Scammer Database

Lt. Daniel Evans – assumed name for a Craigslist scammer

Posted in database, scammer by Chief on December 4, 2009

I responded to an ad on Craigslist for a 2005 Honda Accord EX Automatic. Here is the email reply I received from the scammer:

Hello and thank you for your interest in my 2005 Honda Accord EX Automatic. I must tell you that the car is in perfect working condition.This is a 1 owner (non smoker) vehicle that has ONLY 68,873 miles original miles. The accord is FULLY LOADED with all the available options. This Accord has been impeccably maintained over the years and it shows that! The car has never been in any accidents or modified in any way. The exterior of the car is in pristine condition and the interior of the car is spotless. The interior is impeccable with no tears, no rips, no blemishes. The mechanics of the car work properly as they should. VIN Number is 1HGCM66515A015763

Here are the pics of the car :

http://picasaweb.google.com/bunsadue/2005HondaAccordSedanEXLV6AUTO#

If you decide on buying the car, I want the deal closed through eBay. Let me tell you how this works: you will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and you inspect it, ebay will release the payment to me, this way we`ll be both protected. I am a lieutenant in the US Army and I was sent here for training to a millitary base to improve the military relations between our country and United Kingdom, our allies. I am located in London, United Kingdom. One month ago, my wife moved here with me and brought the car with her, but now we have to sell it back in the United States, because we can’t drive it here. We can`t register it here fast because of the US specs and everything, and registering here, in Europe, will take forever. European reguations are awful here, believe me, especially that they drive on the left side of the road an they have the steering wheel on the right side of te car. My final price for the car is  $2,900 . If you will take this price, I am willing to handle the shipping myself, no cost for you. The car will be shipped to the US by plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me or you anything. The car will be shipped to the nearest airport in your area and then it will be trucked to your place. From the moment the payment is secured by eBay, the shipping process will begin and you will have the car shipped at your house in no more than 3 days.  Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want the car shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the payment instructions and shipping details from them.
God Bless America and you!
Lt. Daniel Evans

Tagged with:

27 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tony said, on December 4, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    I talked to “Lt. Evans” in pursuit to buy the car myself and I too received the very same email from him/Her. Thank you for posting this online and made everyone including me aware of this fraud!

  2. Chief Technical Assistant to the Guru At Large said, on December 4, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Thanks for replying! With your validation of my efforts, I am driven to continue. These Craigslist automobile scammers rely on about 3 scripts — one being the military angle.

    Be sure and spread the word to your friends and family. If you use a social network, I encourage you to post your experience there, too. Join me in preventing someone else from getting burned.

    Chief

  3. Andrew K said, on December 6, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Sgt. Jason Paregon is the name used by the guy trying to use this scam on me. Too good to be true is right… 06 Accord EX… Seemingly same car used in this ad and in the response I got. Response was word for word in most spots.

    Thanks so much for this info.

    Andrew K

  4. Me too! said, on December 6, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I got the exact same e-mail from him too. It is so disappointing that people would use being in the military as a scam. People in the military do so much for us and this scammer is discrediting a great number of people who sacrifice their lives in order to give us the great country we live in today.

  5. Chief Technical Assistant to the Guru At Large said, on December 7, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Thanks for commenting, Andrew. See my notes above regarding educating those around you. We *can* make a difference!

  6. Chief Technical Assistant to the Guru At Large said, on December 7, 2009 at 9:19 am

    Yep, these guys are 100% slimeballs. They consider it their place in life to separate us from our money. It is a good idea to tell your friends and family of your findings; the smarter we are, the less likely we are to fall for the criminals’ activities.

  7. mrudul said, on January 8, 2010 at 12:59 am

    i got scammed by sgt. adreanne gentry and sgt. maria dillman………… whoever this is , is really getting my trust off from these trusted sites… luckyly same patterns,…

  8. Chief Technical Assistant to the Guru At Large said, on January 8, 2010 at 9:54 am

    If by trusted sites you are referring to Ebay, I would agree. I have reported hundreds of Ebay spoofs to Ebay and have never received anything more than a canned response from a bot. Ebay has never lifted a finger to kill any fake Ebay sites/domains I have reported to them. Therefore, I no longer report Ebay spoof to Ebay. Some of my colleagues say they have had success in this arena, but I have not.

    With regard to Craigslist, it is the definition of anarchy. “That’s all I have to say about that.” — F.Gump

    I wish we could have met sooner and avoided your loss. — Chief

  9. JG said, on January 17, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    I was scammed by “Steven Barney” for $2980. Here is a list of other scammer emails to be aware of.

    jasonparegon@googlemail.coml; adamsalazar64@gmail.com; handergeor@googlemail.com; Will2.sutton@gmail.com;
    Wall.Bell.t@gmail.com; Odyseyhon@aol.com;
    Lawre454@yahoo.com

  10. Chief said, on January 18, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Jason, I hope you are taking some steps to report your loss. Let me know if I can be of additional assistance. — Chief

  11. AR said, on January 19, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Wow! I just found this on craigslist also..Almost sounds convincing using the e-bay protection payment …However after reading this now I really know it’s a scam..

    On Tue, Jan 19, 2010 at 9:26 AM, Jason Paregon wrote:

    Hello and sorry for my delay,
    I’m Sgt Jason Paregon. The 2006 Honda Accord EX 4 Cyl 2.4L Automatic is in perfect working condition. This vehicle engine runs very, very smooth. No electrical problems on this beauty. This detailed vehicle makes the exterior looks like it just came off the assembly line. The car has 38,120 miles.VIN Number: 1HGCM56806A065575
    Transmission: Automatic
    Comfort & Convenience Options
    Air Conditioning Power Mirrors Power Seats Alloy Wheels Power Steering Anti-Lock Brakes Power Windows Rear Window Defroster Cruise Control
    Driver Air Bag Sunroof/Moonroof Leather SeatsTilt Wheel Passenger Air Bag Power Door Locks
    Here are the pics of the car :
    http://s912.photobucket.com/albums/ac323/2006haco989/

    As I know that my current situation is pretty special I want the deal closed only through eBay’s Buyer Protection Program in order for you to be 100% protected. You will make the payment to eBay and they will hold the money until you receive the car. ONLY AFTER you receive the car and you inspect it(for 10 days) eBay will release the payment to me; in this way we are both protected. Anyway i am sure that if you will don`t be satisfied about the car i will surely find another buyer in your area and there will be no need for you to ship the car back.
    I am located in London,United Kingdom and I was sent here to improve the military relationships between USA and United Kingdom. One months ago, my wife moved here with me and brought the car with her, but now we have to sell it back in the United States because we can’t register it here; it has US specs and everything, and registering it here in Europe will take for ever. My final price on it is US 2,960 $. If you will take it for this price, I am willing to handle the shipping. It will be shipped from here by plane with US Air Military Cargo so it will not cost me anything. You will get it to the nearest airport in your area and then it will be trucked forward to your place. You will receive the car in about 3 days. Please get back to me asap if you decide to buy, and include in your e-mail your full name and address where you want it shipped so I can start the deal with eBay. You will receive all the transaction payment and shipping details from them.
    Best Regards,
    Jason and Maria Paregon
    SSgt, USAF1
    SOMOS/MXOOA

  12. Letoya Jenkins said, on January 19, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    This is how mine started:

    I’m Sgt Jason Paregon. The 2006 Honda Accord EX 4 Cyl 2.4L Automatic is in perfect working condition. This vehicle engine runs very, very smooth. No electrical problems on this beauty. This detailed vehicle makes the exterior looks like it just came off the assembly line. The car has 38,120 miles.VIN Number: 1HGCM56806A065575

    Should have known a deal like that was to good to be true!

  13. Chief said, on January 19, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    I’m glad you found us, and thanks for posting the text of the email. Join the fight and forward the email (with complete headers) to abuse@photobucket.com; they’ll close the account and force the scammer to work a little harder. — Chief

  14. OU_student said, on January 19, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Thank you! I had been contemplating selling my 98 Honda Accord to buy this made up 06 Honda Accord. I am so glad I google dhis name before doing so. I thought it was too good. I really appreciate this iste an the time and effort the individual put into it. Thank again!

  15. Chief said, on January 19, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    Good for you — your intuition to check it out led you to us! Let your friends and family know these scams. And good luck finding a real vehicle! — Chief

  16. Chief said, on January 19, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    The Honda Accord is a fine vehicle. If your ’98 model has less than 200,000 miles on it, our advice is to drive it until the engine quits.

    We’re glad you found us. Your gratitude is our only form of payment! Good luck on your studies. — Chief

  17. Yngve said, on January 24, 2010 at 2:38 am

    I got the same email from jason paregon today. Honda Accord 2006 EX. I was wondering about who he might be. so i googled him, and this website pops up. Thanks for the info. will stay away from this guy.

  18. Chief said, on January 24, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Glad we could help. Thanks for dropping by! — Chief

  19. rafael vasquez said, on January 28, 2010 at 10:17 am

    sr… i whant to know how contact you about of cadillac sts v6 2006…. send me a phone number please

  20. Chief said, on January 28, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Rafael, I am not available by phone. Feel free to inquire via email – q2fred@gmail.com. — Chief

  21. Stacy said, on March 6, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Thank you ,
    If i did not google this loser name adamsalazer64@gmail.com he would of ran off with my money too. I knew he had too much time on his hands to be emailing me so frequent for some with a wife and two children.If you know what Imean. Thank you guys Thank you.

  22. Chief said, on March 6, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Stacy, we’re glad you found us. Spread the word to your friends and family regarding the antics of these criminals. — Chief

  23. Tab said, on March 9, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I thought this was too good to be true as well…although I hoped it was for real 🙂

    I’m Sgt Jason Paregon. The 2006 Honda Accord EX 4 Cyl 2.4L Automatic is in perfect working condition. This vehicle engine runs very, very smooth. No electrical problems on this beauty. This detailed vehicle makes the exterior looks like it just came off the assembly line. The car has 38,120 miles.VIN Number: 1HGCM56806A065575

    Luckily I have several friends inthe Air Force and one who brought his Anmerican car to England. Anyway, I had ne of my friends check the database and he could not locate this person. I also forwarded him the email because I didn’t remember my other friend saying that they flew his car out there. Anyway, after he wqas unable to find the guy inthe datbase, he Googled the name and found this site for me. Thandk you for posting.

    Also beware of this: I called him and he was totally up for the sale. I asked for the vin# and he said let me call you back in a couple of minutes..then nothing. I texted him and called himt he next day..NOTHING! HMMMM.. anyway, if they were giving the correct names it was Andy and Griselda. See below.

    “Wow 1995 Toyota Camry LE”
    95″ Camry LE
    – 140,000 miles
    – beautiful interior
    – runs in excellent condition
    – clean title
    – needs minor paint job in left side of fender
    – and aligment

    Call/text (323)547-0688 or (213)321-3532

  24. Chief said, on March 10, 2010 at 12:09 am

    Tab, thanks for your posting of info. We’re glad your friend found us. Tell everyone you know about how these criminals work! We need to educate everyone so this class of scum can disappear. — Chief

  25. Nette Blaylock said, on July 2, 2010 at 7:47 am

    i inquired about a really nice Nissan Altima for $3400 and this is what i got. Something inside of me said ggogle her name and I found this blog. Beware!! This ad was posted yesterday on craigslist Cincinnati, OH 7/1/2010

    Hello,

    I have received your email regarding the 2005 Nissan-Altima SE-R,with 33,000 miles miles.The car is in perfect condition,with no scratches on it,no damage, clear title.The price for the car is $3,400 with shipping included.The car was my husband`s as he loved it very much, but he did not enjoy it as he died in a IRAQ 3 month ago. It brings very bad memories to me, I want to get rid of it.The buyer will receive the car with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it to his name.Shipping will be done whit DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days. I have a friend there who will manage me a low price shipping and I assumed that it is my duty to pay for shipping it.It will be delivered directly to your address.Anyway, I have to let you know that I want a fast deal so if you are really interested in buying it,please reply with the following information’s:
    -Your full name;
    -Your shipping address.(street,city,state,zip code)
    The transaction will close only through eBay so we both will be protected.
    I want eBay because as they are the biggest company on the internet I think that we can close this deal fast and safe for both of us. Also I am not very familiar with the internet transactions and eBay is the only one I know.
    I will look for your email,so that we can move forward with this deal!
    Let me know.
    Regards,
      Rebecca Madson (Rebecca Madson )

  26. Rich Lorenz said, on September 17, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    This is the lowest thing I have ever read. I hope this person is found and quartered.

  27. gabby said, on July 2, 2012 at 9:46 am

    yeah got a similar email from this daniel evans but with a vw passat nd a sob story about how his son just died and he is selling the car to get rid of the horrible memories thts effed up to use tht kind of story


Comments are closed.