Scammer Database

Scammers – Alexander and Maria Goodson – 2005 Nissan Maxima

Posted in database, ebay spoof, scammer by Chief on December 9, 2009

I responded to an ad on Craigslist for an underpriced 2005 Nissan Maxima SE. The scammer sent me this in his reply email:

From: alexssww@gmail.com

Hello and sorry for my delay,

I’m Sgt Alexander Goodson . The 2005 Nissan Maxima SE 6 Cyl Automatic is in perfect working condition. This vehicle engine runs very, very smooth. No electrical problems on this beauty. This detailed vehicle makes the exterior looks like it just came off the assembly line. The car has 84,000 miles.VIN Number: 1N4BA41E65C869432

Transmission: Automatic

Comfort & Convenience Options

AC Child Safety Locks Climate Control Clock Cruise Digital Info Center Driver Lumbar Dual Climate Control Dual Heated Exterior Mirrors Dual Heated Seats Heated

Driver Seat Heated Exterior Driver Mirror Homelink Leather Shifter Leather Steering Whl Power Driver Seat Power Locks Power Mirrors Power Steering Power Windows Rear Spoiler

Rear Vents Tachometer Telescoping Wheel Tilt Tiptronic

Here are the pics of the car :

http://s788.photobucket.com/albums/yy170/2005max8s/

As I know that my current situation is pretty special I want the deal closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you to be 100% protected. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and you inspect it(for 10 days) eBay will release the payment to me; in this way we are both protected. Anyway i am sure that if you will don`t be satisfied about the car i will surely find another buyer in your area and there will be no need for you to ship the car back.

I am located in London,United Kingdom and I was sent here to improve the military relationships between USA and United Kingdom. One months ago, my wife moved here with me and brought the car with her, but now we have to sell it back in the United States because we can’t register it here; it has US specs and everything, and registering it here in Europe will take for ever. My final price on it is US 2,960 $. If you will take it for this price, I am willing to handle the shipping. It will be shipped from here by plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me anything. You will get it to the nearest airport in your area and then it will be trucked forward to your place. You will receive the car in about 3 days. Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction payment and shipping details from them.

Best Regards,

Alexander and Maria Goodson

|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||  subsequent email from the scammer:

Here is how it works:

1. First of all I will need the following details from you: full name, shipping address and telephone number.

2. After I will receive the details from you, I will forward them to eBay.

3. After they will process your info, they will send us both invoices (email forms).The price for the car is $2,960 USD. This price includes all the shipping taxes and fees.

4. After you will make the payment in an eBay trust fund account and confirm it to them they will contact me and I will ship the car to you. After you receive the car you will have 10 days to test, verify and do whatever you need to the car. If you will buy, then I will receive the payment details from eBay so that I can pick up the money.

5. If the car is not as I told you or have some problems, or is not as described, they will refund you 100%. There is no risk in this deal. I don’t touch your money until you receive and inspect the car. The transaction is simple so everything should go as planed. If the car is not as advertised and decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back the car will be my concern. I think this is more than fair for the both of us. Please take into consideration that I will get paid only after you receive the car and make sure everything is as agreed.

6. From the moment the payment is secured by eBay the shipping process will begin and it will arrive at your address in about 3 max. 4 business days. You will also receive all the documents including the titles and a Bill of Sale. The cargo is insured so if the car is damaged during the shipping you will also be refunded.

Thanks in advance!

Tagged with:

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. erik bainbridge said, on December 14, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    i paid the money and got ripped off too

  2. Ashley said, on December 21, 2009 at 8:20 am

    I AM SO GLAD I CAME ACROSS THIS!!! I was going to go through with this purchase as well….it all seemed a little to good to be true so I did some research, and found this..wow..ppl are crazy!! Thanks!!

  3. Chief Technical Assistant to the Guru At Large said, on December 21, 2009 at 9:31 am

    I’m glad your intuitive instincts are strong. This is a very common ploy for scammers, so spread the word to those around you and whatever social networking sites you may use. Happy Holidays! — Chief

  4. Holly said, on January 8, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Guy emailed us back and said he can ship the car to us and we told him we was interested and then I did a lil more research and luckly found out it was a scam. This guy is sick and needs to be put in jail do not buy the 2005 maxima has different vin # ‘s so has to have different scam’s have a good holiday and thankfully bing helped me. THANKS BING.COM

  5. Chief Technical Assistant to the Guru At Large said, on January 9, 2010 at 12:08 am

    I am glad you discovered that the guy is a fake. Thanks for dropping by. — Chief

  6. Jeri said, on January 24, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Wow! Here I am a single mother, trying to make it to work with a reliable car, and here’s this deal…Glad I took time to look into it. Who has $2900 to give away? People like that need prayer.

  7. Chief said, on January 24, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Jeri, good intuition on your part. Good luck finding a vehicle! — Chief

  8. DJ said, on June 5, 2012 at 12:41 am

    They are trying to sell it to me right now under the names Kelly and James Heavey saying it was their dead son’s car but I guess they’re harsh goofs but so glad I seen this too!!!

  9. Glo said, on June 27, 2012 at 5:53 am

    They also told me it was their deads sons car and didnt want to keep it because of the memories. These people are sick and need to be prosecuted. Does anyone know if there is anything we can do about them?

  10. Chief said, on June 28, 2012 at 11:55 am

    Take 2 minutes and report the attempted fraud at http://ic3.gov. It *will* make a difference!

    — Chief

  11. Bet said, on July 21, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I came across these people too but they told me the car would be shipped from FL even tho the post was for TN. When I told them I could have my brother, who lives in FL, test drive it they emailed me back saying that the car is actually located in PA. I meas seriously if your gonna scam somebody get your lie straight. Please people be careful when it comes to your money. I am the type of person that I will never send that much money to anyone unless I can see what I am paying for! These scammers don’t realize that some of us don’t have that kind of money to lose because times are rough right now!


Comments are closed.