuse. As you see, new email addresses are very easily obtained. — Chief

  35. Not that dumb.. said, on April 30, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    here is what I found, and after my 17 yr old has been contacting this jackass, I finally had the time to look into it. thanks Heavens she didn’t have access to any money! She certainly would have been ripped off. Text book example of ‘if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is!’

    From: Katharine Newton
    Subject: RE: 2005 Nissan Altima SE
    To: ______555@yahoo.com
    Date: Friday, April 30, 2010, 1:11 AM

    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,670.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property and as a woman i don’t need it. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,670.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

  36. Chief said, on May 1, 2010 at 12:21 am

    Looney, you sound like a savvy parent. There’s one teenager who has hopefully learned a lesson today. Intuition is not always inherited; some of it comes by errors and dumb luck. 🙂 — Chief

  37. sudarica said, on May 2, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Seller Name: Rebecca Madson
    Spacer Spacer Spacer
    A Verified Member in good standing.

    Identity and/or Contact Information Verified. Spacer

    Continues to meet strict Membership Criteria.

    Committed to Dispute Resolution and Mediation.

    Item 2002 Toyota Avalon is backed by Vehicle Purchase’s Buyer Protection Policy – up to $20,000.00.

    The criteria for Vehicle Purchase Protection Membership.

    The Vehicle Purchase Protection Membership, along with other factors, can substantially lower the risks of buying online. The Membership is a guarantee of a successful transaction or of a Seller’s performance.
    Spacer
    Contact the Seller rebeccamadson34@gmail.com

  38. Christian said, on May 2, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    another e-mail this scammer has been using.
    katharin38newtn@msn.com

  39. alysa said, on May 2, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    hi. im 17 years old too and i found that altima too and i feel inlove with it and im lucky i didtn have the money yet either or i would have bought it too, im glad i googled her email or i would have never knew it was a scam, she also said the same divorce storry to me too!

  40. Shes at it again said, on May 5, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Shes using a new name here is the email I got from her / him last night

    Flag this message
    RE: 2005 Nissan Altima SE
    Tuesday, May 4, 2010 11:38 PM
    From:
    “Katharine Newton”
    Add sender to Contacts
    To:
    ty_cohen@yahoo.com
    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,670.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property and as a woman i don’t need it. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,670.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

  41. jennifer said, on May 11, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    omg I Recieved thesame bs from kathrine Newman she claimed the car was in storage in Orlando?Come on now? and asked for my name addy . very hesitant in meeing with me ..claimed to live not far but when meetin came up , car was in storage red flag!!!

  42. Adam said, on May 12, 2010 at 9:12 am

    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,670.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,670.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton
    Her new email is katharin10nwtn@msn.com>

  43. Annie Boitano said, on May 16, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    This person’s new alias is now Andra Guerrero, and her email is andra.guerrero@usarmyiraq.com

  44. Jessica said, on May 19, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Same scam, but I’m posting it, too. I’m always weary of extra low prices and very cautious when someone wants to do transactions over eBay. I mean, we supposedly live in the same town! I am in Columbia, Missouri and had the following correspondence with Katharine Newton:
    —————————————————————————————————–

    Jessica to katharinenwtns
    May 16, 2010

    Hi, I saw your ad for the 2005 Altima and it sounds like a deal too good to be true. Any reason why the price is so low? Is it a salvage title?

    ——————————————————————————————————
    Katharine Newton to me
    May 19, 2010


    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,670.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,670.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

  45. lizzie ory said, on May 20, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Got same email from Katharine Newton when my little sis was trying to buy this car. Exact information and story. Low life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  46. Mike said, on May 21, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    New scam is Andra Guerrero email is andra.guerrero@usarmyiraq.com……selling a 2006 Ford Mustang

  47. NATE said, on May 28, 2010 at 12:35 am

    Is there anything we can do to stop this? I just received the emails as well from Andra Guerrero… this is ridiculous! I cannot beleive that the authorities cannot catch this person!

  48. Chief said, on May 28, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Nate, see https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/faqs/how-do-we-apprehend-these-criminals/ . These criminals are not stupid. I see limited success … such as the event here => https://scammerdatabase.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/bad-news-for-scammers-good-news-for-buyers/

    What’s even more interesting is that the # of views of on this website hit rock bottom the week these criminals were apprehended. That tells me most of my traffic is from scammers themselves 😐

  49. Brooklynn said, on June 15, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    She has now changes the name to Samantha Jordan I contacted her from craigslist and she sent the same email yesterday to me.

    Just wanted to warn everyone!

  50. Mark Dias said, on June 16, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Hello Omer,
    Just wanted to let you know that I received a nearly identical email from her this morning for an Altima I found on Craig’s List. Thanks for posting the email here and I’ll be sure to avoid this scam!
    ~Mark

  51. Mark Dias said, on June 16, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Hello Omer,
    Just wanted to let you know that I received a nearly identical email from her this morning for an Altima I found on Craig’s List. Thanks for posting the email here and I’ll be sure to avoid this scam!
    ~Mark

    Here’s the email:
    RE: 2005 Nissan Altima SE V6

    From:
    Katharine Newton [Chat now]

    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,730.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,730.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

  52. Mark Dias said, on June 16, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Hello Omer,
    Just wanted to let you know that I received a nearly identical email from her this morning for an Altima I found on Craig’s List. Thanks for posting the email here and I’ll be sure to avoid this scam!
    ~Mark

    Here’s the email:
    RE: 2005 Nissan Altima SE V6

    From:
    Katharine Newton katharin10nwtn@msn.com

    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,730.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,730.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

  53. Mark Dias said, on June 16, 2010 at 10:49 am

    She also uses this email:
    katharins10snwtn@refacere.com

  54. Tee said, on June 17, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    This is an e-mail she sent me for a 2005 Nissan Altima on craigs list on 6/16/10

    *****1st e-mail
    First of all I want to thank you for your interest in my car. I sell it at this price ($2,730.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and I don’t have a driver license.
    Now the car is in my property. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.We will use a safe payment method because I am affiliated at eBay and I have a purchase protection account for $20,000.00
    The final price that I want for this car is $2,730.00 including shipping and handling.

    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.
    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

    ****2nd e-mail after I told her I was in the area she was advertising the car in

    I’m sorry to disappoint you but the car is already at the shipping company in Orlando, Florida sealed and ready for the shipping.
    I have a contract with eBay so this deal must go through them.
    I’m very busy with my job and I’m getting off the town so I can’t meet in person with you so this is the reason why I chose to sell my car over the internet.
    According with the eBay you have 5 days from the time you receive the car to inspect it and decide if you want to keep it or not.
    If you want to buy it please email me your full name and address for shipping so I can initiate the transaction through eBay.
    After that they will contact you for all necessary information about this transaction (terms,buyer protection,payment instructions,invoice,etc.)

    Thank you

  55. Nathan said, on June 17, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Jessica, I got an identical message when I responded to a Craigslist ad about a 2005 Nissan Altima. I found this site by Googling her e-mail address. The one listed in her ad was katharintn@refacere.com and the address that she actually e-mailed me back from was katharin38newtn@msn.com.

  56. Hudson said, on June 26, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    Hey all. I too have just been scammed out of $2,300 by a Samantha Jordan. Same old sob story about being deployed. I am in contact with a man who is trying to hunt this person down. If you have any available info or saved any documents, please send them to me and we can add them to the ever growing list. First though, submit a FBI IC3 form, you can find it on google just by typing it in. This ensures that the scam is documented. We can use all the backing possible. Please help us out, this person needs to go down for what they are doing to us. Thanks

  57. amanda said, on June 27, 2010 at 1:06 am

    just wanted to add that i found this same add on craigslist about the 2005 nissan altima and it said the exact same things as all previous ppl have said. i found out it was a scam by googling the car add itself. her email address was katharin27newtn@msn.com that i sent the inquiry to as well as the one she emailed me back stating the same things as before. such a load of crap!!

  58. Andy said, on June 29, 2010 at 8:47 am

    i got an email just like this but about a Nissan Altima 😦 and i gave my name and address 😦 but nothing else, is that a bad thing?

    Hello,

    I have received your email regarding the 2005 Nissan Altima SE-R,with 33,000 miles miles.The car is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it,no damage, clear title.The price for the car is $3,400 with shipping included.The car was my husband`s as he loved it very much, but he did not enjoy it as he died in a IRAQ 3 month ago. It brings very bad memories to me, I want to get rid of it.The buyer will receive the car with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it to his name.Shipping will be done whit DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days. I have a friend there who will manage me a low price shipping and I assumed that it is my duty to pay for shipping it.It will be delivered directly to your address.Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal so if you are really interested in buying it,please reply with the following information’s:
    -Your full name;
    -Your shipping address.(street,city,state,zip code)
    The transaction will close only through eBay so we both will be protected.
    I want eBay because as they are the biggest company on the internet I think that we can close this deal fast and safe for both of us. Also I am not very familiar with the internet transactions and eBay is the only one I know.
    I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!
    Let me know.
    Regards,
    Rebecca Madson

  59. JAY said, on July 3, 2010 at 9:45 am

    There are listings on Cars.com and Craigslist for both, a black Nissan Altima and a Nissan Maxima by a woman named Katherine/Kathryn who need to ship the car from a random location (New York?). Both of the cars are selling wayyyy to cheap, and there are too many similarities in both of the stories for them to be true.

    Both won the car in a divorce,
    Both cars are in excellent condition, yet are being sold for thousands below value
    Both cars need to be shipped….

    somethings up.

  60. Chief said, on July 7, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Andy, just ignore his emails and he will go away. 🙂

  61. Bo said, on July 13, 2010 at 4:49 am

    Reply received from: Katharine Newton (katharin27nwtn@msn.com)
    First of all I want to thank you for your interest for my 2005 Nissan Altima SE V6,automatic transmission,black.
    Only 87,029 miles,beautiful condition in and out. Paint shines ,zero dings/dents,no accident. Non-smoker,always garaged and covered.
    It comes with all the documents needed for registration and clear title.
    I sell it at this price($2,730.00 ) because I have been divorced recently and i don’t have driver license.
    Now the car is in my property. This car is in excellent working conditions, no scratches,
    flaws or any kind of damage, slightly used in 100% working and looking conditions and comes with a clear title.
    From the beginning you have to know that for the payment I request only secure pay, I prefer the payment to be done using eBay services.

    The final price that I want for this car is $2,730.00 including shipping and handling.
    If you are interested in buying it please provide me your full name and address so I can initiate the deal through eBay.

    I will wait your answer very soon.

    Katharine Newton

    Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

  62. willjackman said, on August 11, 2010 at 7:17 am

    She’s changed her name again, 2005 Nissan Altima SE-R 33,000 miles on it for $3100. Says she wants to get rid of it because she doesn’t have time to enjoy it because of her job. Of course she’s in New York but when I searched for cars it was posted in my city. It should not be that difficult to sell an Altima SE-R for $3100, why the hell post it in oklahoma? That car would sell in an hour in New York or anywhere for that fact for that price. If it sounds too good to be true it is obviously. I wish I found that car for that price

  63. Chief said, on August 11, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Thanks for the updates, William. She’s lucky she didn’t try the, “I am in the military” stunt on you. There are a bunch of those on the blog, too.

    — Chief

  64. ASG said, on September 15, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    The new name the person is using is Jessica Wilson.
    The ad is about a 2007 TOYOTA Camry XLE for $5000!!

  65. Hoyt said, on September 21, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    From: Sharon Sullivan [mailto:sharon38sullivan@msn.com]
    Sent: Tuesday, September 21, 2010 7:58 AM
    To:
    Subject: RE: Honda 2006 RTL Ridgeline – $4777 (Columbia)

    Hi,
    I am selling this van because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Sep 28. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The van have 78,000 miles, year 2006 and VIN 2HJYK165X6H531969.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4777. The van is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Thanks!

  66. Chief said, on September 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Thanks, Hoyt. Feel free to post any email addresses or domains associated with these crimes. — Chief

  67. Nathan Wilson said, on September 24, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    jessicawilson34@gmail.com

    Similar email, deleted it… This time is a 2007 Toyota Sienna and she is a US Air Force Maj. She’s assigned to the UK, and the van will be shipped… All transactions tuff to be through ebay… yadda yadda blah blah…

  68. Chief said, on September 24, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Thanks, Nathan. Every bit of info aids another potential victim. — Chief

  69. misty said, on October 2, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    we recieved an email from her with the same wording … exact same wording except for it was on a 2006 harley davidson we were looking at….thanks for warning us. we’ve saved for so long and almost lost it. she should be ashamed impersonating a soldier… shame on her

  70. Den said, on October 7, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Hello – I received the same message from two different sellers. Sharon Sullivan sharonsulli27@msn.com and Allan Mathews budanderson55@gmail.com. Below is the emails they sent me with the story about leaving to Afghanistan. Allan also included a link with more pictures of the car!

    Sharron Sullivan Wrote:
    Hi,
    I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Oct 12. It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car have 44,000 miles, year 2008 and VIN 1N4AL21E58N552700.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $5723. The car is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Thanks!


    Allan Mathews Wrote:

    Thanks for your interest! I have divoced my wife and I no longer need this 2008 Nissan Altima 2.5S. This Altima is in excellent condition, it has no problems, no cosmetic damage or hidden defects. All equipment and optionals work perfectly. My asking price is $2850, I have no need for this Altima and want to sell it fast. The mileage for this Altima is 34,200. The transmission is automatic.
    I left it at a shipping company in Chicaco – IL and it will be shipped from there free of charge for inspection, before you buy it. I need to sell it ASAP as I am undergoing military training, getting ready to be shipped to Afghanistan.

    Complete set of pictures with the car can be seen here:

    http://s1084.photobucket.com/albums/j412/customer175938474/

    Get back to me if you are interested in purchasing and we have a deal.

  71. Chief said, on October 7, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Den, thanks for posting the criminals’ text. If you wanna put a wrinkle in their plans, forward the entire email to abuse [at] photobucket.com and they’ll kill the album. Yep, the criminals will create another album, but at least you will have diverted their energies away from a potential victim.

    – Chief

  72. Rebe said, on October 8, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Hey Guys.

    Really wanted to thank you for this. Here is what I just got!
    Hi,
    I am selling this car because my platoon has been sent back to Afghanistan and don’t want it get old in my backyard. The price is low because I need to sell it before Oct 14.It has no damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects. It is in immaculate condition, meticulously maintained and hasn’t been involved in any accident..I do have the title , clear, under my name.The car have 32,000 miles, year 2007 and VIN JTNBE46KX73074072.It is still available for sale if interested, price as stated in the ad $4723. The car is in Great Falls, MT, in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping. Let me know if you are interested, email back.
    Thanks!

    Her email is Sharon Sullivan.

    I will admit, not being able to see it before buying it was a bit sketchy!!

    Thanx!

  73. Chief said, on October 8, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Rebe, your gut feel had you go to the search engine. We’re just glad you found us.

    — Chief

  74. richard said, on October 12, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    wow I’m really happy I found this site I tried to buy a nissan altima 2008, the price were really cheap so I decided to investigate here’s what they told me

    budanderson55@gmail.com

    Thanks for your interest! I have divoced my wife and I no longer need this 2008 Nissan Altima 2.5S. This Altima is in excellent condition, it has no problems, no cosmetic damage or hidden defects. All equipment and optionals work perfectly. My asking price is $2850, I have no need for this Altima and want to sell it fast. The mileage for this Altima is 34,200. The transmission is automatic.
    I left it at a shipping company in Chicaco – IL and it will be shipped from there free of charge for inspection, before you buy it. I need to sell it ASAP as I am undergoing military training, getting ready to be shipped to Afghanistan.

    Complete set of pictures with the car can be seen here:

    http://s1084.photobucket.com/ albums/j412/customer175938474/

    Get back to me if you are interested in purchasing and we have a deal.

    Right now I’m on a military base, getting ready for Afghanistan. So I am not able to talk on the phone for now. The vehicle is already at the shipping company warehouse in Chicago IL, ready to be shipped. The vehicle is enlisted in the eBay VPP program so this deal must go through them. In accordance with eBay Vehicle Purchase Program terms, you have 3 days from the time you receive the vehicle to inspect it and decide whether you want to keep it or not. The vehicle will be shipped free of charge, along with all documents, clean title with my signature on it, owner’s manual and keys. It has never been involved in any accident, there’s no body damage or mechanical problems. Here is how it will work:

    1. First of all, I will need your details: Full name, shipping address and phone #.
    2. Once I receive the details from you, I will forward them to Ebay VPP for processing.
    3. After they process your information, they will send you an invoice with all the details on how to make a refundable payment. Basically, you will have to issue a Western Union payment to a verified eBay VPP Agent and the payment will be secured with them. Only you will have access to the payment.
    4. Ebay will contact me and I will ship the vehicle. After you receive it you will have 3 days to test and verify the vehicle. If you decide to buy it, I will receive the payment from Ebay. Otherwise, the vehicle will be shipped back free of charge on your side and you will be fully refunded. If you wish to make the transaction, please send me the necessary information so we can proceed.
    I’ll wait your response.
    Thanks

  75. Chief said, on October 12, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    Thanks for posting the emails, Richard!

    — Chief

  76. Twyla Stoll said, on November 9, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    she tried screwing us over too. Same story and pics. Only I was stupid enough to give my home address, thinking it was legit. Luckily no money had changed hands.

    She was going by sharon sullivan email sharon38sullivan@msn.com, & was giving me the same song and dance. Even sent me photos of the honda ridgeline. Being a military mom I say hang the idiots doing this.

  77. Almost ripped off said, on November 18, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Well she’s at it again but under the name Sharon Sullivan and its the 08 altima and it was all the same processes and emails. I just was checking it out because it was to good to be true and I searched the vin # 1N4AL21E58N552700 that she told me and luckily this article popped right up. I guess if it sounds to good to be true it always is.


Comments are closed.